We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great authentic meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 581 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
could be anywhere
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great authentic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We really enjoyed this place. Even locals told us that it is among the best authentic meals in Marrakech!

We highly suggest the salad sampler and the tagine lamb shoulder... both were amazing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    580
    395
    150
    57
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The reality of Al Fassia doesn't come up to the hype. Perhaps it's a victim of it's own popularity—we heard it used to be a lot better before it was 'discovered.' We looked forward to our dinner there not only because of the all-female staff, but also to try the Fassi regional cuisine. Our dinner was disappointing: the restaurant was very crowded, we felt rushed, and the food was barely average. Service was mechanical and the warm greeting at the door disappeared once we were inside. We had much better Moroccan food in numerous other places in Marrakech, both upscale and modest. It seems like Al Fassia is living off its past reputation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This restaurant serves great food and has a very 'buzzy' atmosphere. The service is efficient and it is well worth visiting!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The service is made by only by women, and you could see them cooking!!
It is great for couple, family and business too.
I will recommended for the freshness and quality of food.
NB : The bill gets reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reserve your table right now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food is absolutely superb and everyone knows it, was absolutely packed and we had to reserve like 3 days in advance. We reserved our table by just knocking on the door in the day, because we didn't have a phone that worked abroad, they just opened it and booked us in. I had a lamb and aubergine tagine and the lamb was probably the best I'd ever had. The women are so nice and at the beginning or the end I can't remember they come and wash you hands with a hot cloth and your hands feel tingly. It just felt very authentic, like you were in these women's front room having a home cooked meal. Do not leave marrakech without going.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.