We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refuge amid the action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Amirat Al Jamal

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Amirat Al Jamal
Save
You added Riad Amirat Al Jamal to your Saves list
33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A refuge amid the action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Riad Amirat Al Jamal is a five minute walk from the madness and excitement that is Jemaa el Fna square. Whenever we had had, temporarily at least, our fill of snake charmers, storytellers, acrobats, bargaining at the souk, and crowds of people, my wife and I just slipped back into the peace and quiet of the riad, which is elegantly simple and simply elegant. I especially liked, and took advantage of, the several sections of the riad where one can sit, reflect, and recharge, each one beautifully and comfortably furnished. The rooftop terrace is a perfect place to watch the sun rise, to see it set behind the Koutoubia Mosque, and to hear the call for prayer coming from many mosques, near simultaneously. It's magic. Our hosts, Said and Hamidou, were the best. Said set beautiful tables each morning for breakfast, and Hamidou prepared delicious meals. We had dinner at the riad two of our four nights in Marrakech. Hamidou's lamb tagine was definitely worth 5 stars. In addition, Said and Hamidou made reservations for us, answered questions, served us drinks on the rooftop, and even guided us through a bewildering maze of alleys to and from a restaurant our first night. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    3
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Hamidou and Said are the most amazing, wonderful hosts! They gave us such a warm welcome each time we entered and nothing was too much trouble. They created such a warm environment, and made us feel very safe and cared for - it made us feel so at home. The was magnificent and the setting so beautiful, tucked away, right in the heart of the medina and amongst the action! It was so nice to be able to dip into the bustle outside the medina and return to the beautiful, quiet, calm of the riad! :) thank you so much, Hamidou and Said!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is an amazing riad, inside the medina and just a few minutes’ walk from the souks and Jemaa el Fna square. It's beautifully decorated in Moroccan style with new and old carpets, masks, pottery, baskets, metal work and wall hangings. Booking was easy and prompt via email with both Peggy and Rachid. The quiet and unobtrusive Hamidou and Said were fantastic and helped make our stay a great experience. Hamidou and Said live in the riad so were there for us from the moment we got up in the morning to the time we went to bed. Hamidou prepared all our breakfasts and two dinners for us during our stay while Said served us at a beautifully set table. Food was excellent and there was more than enough to eat. I looked forward to the freshly-squeezed orange juice every morning. Rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Rachid was our host and knowledgeable travel guide on trips in the medina, to the High Atlas and to Essaouira. Rachid's English is excellent. Lunch and a tour at Richard Branson's Kasbah Tamadot near Imlil was a highlight of the High Atlas trip. There is no question I would return to Riad Amirat al Jamal.

Room Tip: Grand Chambre and Chambre Margaret were the nicest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We used Morocco Custom Travel, co-owned by Peggy Engh and Rachid Izemreten, to plan our trip to Morocco, and also stayed in Peggy's riad, where we were treated as honored guests. The riad, including our rooms, is decorated with colorful Moroccan flair, vibrant patterns, and Berber style handcrafts and furnishings, in relaxing spaces. We especially enjoyed nighttime dips in the courtyard pool, and beautifully designed breakfast tables, different each morning. Peggy and Rachid, along with staff members, Hamidou and Said, helped us in every way possible - bringing us to special shops, making our dinner reservations, leading us through the nighttime medina, providing personal services like laundry and shoe repair, bringing us cooling drinks after hot days of touring, and preparing an evening of food, music and dancing. Using M.C.T. gave us enormous personal attention throughout Morocco that made our trip a dream come true.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed at this riad after a very exhausting package tour of Morocco. Peggy and her wonderful staff provided just the amount of calm and caring that I needed. Peggy is very knowledgeable of Moroccan traditions, while understanding the American mindset, which was very helpful. I was so happy to see all the luxuries we grow accustom to – Kleenex, alarm clocks, working air conditioning and washcloths – that are lacking in most of Morocco.

As a single woman I was somewhat apprehensive of staying at a riad by myself, but the staff went out of their way to make me welcome and secure.

Top notch location and VERY clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have traveled to all over the US, to tropical islands, Central America, Europe and stayed in 5-star resorts. Without a doubt, this riad, run by an American named Peggy with support from wonderful Moroccans, was the best "home-away-from-home" experience that I've ever had. The room was beautiful and incredibly clean. The riad held true to Moroccan decor and had a terrific location, in addition to a beautiful sitting room and lovely terraces. The breakfast was the best I've ever had and I looked forward to it everyday. I was able to eat lunch and dinner there, as well, and those meals were equally delicious and served in a lovely terraced location next to a pool. Peggy arranged airport transport, tours and guides for me, even before I arrived. The service provided by the staff truly made me feel like a princess. I can't begin to praise my experience here enough.

Room Tip: I stayed in the duplex, which was lovely and had a private terrace, but I'm sure all rooms are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This Riad was excellent. I would recommned this to anyone. The location is excellent. it was only two/three minutes walk from the bustle of the main square and the Souks, , but once inside it was an Oasis of calm. Especialy the rooftop garden and patio.
The owner Peggy was excellent. She is extremely knowledgeable about the history of Marrakech and was able to advise us on where to visit within the Souks. She has real design flair and the rooms are all furnished beautifully with traditional furniture and artifacts.
The service from both Hamidou and Said was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. We had an excellent traditional Morrocan meal on the first night cooked by Hamidou.
Said accompanied us on our day trip to the Atlas Mountains to make sure we made the best of the day and so that he could translate for us. it was typical of their attention to detail.
We had a really excellent short break and would really hope to return again.

Room Tip: we stayed in Chambre Margeret. it was a lovely spacious room with traditional ceiling, ensuite and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Amirat Al Jamal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amirat Al Jamal

Address: 33 Rue Fhal Zefritti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#143 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, authenticity, impeccable service, convenience, and comfort—Riad Amirat al Jamal offers everything a client needs for a relaxing stay in Marrakech. Part of an Alaouite Dynasty palace, this riad features five air-conditioned chambers, individually decorated with Berber artifacts and Moroccan artwork. Two minutes from Jemaa el Fna, the riad boasts three terraces, swimming pool with fountain and massage jets, salon with fireplace and library, satellite television and DVD, and computer for client use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Hotel Marrakech
Riad Amirat Al Jamal Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Amirat Al Jamal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.