We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but book beforehand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food but book beforehand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very generous portions -one starter enough for two people!
Slow roasted shoulder of lamb was amazing... no wonder so many people ordered it. It just melted in the mouth
No problems with service even though our French wasn't that good
Will definitely eat there again when in Marrakech and order the lamb again
Make sure you book beforehand as very popular- we got our hotel to book for us

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    527
    352
    126
    51
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

We visited the one near Carrefour in Agdal .food was good nothing special. Service slow even though place was not very busy. I wouldn't recommend it at all. Staff are useless and we had to get up and call for them to order anything. Bread wasn't even served with the salads they forgot. After we paid I complained to the manager who defended the place and said we didn't serve bread so you are not full before your meal. Desserts not great and they had items not available on the menu and only one flavour ice cream

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable surroundings with good service. Chicken pastilla was delicious. It was full of lots of nuts which made it fairly filling. We shared 2 salads between our group of 4 and was served up 10 or so small plates of varied vegetables all with different flavours and textures. 2 of us opted for the lamb tagine with aubergine, 1 for the lamb tagine with almonds, the other for meatballs. We were all very satisfied with the dishes. Worked out around 260 dirhams per head (starter, main and soft drinks). Booking was advised and arranged by our Riad manager. It was a 25 minute walk from the Medina where we syayed, around 1.6km.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had lunch here on our last day of holiday. We had mixed kebab and chicken couscous. It was the best meal we have had in Marrakech.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Total winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant in Marrakech's Gueliz (the new town) just off the Avenue Mohammed V is a total winner. We often visit Marrakech with friends and always go there. It's great for special occasions, e.g. birthdays. The restaurant is entirely run by women - the only one like this in Marrakech - the food is brilliant and in hearty portions, and the atmosphere and decor really beautiful. It's very relaxed but the service is excellent. The only thing is that it's so popular that you do need to book in advance - don't do this via their website, but phone them. For Fri-Sun visits, book at least a week in advance - it's worth the long-distance phone call before you go to make sure you have a table! Get a petit taxi there - all the taxi drivers know where it is.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.