We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not eat at all that day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Yacout

Dar Yacout
79 Rue Sidi Ahmed Soussi | Bab Doukkala, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
5 24 38 29 29
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Do not eat at all that day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a great restaurant if you would like to be at the mercy of the waiters in terms of food. It is a 6 course dinner and a very tasty one too. The restaurant is located inside the Medina, I didnt see any signs identifying the entrance, there is a man in white gloves walking around the square where the entrance is located. The entrance looked like any other door in that square. We were lead to the very top of the restaurant, it was a n open area terrace with amazing views, there was nothing up there, no bar no tables, no light, the sky looked amazing, i am not sure why they did that to us i havent read it in any other review but i am sure that if you ask you will get taken up there too. We had drinks before being taken to our table, the decor of the room is very reflective or moroccan style, the lamps and the furnishings give it a great feel. There was live music with castinet and 2 string guitar. Everyone is facing out into the courtyard and the food just keeps on coming to you, there is bottomless drinking and if you have a sweet tooth leave some space for dessert because the pastilla was delicious. The restaurant calls a taxi for you and rolls you into your vehicle nicely at the end of the evening. It is very romantic, i wouldnt recommend for friends. The price was 700 dirham.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    98
    54
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lifetime dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were a little dubious when the cab let us off at a dead end inside three alleys. Any concern vanished in an instant as we were led inside a vast Riad with atrium open to stars -- and a propitiously full moon -- and then upstairs for apertifs in front of a fire to take off the evening chill. After nibbles, we were led to a large cushioned alcove where white-robed waiters served us with minimum fuss and maximum skill. After nine appetizer plates, we were given a chicken course which all four of us immediately declared to be the finest chicken we had ever eaten. Not a shred remained. Then came a lamb course which we were sure we were too full even to try. It disappeared. And then, well into hour two and amid invisible repourings of wine, came dessert, a pastilla with a sweet sauce and nuts that, however full we were, also disappeared. Setting, service and best of all, cuisine: one of the finest restaurants we've ever experienced.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
497 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
681 helpful votes 681 helpful votes
“The best 'Moroccan feast' in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We did Dar Marjana and Dar Yacout. Although similar in concept and pricing, the latter is a vastly superior experience. The setting is gorgeous - a gem of a house in the Medina (although the neighborhood is a bit intimidating.) Great service by a knowledgeable and gentlemanly staff (the waiter did not syphon some of the tip before putting the rest of the cash in the service pot!!) No belly dancing, just traditional, less cheesy entertainment. The food is not great, but good. They would improve their profit margin considerably (without losing anything of their hospitable image) and many of their customers would actually feel better if they just cut the size of the servings - it is too much food and wasteful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“This setting can't be beat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Set in a grand palace with dramatic decor, romantic candlelit setting and live musicians, this is a total Moroccan experience. I suggest it for first time visitors. Mostly tourists go but it really is about the ambiance and the food is very good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Fixed Priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great Food...so many courses so save room (appetizers, chicken main dish, tangine or pastilla, dessert). It is so much food and bottomless drink. Great musicians also (2 different bands played while we dined).

It is a fixed price menu. They accept credit card but most of the people that night payed with cash.

Heavy tipping culture but you can tip whatever (including zero) you see fit.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Yacout also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Yacout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Yacout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.