We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish dishes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad des Mers

Riad des Mers
411 derb SIDI messaoud | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212662265030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #426 of 537 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $22 - $72
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the Medina of Marrakech , The Riad des Mers is a charming and romantic restaurant with morrocan food with sea food specialities in a climated Riad with a patio open-skyGood ambiance with jazz music. Open every day except sunday. Lunch and Dinner. Bab Yacout near Bab Doukkala Medina Marrakech Parking and TAXIS.
Frankfurt am Main
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good fish dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Decoration is quite OK and had a quiet atmosphere. The menu was short but the food was very tasteful - we tried the fish couscous and tajin, and several appetizers.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    17
    13
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Look carefully”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Food was fine but limited in choice.
The ambiance was great and service was good.
Nice wines and beer.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the worst meals we had in marrakesh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Service was acceptable but the standard and quality of the food was less than poor. We were the only ones in the restaurant. After having warm white wine and poor food the staff were then unable to process our credit cards. The owner offered to take us to a cash machine, which we declined. We left what cash we had on the understanding they would pick up the balance from our Riad the next day. We can see no reason to recomend this restaurant .

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic food, wine and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We visited the restaurant twice during our trip to Morocco and enjoyed the food ,service and wine. We were made to feel very welcome along with the other guests and locals who use the restaurant.
We were very pleased and appriciated the help the owner Nicolas gave us having left our camara in the restaurant on our last evening. When we arrived home and realised our camara was missing we emailed the restaurant and having infomed us they had it asked for our details and returned the camara to us at their expense.
We would recommend to our friends and anyone visiting Morocco to dine here and enjoy the experience.
Thank you very much.

  • Visited March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ca ne vaut pas la peine. Not worth it. Non vale la pena.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

When the owner blames his staff for the mediocre food and service, something is definitely wrong. We were there for New Year's Eve. It was one of the relatively cheaper places to go on a traditionally expensive night out... and we later understood why. Maybe they were overwhelmed, maybe they were not used to dealing with so many party-goers at one time, but the evening at this restaurant was forgettable. The place was obviously understaffed, so the waitress did the best she could. We were not the only ones to tell the French owner - Nicolas Coquema - of our impressions, but all he did was complain to us about how hard it was to train his staff. That means he is the problem, not the cook nor the waitress. Da dimenticare. Mieux allez ailleur.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad des Mers also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad des Mers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad des Mers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.