We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely empty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Narwama

Narwama
hay zefriti | rue koutoubia 30, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+(212)672508700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #277 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Moroccan, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Street Food
Description: thai just as good as in thailande and the finest moroccan foodlounge bar wonderfull cocktails shisha bar and music music ...you will not beleave it all this in ONESCO world HERITAGE PALACE
Porto, Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Completely empty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

we went to this restaurant on a tuesday evening and it was completely empty. We decided to stay because the restaurant is really nice but after eating our dinner and paying our bill we were completely dissapointed. Too expensive for a poor meal. Don't bother to go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    25
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning setting, doesn't deserve to be empty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This restaurant is truly jaw dropping when you walk in. It feels like you have stumbled across a hidden palace. Photographs do not do the place justice. Three of us had dinner here for a birthday celebration.
We had already had copious amounts of nuts and olives with cocktails at the hotel near-by ( Les Jardins De La Koutoubia ) so we didn't have a starter. We all ordered Thai food which was delicious. The music is very atmospheric and I noticed the roof over the courtyard could be opened. We were there in February , I imagine on a hot summer evening with the roof open it is even more magical.

I felt a little sad for the restaurant though as it was practically empty. There were only two other tables occupied. Because of this our food came quite quickly , although as I said we didn't have starters ( so our fault ) the dessert menu was very sparse and seemed expensive and the one thing I asked for they didn't have. Because of all these things I felt the meal was over really quickly. They did bring out a cake with a candle for our birthday celebration and sang Happy Birthday !
It is a bit expensive compared to the rest of Marrakech but is worth it and it is nice to eat something a little different. We all tend to get a little tagine'd out on our trips !

The one thing it lacks is people and the atmosphere that they create , I can't understand why it isn't more popular. We wondered if it was the time of year or that people felt it was a little expensive. I would definitely return here , this place would be amazing if only it was fuller ! As other people have said , it is like a film set , it just needs a few more actors !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunning setting but disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The restaurant is absolutely stunning, service very friendly, but the main course was disappointing. We had the steamed lamb, but it was cold. Maybe just bad luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

fabulous fabulous fabulous. I was on a movie set and the main actress. My job was only to enjoy the great wine and amazing food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident and because it looked fabulous we decided to eat there. We both had food off the Thai menu and it was superb. It was slightly dearer than a lot of restaurants in Marrakech ( we paid 800 dirhams, approx £60 ) but we did have drinks and it was well worth it. The only shame was that there weren't many people in but then we did go in the winter and it was tucked away off a main street.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narwama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.