We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserve your table right now!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 615 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reserve your table right now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food is absolutely superb and everyone knows it, was absolutely packed and we had to reserve like 3 days in advance. We reserved our table by just knocking on the door in the day, because we didn't have a phone that worked abroad, they just opened it and booked us in. I had a lamb and aubergine tagine and the lamb was probably the best I'd ever had. The women are so nice and at the beginning or the end I can't remember they come and wash you hands with a hot cloth and your hands feel tingly. It just felt very authentic, like you were in these women's front room having a home cooked meal. Do not leave marrakech without going.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    450
    167
    61
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brentwood
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Al Fassia had been recommended so we reserved a table - glad we did because it was packed. Great ambience, good service. This is Marrakech, so please dont assume everyone should speak to you in English - a little French does go a long way though if like us you dont speak Arabic! The food here was easily the best quality we had during our 5 days in the city....never thought I would eat pigeon pie but you have to try it. Even the Morrocan wine was surprisingly good. Had more of a european feel than all other restaurants we tried, but still had a unique character - maybe its because all the staff are women?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What is all the fuss about?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We went to al fassia for a special last night treat after a few friends had recommended it. It is totally underwhelming. To be clear, the food is good, well prepared and tasty but the decor was concrete and the service, almost like a fast food joint. No character, no interaction and if you have ever been to Manchester, there are better evenings to be had in Rusholme. Bothered? Not.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Just ok..average and nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Was told this is a good place to eat, had to book as this place is busy.
The concept of women running it working here is good. The service was ok, we waited for ages to be given a menu and for someone to take our order.
There was a bit of a language barrier as the waitress could not speak much english which was suprising as this place is packed full of tourists.
The food was very average! The starters of salads was nice but very dissapointed with the main. Had a lamb tagine and it should be named bone tagine as thats what it was
Shame about slow service and not so great tagine. Much better food elsewhere

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, let down by service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We booked in advance after reading other reviews for a busy Saturday night. We arrived early but we seated straight away.

Our menus were brought over promptly but it must have taken atleast half an hour possibly 45 minutes to even beable to order a drink! I work in the pub/restaurabt industry and so to me this is appalling service. From observing the service cycle the route cause of the problem is the manager/host who as well as greeting everyone and saying goodbye to them as they leave is also the only one who can take the food orders!!! This seems utterly ridiculous to me as there were lots of waitresses working at the time re-laying tables as opposed to taking our order. It may have something to do with the hand held ordering device she uses. Whatever the reason if this was changed the service would be far faster.

Eventually we had our order taken and from then the service was really speedy. Although apart from one older lady who serves us none were that friendly.

We ordered 2 chicken tagines, one with the caramelised pumpkin, the other with chick peas. Both were really good but the chickpea one was missing the chickpeas, which they rectified when asked.

I ordered the cheapest red wine as it was still a little pricey at 130dh (just under £13) but they didn't have it. The next option was 170dh (roughly £17)! The meals also seemed more expensive than stated in guide books. The starters were around 60-70dh and mains around 120dh for a chicken Tagine. Slightly more for others.

The atmosphere was also a little odd. Music was intermittent and the lighting a little too harsh.

Overall the food was good (my boyfriend really enjoyed the chicken & chickpea and I loved the chicken & caramelised pumpkin!), but the service on the whole was poor and the prices seemed a little too high given the levels of service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.