We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The pigeon bstilla is about as good as it can be, the pastry light, the meat moist, while mechoui, the roast leg of lamb, is an absolute speciality. The decor is regal as well, allowing for a relaxed but elegant meal. The service was very efficient if a little rushed. Unlike a lot of Moroccan restaurants, this one does not tie you to a heavy set menu. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    480
    173
    62
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fab food but super efficient service was too brisk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Food was exquisite & very reasonably priced but the place seemed to run like a military operation - service felt rushed for the 8pm sitting and second sittings were coming in @ 9.30 pm! It doesn't cost to smile and the ambience was not warm & friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A la carte efficiency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had dinner here at Al Fassia in the new town, to compare it with the dinner we had in a traditional riad the night before (see review for Dar Zellij). The decor and ambience here is more modern but the food and service are both traditional - which is to say, warm and copious. The joy of this place is that you can order a la carte and the menu offered is what I imagine is the essense of Moroccan cooking.

There is a choice of four starters, and we tried three (harrira, briouat and pastilla) and all were extremely delicious. There is a really good choice of main courses and many variations on the lamb / chicken tagine or cous cous theme. Whatever kind of tagine or cous cous you like, you should find it here. The only word of caution is that there is only one choice for vegetarians.

Service was welcoming and efficient. We asked the children if they noticed what the difference was between the two restaurants (Dar Zellij and Al Fassia) and they rightly pointed out the different interiors, but did not notice that one was staffed entirely by men and the other entirely by women.

If you are staying in the old town, it is definitely worth making the trip out here to have a meal. For me, it restored my faith in Moroccan cooking, after viewing so many half hearted menus in the medina restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic menu with great servicde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You will need to reserve a table here if you want to be sure of an evening meal. People were still arriving at 11pm when we finished our meal. The food was tasty and the atmosphere relaxed with very efficient service. The portions are huge (and we have large appetites) so choose carefully otherwise much will be wasted. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No Reservation, No Food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we made a reservation but were late for it. we got there around 4pm and they said they were closed, and if we dont have a reservation, then we cant eat here. I sensed the 'we have been spoiled by tourists' attitude. did not like it one bit. so we went to nearby macdonalds lol. probably better, but a real mad house. guess if we were white tourists with money pouring out of our ears, al fassia would bring out the red carpet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.