We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comptoir Darna Marrakech

Comptoir Darna Marrakech
Avenue Echouhada | Hivernage, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-37702
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #50 of 509 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $54 - $90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Comptoir Darna is the first lounge-restaurant-club in Marrakech, its musical concept has made it famous. This Restaurant & Club is a place where a colorful, cosmopolitan clientele of the famous and the not-so-famous rub shoulders in a festive atmosphere created by exotic dancers, live musicians and DJ's… A fun and trendy place offering a menu featuring both International and Moroccan dishes. The perfect blend of the Orient and the West, this is the place in Marrakech where night time means party time.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok so it's not authentic and its full of tourists, but we had a fun night. Negative reviews on food are unfair I think- its not cheap but you wouldn't expect it to be and the seafood tagine I had was delicious. Belly dancers come in at about 10.30 pm and there's quite a party atmosphere. Upstairs in the bar there were musicians, who were excellent. Don't take it or yourself too seriously and you'll have a fun night!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    378
    340
    100
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice show great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious the drinks were really nice as well the belly dancers do come out around 1030 so it's a bit of a wait if you come to early. Overall very nice place would come back no questions asked.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Snobby, overrated and poor value for money.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We didn't book a table here but went along early at 7pm to see what the fuss was about...all the waitresses were very snobby, looking you up and down as soon as you entered. At first we were told they were fully booked, then the girl changed her mind and said we could have a table but only for 2 hours, which was fine by us. We were shown to our table on the outside covered terrace....it was completely empty.

Our waitress was very arrogant and when she addressed us had a slight smirk on her face, we waited for 15 minutes before she took our order, despite the fact we could clearly see her from our table gossiping in the corner with the out waitresses.

I ordered a pink mojito, a classic one came, I ordered the ravioli for main, it was 5 pieces of ravioli (no exaggeration) served cold.

I was so let down by this place which is a shame as it is a beautiful restaurant with good intentions, they just need to sort their staff and pompus atmosphere out, the phrase "Don't bite the hand that feeds you" is definitely relevant here.

It's sister restaurant Azar is 10000% better, cheaper and the staff were lovely!

Complete rip off and waste of your time in Marrakech.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It's going downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Had been there on many previous occasions and always enjoyed it but this time it wasn't that good. The service was very slow, half an hour for a first drink and total of two and half hours for dinner. Food was good. The show didn't start until 11 pm by which time many diners had already left. Show was a bit tacky, belly dancers dressed more like Spanish flamenco dancers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Reputation but very overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Unfortunately this is a place I would not recommend. As they are almost always fully booked (when we have been Marrakech) service is not great and accommodating arrivals without bookings almost non existent. In fact each time the hotel tried to call for a reservation, they didn't answer the phone once in over an hour.
Whilst the food might be ok, the bar is very overpriced, paying two to three times that of bars a few hundred metres away with better atmospheres.
Nice music but very overcrowded and not much chance for interaction with the staff or the guys playing the music.
Disappointing considering there are plenty of great alternatives nearby.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comptoir Darna Marrakech also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Comptoir Darna Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comptoir Darna Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.