We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive by local standards, but always fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Darna Marrakech

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Avenue Echouhada | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-37702
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $33 - $61
Cuisines: Moroccan, Bar, Noodle, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Comptoir Darna is the first lounge-restaurant-club in Marrakech, its musical concept has made it famous. This Restaurant & Club is a place where a colorful, cosmopolitan clientele of the famous and the not-so-famous rub shoulders in a festive atmosphere created by exotic dancers, live musicians and DJ's… A fun and trendy place offering a menu featuring both International and Moroccan dishes. The perfect blend of the Orient and the West, this is the place in Marrakech where night time means party time.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“expensive by local standards, but always fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

as long as you accept you will be paying London prices, this is the best place to go. Food Moroccan, we love the 7 salads served on what looks like a cake stand to us;-) tangines etc. They serve best French wines and some local, if you drink Laurent Perrier Champagne, Mouton Cadet and Sancerre in London, this is place for you. If you want a carafe of "red" go somewhere else. It serves and seats the big spenders, if you look out of place, or complain about the prices, don't be surprised if you are seated somewhere grotty or ignored. Its literally heaving every night with locals and their guests, so turning up without a reservation may be a problem. Again if going for a belly dancing experience there are much cheaper alternatives and better as well, the floor show has been going for years and nothing has changed. Also service can be a problem, particularly if you order something and they substitute a more expensive item - complain.... but get the man to do it firmly (no womens lib here!)

If you are out for a great night then interact with the local guests, they all have interesting stories and Moroccan hospitality is famous, don't be surprised if you end up at some bar until the early hours ;-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    634
    137
    44
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok so it's not authentic and its full of tourists, but we had a fun night. Negative reviews on food are unfair I think- its not cheap but you wouldn't expect it to be and the seafood tagine I had was delicious. Belly dancers come in at about 10.30 pm and there's quite a party atmosphere. Upstairs in the bar there were musicians, who were excellent. Don't take it or yourself too seriously and you'll have a fun night!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice show great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food was delicious the drinks were really nice as well the belly dancers do come out around 1030 so it's a bit of a wait if you come to early. Overall very nice place would come back no questions asked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Snobby, overrated and poor value for money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We didn't book a table here but went along early at 7pm to see what the fuss was about...all the waitresses were very snobby, looking you up and down as soon as you entered. At first we were told they were fully booked, then the girl changed her mind and said we could have a table but only for 2 hours, which was fine by us. We were shown to our table on the outside covered terrace....it was completely empty.

Our waitress was very arrogant and when she addressed us had a slight smirk on her face, we waited for 15 minutes before she took our order, despite the fact we could clearly see her from our table gossiping in the corner with the out waitresses.

I ordered a pink mojito, a classic one came, I ordered the ravioli for main, it was 5 pieces of ravioli (no exaggeration) served cold.

I was so let down by this place which is a shame as it is a beautiful restaurant with good intentions, they just need to sort their staff and pompus atmosphere out, the phrase "Don't bite the hand that feeds you" is definitely relevant here.

It's sister restaurant Azar is 10000% better, cheaper and the staff were lovely!

Complete rip off and waste of your time in Marrakech.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Had been there on many previous occasions and always enjoyed it but this time it wasn't that good. The service was very slow, half an hour for a first drink and total of two and half hours for dinner. Food was good. The show didn't start until 11 pm by which time many diners had already left. Show was a bit tacky, belly dancers dressed more like Spanish flamenco dancers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comptoir Darna Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.