We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Thai Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Narwama

Narwama
hay zefriti | rue koutoubia 30, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 672-508700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 603 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $20 - $53
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Street Food
Description: Open since August 2004, Narwama has become an address not too be missed, where your dinner experience will be turned into a fairy tale. Narwama literally means "Fire & Water", the fusion with arts and culture, where amazing experiences and magic evenings are set in a palace, classified world heritage by the UNESCO. Unique Thai restaurant in Marrakesh, the 2 Thai chefs elaborates an authentic cuisine with ingredients that are directly imported from Bangkok. Narwama also offers an array of refined and subtle Moroccan specialties. The fusion is daring but we have to admit it the result is unbelievable. More than what is already said, the lounge bar atmosphere is intoxicating, joined by fusion music and delicious house cocktails. Daily entertainments and art performances from artists around the world, Narwama will take you to Wonderland!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Wow what a discovery!!! This place is beautiful and the food is gorgeous we had a great evening here for my birthday. I agree with other reviews that it is tucked away and not many people will know about it as hard to find. We were recommend and shown to this restaurant by the manager of our Riad. It was not that busy at all but we did not mind as we had a great time, highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    27
    28
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great spot, tucked quietly away behind the Jmaa el Fna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The only thing that made no sense to us was how few people were in the place - it is tucked away down a small alley just set back from the square, but if you persevere beyond the odd entrance, you are in for a real treat. The restaurant is set in one of the lovlier (and larger) riads that we visited, and has been lavishly decorated. The staff are friendly and attentive, and combined with the excellent food (we stuck to the moroccan dishes), the place had a real air of luxury. The music was picked just right to fit the gently-lit ambience. Make sure you check out the opulent bar, complete with statues and overly large 'tusks', and take the chance to relax on the day beds between courses.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent thai restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

amazingly hidden restaurant in the centre of Marrakech. well worth the search ! A fantastic fire and water feature dominates the centre of this restaurant. Excellent thai food and very courteous staff. You think you are inside but infact you are looking up to the stars....very special.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Bland and overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Even though there was tons of delicious-smelling food being grilled up and served in Djemma el-Fna, my wife and I foolishly decided to go to Narwama due to its recommendation in Lonely Planet. It was a huge mistake - first, all the prices were roughly double what was listed in LP (and the management had just put stickers over the old prices, so you could see that they just jacked things up once they got the recommendation); second - the food was very disappointing. Both the green curry and the spicy chicken we ordered were virtually tasteless, and I'm embarassed to say that this meal cost us more than double what we would ordinarily pay for (good) Thai food back home. Please do not make the same mistake we did...avoid this restaurant!!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem in once found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is a fantastic Thai restaurant in Marrakech, a little on the pricey side but the quality of the dishes would give Bangkok a run for it's money.

The setting is amazing and when the roof is open, looking up at the stars is very peacefully and you suddenly forget the chaos of the Medina.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Narwama also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Narwama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Narwama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.