We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amirat Al Jamal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Save
You added Riad Amirat Al Jamal to your Saves list
33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My sister and I were lucky enough to stay at the Riad Amirat Al Jamal for 3 days 2nd-5th March 2013. It really is an oasis of calm in the middle of the wonderful mayhem which is Marrakech. What a fount of information and knowledge of Moroccan culture is Peggy the American owner, we were taken care of by Hamidou (a brilliant chef) and Said and entertained by Peggy. The Riad is delightfully furnished in traditional style with added American comforts. It has a lovely roof terrace and an inner courtyard with a pool, which I am sure would be great in summer. It was great to be made 'at home' in a place so different from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

If you are going to Marrakech, this is the ONLY place to stay!! Beautifully decorated by the owner herself in warm colors and with Moroccan art and handiwork, this road was MORE than I dreamed of. Hamidou and Said are the wonderfully friendly caretakers of this oasis in the midst of the crazy medina. Hamidou is a great chef, and Said is a warm soul. Peggy of MCT (Morroco Custom Travel) set everything for our stay in Marrakech and beyond. We had a driver and guide to take us to Erfoud for a sunrise camel ride (11 hour drive) over the middle atlas mountains. She set up great hotels for us out there. Saw wonderful scenery and ate delicious food. I can't say enough about our trip. It was a wonderful 20th wedding anniversary adventure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Riad Amirat Al Jamal is a five minute walk from the madness and excitement that is Jemaa el Fna square. Whenever we had had, temporarily at least, our fill of snake charmers, storytellers, acrobats, bargaining at the souk, and crowds of people, my wife and I just slipped back into the peace and quiet of the riad, which is elegantly simple and simply elegant. I especially liked, and took advantage of, the several sections of the riad where one can sit, reflect, and recharge, each one beautifully and comfortably furnished. The rooftop terrace is a perfect place to watch the sun rise, to see it set behind the Koutoubia Mosque, and to hear the call for prayer coming from many mosques, near simultaneously. It's magic. Our hosts, Said and Hamidou, were the best. Said set beautiful tables each morning for breakfast, and Hamidou prepared delicious meals. We had dinner at the riad two of our four nights in Marrakech. Hamidou's lamb tagine was definitely worth 5 stars. In addition, Said and Hamidou made reservations for us, answered questions, served us drinks on the rooftop, and even guided us through a bewildering maze of alleys to and from a restaurant our first night. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Hamidou and Said are the most amazing, wonderful hosts! They gave us such a warm welcome each time we entered and nothing was too much trouble. They created such a warm environment, and made us feel very safe and cared for - it made us feel so at home. The was magnificent and the setting so beautiful, tucked away, right in the heart of the medina and amongst the action! It was so nice to be able to dip into the bustle outside the medina and return to the beautiful, quiet, calm of the riad! :) thank you so much, Hamidou and Said!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is an amazing riad, inside the medina and just a few minutes’ walk from the souks and Jemaa el Fna square. It's beautifully decorated in Moroccan style with new and old carpets, masks, pottery, baskets, metal work and wall hangings. Booking was easy and prompt via email with both Peggy and Rachid. The quiet and unobtrusive Hamidou and Said were fantastic and helped make our stay a great experience. Hamidou and Said live in the riad so were there for us from the moment we got up in the morning to the time we went to bed. Hamidou prepared all our breakfasts and two dinners for us during our stay while Said served us at a beautifully set table. Food was excellent and there was more than enough to eat. I looked forward to the freshly-squeezed orange juice every morning. Rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Rachid was our host and knowledgeable travel guide on trips in the medina, to the High Atlas and to Essaouira. Rachid's English is excellent. Lunch and a tour at Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot near Imlil was a highlight of the High Atlas trip. There is no question I would return to Riad Amirat al Jamal.

Room Tip: Grand Chambre and Chambre Margaret were the nicest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We used Morocco Custom Travel, co-owned by Peggy Engh and Rachid Izemreten, to plan our trip to Morocco, and also stayed in Peggy's riad, where we were treated as honored guests. The riad, including our rooms, is decorated with colorful Moroccan flair, vibrant patterns, and Berber style handcrafts and furnishings, in relaxing spaces. We especially enjoyed nighttime dips in the courtyard pool, and beautifully designed breakfast tables, different each morning. Peggy and Rachid, along with staff members, Hamidou and Said, helped us in every way possible - bringing us to special shops, making our dinner reservations, leading us through the nighttime medina, providing personal services like laundry and shoe repair, bringing us cooling drinks after hot days of touring, and preparing an evening of food, music and dancing. Using M.C.T. gave us enormous personal attention throughout Morocco that made our trip a dream come true.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed at this riad after a very exhausting package tour of Morocco. Peggy and her wonderful staff provided just the amount of calm and caring that I needed. Peggy is very knowledgeable of Moroccan traditions, while understanding the American mindset, which was very helpful. I was so happy to see all the luxuries we grow accustom to – Kleenex, alarm clocks, working air conditioning and washcloths – that are lacking in most of Morocco.

As a single woman I was somewhat apprehensive of staying at a riad by myself, but the staff went out of their way to make me welcome and secure.

Top notch location and VERY clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amirat Al Jamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amirat Al Jamal

Address: 33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#140 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#150 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, authenticity, impeccable service, convenience, and comfort—Riad Amirat al Jamal offers everything a client needs for a relaxing stay in Marrakech. Part of an Alaouite Dynasty palace, this riad features five air-conditioned chambers, individually decorated with Berber artifacts and Moroccan artwork. Two minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the riad boasts three terraces, swimming pool with fountain and massage jets, salon with fireplace and library, satellite television and DVD, and computer for client use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amirat Al Jamal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.