We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A la carte efficiency” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A la carte efficiency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had dinner here at Al Fassia in the new town, to compare it with the dinner we had in a traditional riad the night before (see review for Dar Zellij). The decor and ambience here is more modern but the food and service are both traditional - which is to say, warm and copious. The joy of this place is that you can order a la carte and the menu offered is what I imagine is the essense of Moroccan cooking.

There is a choice of four starters, and we tried three (harrira, briouat and pastilla) and all were extremely delicious. There is a really good choice of main courses and many variations on the lamb / chicken tagine or cous cous theme. Whatever kind of tagine or cous cous you like, you should find it here. The only word of caution is that there is only one choice for vegetarians.

Service was welcoming and efficient. We asked the children if they noticed what the difference was between the two restaurants (Dar Zellij and Al Fassia) and they rightly pointed out the different interiors, but did not notice that one was staffed entirely by men and the other entirely by women.

If you are staying in the old town, it is definitely worth making the trip out here to have a meal. For me, it restored my faith in Moroccan cooking, after viewing so many half hearted menus in the medina restaurants.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    394
    149
    57
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic menu with great servicde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

You will need to reserve a table here if you want to be sure of an evening meal. People were still arriving at 11pm when we finished our meal. The food was tasty and the atmosphere relaxed with very efficient service. The portions are huge (and we have large appetites) so choose carefully otherwise much will be wasted. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Reservation, No Food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we made a reservation but were late for it. we got there around 4pm and they said they were closed, and if we dont have a reservation, then we cant eat here. I sensed the 'we have been spoiled by tourists' attitude. did not like it one bit. so we went to nearby macdonalds lol. probably better, but a real mad house. guess if we were white tourists with money pouring out of our ears, al fassia would bring out the red carpet.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Culinary oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The lighter touch of the fairer sex makes this establishment a welcome relief from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. Tasty Moroccan cuisine, good wines and pleasant and efficient service make it well worthwile seeking out this restaurant. The only slight moan would be the cylindrical low back chairs which may not be to the liking of everybody's anatomy. We hope to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Popular tourist restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Raving reviews seem to come at a cost. Although the food was excellent and the service during the dinner very friendly and highly attentive, we did not get in on a good note. We had some trouble conveying our reservation to the staff at the entrance and we were left seated by the entrance area, which was even for me far too cold and windy. We asked to be re-seated, which took a little while and only upon re-confirming our reservation. The rest of the dinner was very pleasant, but the bill at the end was also quite generous with around EUR 45 per person incl. a bottle of wine and a starter to share.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.