We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Moroccan dining at the opposite end of the market to street food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Darna Marrakech

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Avenue Echouhada | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-37702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $33 - $61
Cuisines: Moroccan, Bar, Noodle, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Comptoir Darna is the first lounge-restaurant-club in Marrakech, its musical concept has made it famous. This Restaurant & Club is a place where a colorful, cosmopolitan clientele of the famous and the not-so-famous rub shoulders in a festive atmosphere created by exotic dancers, live musicians and DJ's… A fun and trendy place offering a menu featuring both International and Moroccan dishes. The perfect blend of the Orient and the West, this is the place in Marrakech where night time means party time.
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Moroccan dining at the opposite end of the market to street food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our riad recommended this as a London prices restaurant but somewhere the belly dancing isn’t twee. Don’t arrive before 9pm as the place is dead until about 9:30 and the belly dancers start their stuff about 10:30. Good food and a great espresso martini (not offered on arrival but if you ask for the restaurant menu and look at after-dinner cocktails – they are there as their espress-tini). Would I do it again? Probably not given some of the other places we found, but it was a fun night out.
Funniest thing – autocorrect wants comptoir to be vomiting … which it isn’t

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    640
    138
    43
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlwood
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Belly dancing on the table !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great fun !! We were a group of 16 ladies so had made a reservation before. We were well looked after start to finish from the waiters. The cocktails were divine, recommend the Love Potion !! The food was some of the best we had in Marrakech. The show was amazing, the whole place was up dancing. We had arranged taxis for 1am which was too early. Approx 650 DH per head for a 3 course meal, a cocktail and plenty of wine all night. Highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had Great food in the downstairs restaurant then made our way up the very impressive staircase to the very sexy bar upstairs... Live Bongos, dancers, House Music with an Arabic twist!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice to get a show but food to overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We went to this restaurant to get a dinner while looking at a show
The belly dancers came at 22:30 and the show was average maybe a bit cheap.
The food was good but totally overpriced, the restaurant was really dark but overal feeling was good
Our waiter seemd like she didn't want to be there and couldn't even give a smile once
The shisha bar in the garden after was great but drinks where very expensive.
In total i think we spend about 1400 dh, you get 2 starters 2 main courses 1 bottle of wine and shisha with 2 drinks for this money

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were in Morocco on a tour and had dinner and drinks at Comptoir . Decor was very chic Moroccan and it dies have a trendy club / dinner feel to it. Lighting is dim but there are beautiful Moroccan lights everywhere creating just the right light. There are also candelabras on the tables. Locals and tourists were there
Dinner was vert good. We had a party of 12 and service was excellent as well.
Music starts around 11:00pm on the upper level of the restaurant. There is also an outdoor courtyard where you can have drinks and smoke a Hooka and still hear the music but not too loud.
Great atmosphere

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comptoir Darna Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.