We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Darna Marrakech

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Avenue Echouhada | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-37702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $34 - $62
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Middle Eastern, French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Comptoir Darna is an important nightlife attraction in Marrakech, which has arrived on the scene in 1999. It proposes a perfect fusion between the orient and the occident. It is « THE » place in the red city where every night is party night. Comptoir Darna is where we live unforgettable moments, where we meet and exchange mutual experiences... It is the house of the traveler, an unavoidable pause on the caravan trail. “Darna” in Arabic means “Our Home”, so: Welcome to your home !
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Place of breathtaking performances manner and adjacent tables with each eating fun and delicious and the restaurant staff the reception and presentation professionals and the general atmosphere is beautiful and strange and recreational paragraphs very beautiful, but there is one negative and a few tables lighting is very narrow and contiguous

Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Simply superb evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recommended to try Le Comptoir and we were not disappointed. From the moment we entered greeted by the charming staff to the end when we said farewell we were on a high of enjoyment. The attentive staff were charming the food exquisite and the stunning bellydancing show was amazing. We chose well from the extensive Morrocan themed menu which had a European influence and amazingly the star was the burger! We all shared a taste and all agreed it was one off the best we had. Even the bill was not a shock. All in all a top evening and we would return. Located in new part of the city near the Sofitel easy to find and highly recommended. Don't visit Marrkech without visiting Le Comptoir!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Murray L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great evening of food and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We were recommended to the the restaurant by our friends and were not disappointed
From the time we were shown to our table until we left the service was excellent.the staff were all so friendly
Our meal was delicious from the gazpacho to my crab timbale for starters . Our Bain courses were also delicious ,best food we had all eaten at a restaurant for a long time . The desserts finished off what was a lovely meal.
The belly dance show was on for about 15 minutes and was good fun to watch
Shame no restaurants in London that are as good for food entertainment and value
Will recommend to all our friends

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“expensive by local standards, but always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

as long as you accept you will be paying London prices, this is the best place to go. Food Moroccan, we love the 7 salads served on what looks like a cake stand to us;-) tangines etc. They serve best French wines and some local, if you drink Laurent Perrier Champagne, Mouton Cadet and Sancerre in London, this is place for you. If you want a carafe of "red" go somewhere else. It serves and seats the big spenders, if you look out of place, or complain about the prices, don't be surprised if you are seated somewhere grotty or ignored. Its literally heaving every night with locals and their guests, so turning up without a reservation may be a problem. Again if going for a belly dancing experience there are much cheaper alternatives and better as well, the floor show has been going for years and nothing has changed. Also service can be a problem, particularly if you order something and they substitute a more expensive item - complain.... but get the man to do it firmly (no womens lib here!)

If you are out for a great night then interact with the local guests, they all have interesting stories and Moroccan hospitality is famous, don't be surprised if you end up at some bar until the early hours ;-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok so it's not authentic and its full of tourists, but we had a fun night. Negative reviews on food are unfair I think- its not cheap but you wouldn't expect it to be and the seafood tagine I had was delicious. Belly dancers come in at about 10.30 pm and there's quite a party atmosphere. Upstairs in the bar there were musicians, who were excellent. Don't take it or yourself too seriously and you'll have a fun night!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonJessR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing