We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant beautiful... but expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Narwama

Narwama
hay zefriti | rue koutoubia 30, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+(212)672508700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 535 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Moroccan, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Street Food
Description: thai just as good as in thailande and the finest moroccan foodlounge bar wonderfull cocktails shisha bar and music music ...you will not beleave it all this in ONESCO world HERITAGE PALACE
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Restaurant beautiful... but expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I realised this time round that Marrakech is no longer a cheap destination to go. Yes cheap to get there but everything else is really just London prices in disguise. This restaurant is no exception. To get to this place, which is hidden some dirty ally ways in between some posh hotels. You would of thought with the price they are charging, they would make a bit more effort to make the entrance to place... cleaner. The restaurant inside, is not doubt gorgeous, glamorous, romantic. But the food was expensive... even for london prices! And i would say it tasted just like standard thai takeaway, but with nice decoration on the side. We just had 4 main meals and 2 cocktails, a beer (tin beer... not even bottled). And a mocktail... this cost us around £120... Which i think is alot especially when theres nothing too it.

The only reason why we went there because 7 years, still being students we couldnt afford it... and now we can... we really probably should of bothered...well not eating there anyway...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    60
    40
    25
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do not go here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Very expensive for what you get, service bad as we did not get what we ordered even though there were only 2 other tables occupied and when we came to pay (even though it stated it) we could not pay by credit card as the machine was broken? However another couple came in after us and specifically asked if they could pay by card and were told yes!! Defintiely not recommeded.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive meal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Just had a meal at Narwama, nice venue but very pricey. Cost twice what you would pay in England and afterwards despite advertising they take credit cards could not accept. 1000 dhms for 2 with starter, main and cheapest bottle of wine. £4 for bottle of water.
Complete rip off. There are better and cheaper places to go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“well worth the search”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stunning restaurant, beautifully decorated, fire/water fountain. A real escape from medina mayhem. Very good service and delicious food, had a selection of thai starters, phad thai and chicken and cashew nuts. Not easy to find but just keep asking the locals for directions as you won't believe the sight that awaits you as you enter the restaurant..beautiful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located behind the Club Med, follow the guide along the narrow street and emerge at a beautifull mansion building.

Great Thai food in a wonderfull setting

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narwama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.