We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Total winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant in Marrakech's Gueliz (the new town) just off the Avenue Mohammed V is a total winner. We often visit Marrakech with friends and always go there. It's great for special occasions, e.g. birthdays. The restaurant is entirely run by women - the only one like this in Marrakech - the food is brilliant and in hearty portions, and the atmosphere and decor really beautiful. It's very relaxed but the service is excellent. The only thing is that it's so popular that you do need to book in advance - don't do this via their website, but phone them. For Fri-Sun visits, book at least a week in advance - it's worth the long-distance phone call before you go to make sure you have a table! Get a petit taxi there - all the taxi drivers know where it is.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    579
    394
    149
    57
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good traditional food, but make sure to book!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My friend and I visited Al Fassia after seeing it in near to every guidebook on Marrakech that's ever been published. The place was fully-booked on a wednesday night, so i'm really glad we booked in advance.The food we had was really delicious, although I was envious that we didn't pre-order the popular slow roasted lamb shoulder which everyone around us seemed to be eating. You know lamb will be good when the waitress cuts the meat with a spoon...

The lamb and onion tagine I had was delicious, my friend opted for a lamb and aubergine dish which was also very good. Unfortunately the Moroccan rosé we wanted was out of stock, so we opted for a more expensive bottle, which was still very good.

Service here was generally good, I think it helped we could both speak French. Most of the waitresses don't speak English, but don't let it put you off, they're all very helpful. A good restaurant serving good food, and a good chance to check out the Gueliz neighborhood.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Morrocan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

If you like it, make sure to pre-order the lamb shoulder. It is slow roasted, soft and delicious. Also make sure to try the specialty pigeon pastilla. Wonderful light flaky layered pastry, minced pigeon and delicate spices including nutmeg, superb. Of course the chicken tagines are also excellent.

Friendly female staff. Not all speak good English but the maitre d' takes care of that.

Not to be missed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“best targine in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

highly recommend to BOOK!We were lucky enough to get a table while walking in thought it was a small table that could only fit say 5 comfortable seat people, we managed to squeeze 13 people!
The food lives up to its name and standard as the best targine in marrakech! order everything if you can :) Yes, its name comes with a price but you're on holiday so why not splurge ;p

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lot of expectations because of nice reviews and recommendations.
Place was nice and full of people. Staff was also friendly but we were a little disappointed with the food. Maybe because of too many Tajines already, but it didn´t convinced us. If you are a vegetarian, there is not much to choose from.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.