We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious authentic Morrocan food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 547 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Annecy, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Morrocan food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

If you like it, make sure to pre-order the lamb shoulder. It is slow roasted, soft and delicious. Also make sure to try the specialty pigeon pastilla. Wonderful light flaky layered pastry, minced pigeon and delicate spices including nutmeg, superb. Of course the chicken tagines are also excellent.

Friendly female staff. Not all speak good English but the maitre d' takes care of that.

Not to be missed.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    364
    136
    54
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“best targine in marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

highly recommend to BOOK!We were lucky enough to get a table while walking in thought it was a small table that could only fit say 5 comfortable seat people, we managed to squeeze 13 people!
The food lives up to its name and standard as the best targine in marrakech! order everything if you can :) Yes, its name comes with a price but you're on holiday so why not splurge ;p

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lot of expectations because of nice reviews and recommendations.
Place was nice and full of people. Staff was also friendly but we were a little disappointed with the food. Maybe because of too many Tajines already, but it didn´t convinced us. If you are a vegetarian, there is not much to choose from.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit if you're in the New Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited Al Fassia on a weekday lunchtime, on the recommendation of our riad. I'm glad we did.

We walked from the Medina to the Majorelle Garden, popped into the nearby supermarket for some supplies, then to Al Fassia. For some reason I thought it would be bustling and stressful, but in fact it was like walking into a quiet Indian restaurant in the UK: polite, attentive, relaxing and delicious. Make sure you order a pastilla or two. I was predictable and had a tagine - it was wonderful. Bottle of wine to help it go down and ease the stress of Marrakech ("Square? You want Square? This way! Follow me. Square this way!" etc.)

If you go, note that the entrance is recessed a bit from the road. The establishment with tables right on the pavement next to the Al Fassia sign is a different place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great lemon chicken tagine. Don't let them trick you though, the portions are more than enough for two people if you get the salads (which will fill your table with little plates, very good!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.