We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Tales of the Arabian Nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Yacout

Dar Yacout
79 Rue Sidi Ahmed Soussi | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
5 24 38 29 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: African, Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Out of the Tales of the Arabian Nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Dar Yacout is the most wonderful setting. From walking in through the wooden doors, past tiny painted rooms with roaring fires and a courtyard pool then up a spiral staircase to a huge covered roof terrace - it is truly magical. There you sit and enjoy drinks while listening to local musicians, sitting on cushions on the floor.
One word of warning - go hungry. The dinner is a set menu and is HUGE. We never saw a menu - our hotel had told us that it was a set menu. Orders were taken for our aperitifs and then a choice of red, white or rose, flowed ceasingly without our ever having seen a price list!
It takes about four waiters to serve each table and the menu consists of vegetable salads followed by chicken tajine, followed by a whole shoulder of lamb, vegetable couscous, and then, thank goodness, dessert!. I did feel a little guilty that the amount of food that we couldn't eat would have fed a family of six.

It wasn't cheap but we did have a lovely evening and it was a true Marrakech medina experience.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    126
    63
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
København
2 reviews
“Spectacular Restaurant and veru professional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A fantastic 1001 Nights fairy tale. Having been to some of the lovely palaces and museums in Marrakech and then coming to Dar Yacout, you really get an impression of the way the life was lived then.The restaurant is a step back in time. There is an ambience and an atmosphere that is unlike anything else. We were served drinks berfore dinner. 10 meze, chicken tagine with cous cous, lamb tagine, pastilla with rose water and cinnamon pastries and coffee/mint tea and all the wine/drinks beverages we wanted for 700 dirham each. I will not call it a tourist trap but a love, clean and safe to experience a traditional morroccan restaurant of high class.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent New Years Eve 2013 at this restaurant. The entertainment and food was incredible. Brilliant atmosphere, only £150.00 each for amazing 5 course meal and all drinks. Well worth it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is not cheap but an absolute must if not for the food then to experience the interior. It's the experience as a whole that makes Dar Yacout so special. Our personal waiter also had a very good sense of humour. Skip a meal before you go because they really lay on the food, fit for a king!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Do not eat at all that day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great restaurant if you would like to be at the mercy of the waiters in terms of food. It is a 6 course dinner and a very tasty one too. The restaurant is located inside the Medina, I didnt see any signs identifying the entrance, there is a man in white gloves walking around the square where the entrance is located. The entrance looked like any other door in that square. We were lead to the very top of the restaurant, it was a n open area terrace with amazing views, there was nothing up there, no bar no tables, no light, the sky looked amazing, i am not sure why they did that to us i havent read it in any other review but i am sure that if you ask you will get taken up there too. We had drinks before being taken to our table, the decor of the room is very reflective or moroccan style, the lamps and the furnishings give it a great feel. There was live music with castinet and 2 string guitar. Everyone is facing out into the courtyard and the food just keeps on coming to you, there is bottomless drinking and if you have a sweet tooth leave some space for dessert because the pastilla was delicious. The restaurant calls a taxi for you and rolls you into your vehicle nicely at the end of the evening. It is very romantic, i wouldnt recommend for friends. The price was 700 dirham.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Yacout also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Yacout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.