We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning setting, doesn't deserve to be empty.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Narwama

Narwama
hay zefriti | rue koutoubia 30, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 672-508700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 582 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Moroccan, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Street Food
Description: Open since August 2004, Narwama has become an address not too be missed, where your dinner experience will be turned into a fairy tale. Narwama literally means "Fire & Water", the fusion with arts and culture, where amazing experiences and magic evenings are set in a palace, classified world heritage by the UNESCO. Unique Thai restaurant in Marrakesh, the 2 Thai chefs elaborates an authentic cuisine with ingredients that are directly imported from Bangkok. Narwama also offers an array of refined and subtle Moroccan specialties. The fusion is daring but we have to admit it the result is unbelievable. More than what is already said, the lounge bar atmosphere is intoxicating, joined by fusion music and delicious house cocktails. Daily entertainments and art performances from artists around the world, Narwama will take you to Wonderland!
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning setting, doesn't deserve to be empty.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This restaurant is truly jaw dropping when you walk in. It feels like you have stumbled across a hidden palace. Photographs do not do the place justice. Three of us had dinner here for a birthday celebration.
We had already had copious amounts of nuts and olives with cocktails at the hotel near-by ( Les Jardins De La Koutoubia ) so we didn't have a starter. We all ordered Thai food which was delicious. The music is very atmospheric and I noticed the roof over the courtyard could be opened. We were there in February , I imagine on a hot summer evening with the roof open it is even more magical.

I felt a little sad for the restaurant though as it was practically empty. There were only two other tables occupied. Because of this our food came quite quickly , although as I said we didn't have starters ( so our fault ) the dessert menu was very sparse and seemed expensive and the one thing I asked for they didn't have. Because of all these things I felt the meal was over really quickly. They did bring out a cake with a candle for our birthday celebration and sang Happy Birthday !
It is a bit expensive compared to the rest of Marrakech but is worth it and it is nice to eat something a little different. We all tend to get a little tagine'd out on our trips !

The one thing it lacks is people and the atmosphere that they create , I can't understand why it isn't more popular. We wondered if it was the time of year or that people felt it was a little expensive. I would definitely return here , this place would be amazing if only it was fuller ! As other people have said , it is like a film set , it just needs a few more actors !

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    42
    25
    27
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning setting but disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The restaurant is absolutely stunning, service very friendly, but the main course was disappointing. We had the steamed lamb, but it was cold. Maybe just bad luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

fabulous fabulous fabulous. I was on a movie set and the main actress. My job was only to enjoy the great wine and amazing food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We found this restaurant by accident and because it looked fabulous we decided to eat there. We both had food off the Thai menu and it was superb. It was slightly dearer than a lot of restaurants in Marrakech ( we paid 800 dirhams, approx £60 ) but we did have drinks and it was well worth it. The only shame was that there weren't many people in but then we did go in the winter and it was tucked away off a main street.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing setting and great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

After eating on more local food during our stay, we were keen to eat something a little different and Narwama didn't disappoint. The setting - in a wonderful courtyard - was incredible and without wanting to resort to cliche, had the air of a film set about it. The food was authentically Thai with the Pad Thai being especially tasty. We ate relatively early and the service was slightly slow then - basically because there was one poor waiter who had to serve a good dozen tables - so I can imagine perhaps later on this might become more of a problem. But for a change from the tagine and to eat in a spectacular setting, I heartily recommend Narwama.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narwama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.