We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked with a recommendation from friends who ate here a couple of years ago.
You get can impression of a place when you walk in.
Met by a very stony faced Maitre d'. This set the scene for the service, some interaction but smiles seemed to be programmed out. So did not make for a comfortable atmosphere.
Food did not make up for this. The star of the starters was a soup. The rest were bland without exception.
Main courses were generally grey in appearance and in flavour. The tagine of lamb bone deserves special mention!
Desserts continued the blandness.
Am I being too critical, well I do own a restaurant so have some experience of what constitutes good food.
It is a women's cooperative. Think it is time for them to have a meeting and get their act together!
Not cheap and poor value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    526
    351
    125
    51
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moraira, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Moral of the story is: should have ordered the meshwi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We decided to have lunch at al fassia on the spur of the moment, so did not have a reservation. We conveyed this fact to the doorman who meets & greets you in the alley leading up to the entrance, he explained that at this time of year it was not necessary to book at lunch time unless you require the slow roast lamb (meshwi). The restaurant decor is indeed very chic with a calm & relaxed atmosphere. Dress code is what we would call smart casual and we were received with a warm smile and lead to a beautifully bedecked table. We ordered water and a very nice bottle of Moroccan red wine to accompany the complimentary olives, basket of bread and rest of our meal. The pigeon pastilla and salad selection to start were indeed a feast for the eye as well as the pallet and almost a meal in itself. The service was suited to our pace and we felt completely content just to discuss and enjoy the little flavour explosions that emerged with each morsel.
Unfortunately both main courses were disappointing. My partner ordered royal cous cous and although plentiful, it lacked in flavour. I opted for the kefta tagine, again a generous portion, however it was over cooked, almost all the liquid in the dish had evaporated which left the meat balls crusty on top, dry in the middle and only a hint of what should have been at the very bottom. Such a shame, when for a little care all could have been perfect. We finished with an excellent espresso = 900Dh. inclusive tip.

Should have made a reservation for the evening and ordered the slow roast lamb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The pigeon bstilla is about as good as it can be, the pastry light, the meat moist, while mechoui, the roast leg of lamb, is an absolute speciality. The decor is regal as well, allowing for a relaxed but elegant meal. The service was very efficient if a little rushed. Unlike a lot of Moroccan restaurants, this one does not tie you to a heavy set menu. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fab food but super efficient service was too brisk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Food was exquisite & very reasonably priced but the place seemed to run like a military operation - service felt rushed for the 8pm sitting and second sittings were coming in @ 9.30 pm! It doesn't cost to smile and the ambience was not warm & friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A la carte efficiency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had dinner here at Al Fassia in the new town, to compare it with the dinner we had in a traditional riad the night before (see review for Dar Zellij). The decor and ambience here is more modern but the food and service are both traditional - which is to say, warm and copious. The joy of this place is that you can order a la carte and the menu offered is what I imagine is the essense of Moroccan cooking.

There is a choice of four starters, and we tried three (harrira, briouat and pastilla) and all were extremely delicious. There is a really good choice of main courses and many variations on the lamb / chicken tagine or cous cous theme. Whatever kind of tagine or cous cous you like, you should find it here. The only word of caution is that there is only one choice for vegetarians.

Service was welcoming and efficient. We asked the children if they noticed what the difference was between the two restaurants (Dar Zellij and Al Fassia) and they rightly pointed out the different interiors, but did not notice that one was staffed entirely by men and the other entirely by women.

If you are staying in the old town, it is definitely worth making the trip out here to have a meal. For me, it restored my faith in Moroccan cooking, after viewing so many half hearted menus in the medina restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.