We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marroc ambiance and cousine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Marroc ambiance and cousine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Restaurant is clean and staff is friendly. Good service.
You can find the traditional Marroc foods. Just ask for traditional tastes if you like to get a decision.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    526
    351
    125
    51
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Would advise booking ahead as this is a very popular place and well worth planning for. It is a women's co-operative and run very efficiently. The tables are small and a bit cramped but the food perched on top is delicious. Staff could smile a little more but that's the only gripe.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ask to be seated at the terrace in the evenings when making reservation. Excellent morrocan food with servings big enough to share, at reasonable prices.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked with a recommendation from friends who ate here a couple of years ago.
You get can impression of a place when you walk in.
Met by a very stony faced Maitre d'. This set the scene for the service, some interaction but smiles seemed to be programmed out. So did not make for a comfortable atmosphere.
Food did not make up for this. The star of the starters was a soup. The rest were bland without exception.
Main courses were generally grey in appearance and in flavour. The tagine of lamb bone deserves special mention!
Desserts continued the blandness.
Am I being too critical, well I do own a restaurant so have some experience of what constitutes good food.
It is a women's cooperative. Think it is time for them to have a meeting and get their act together!
Not cheap and poor value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraira, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Moral of the story is: should have ordered the meshwi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We decided to have lunch at al fassia on the spur of the moment, so did not have a reservation. We conveyed this fact to the doorman who meets & greets you in the alley leading up to the entrance, he explained that at this time of year it was not necessary to book at lunch time unless you require the slow roast lamb (meshwi). The restaurant decor is indeed very chic with a calm & relaxed atmosphere. Dress code is what we would call smart casual and we were received with a warm smile and lead to a beautifully bedecked table. We ordered water and a very nice bottle of Moroccan red wine to accompany the complimentary olives, basket of bread and rest of our meal. The pigeon pastilla and salad selection to start were indeed a feast for the eye as well as the pallet and almost a meal in itself. The service was suited to our pace and we felt completely content just to discuss and enjoy the little flavour explosions that emerged with each morsel.
Unfortunately both main courses were disappointing. My partner ordered royal cous cous and although plentiful, it lacked in flavour. I opted for the kefta tagine, again a generous portion, however it was over cooked, almost all the liquid in the dish had evaporated which left the meat balls crusty on top, dry in the middle and only a hint of what should have been at the very bottom. Such a shame, when for a little care all could have been perfect. We finished with an excellent espresso = 900Dh. inclusive tip.

Should have made a reservation for the evening and ordered the slow roast lamb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.