We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 544 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A bit disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a lot of expectations because of nice reviews and recommendations.
Place was nice and full of people. Staff was also friendly but we were a little disappointed with the food. Maybe because of too many Tajines already, but it didn´t convinced us. If you are a vegetarian, there is not much to choose from.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    362
    134
    53
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Be sure to visit if you're in the New Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We visited Al Fassia on a weekday lunchtime, on the recommendation of our riad. I'm glad we did.

We walked from the Medina to the Majorelle Garden, popped into the nearby supermarket for some supplies, then to Al Fassia. For some reason I thought it would be bustling and stressful, but in fact it was like walking into a quiet Indian restaurant in the UK: polite, attentive, relaxing and delicious. Make sure you order a pastilla or two. I was predictable and had a tagine - it was wonderful. Bottle of wine to help it go down and ease the stress of Marrakech ("Square? You want Square? This way! Follow me. Square this way!" etc.)

If you go, note that the entrance is recessed a bit from the road. The establishment with tables right on the pavement next to the Al Fassia sign is a different place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great lemon chicken tagine. Don't let them trick you though, the portions are more than enough for two people if you get the salads (which will fill your table with little plates, very good!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My best friend visited this restaurant 2 years ago and recommended it to my partner and myself during our long weekend in Marrakech. It was a lovely evening throughout with no complaints. I had booked a table the afternoon before along with the lamb shoulder as this was based on previous reviews. We arrived at 7.30pm and seated on the cushioned side of the table, I understand what previous reviewers commented on regarding the chairs as they are somewhat 'snug'. We ordered the red wine (130dhms) although the one that we wanted was sold out which was a shame and sort of put me on the back foot a little. Ended up paying for a more expensive bottle but we both remained with an open mind although it will be interesting if this ends up being a trend for future visitors.
We had the mixed salad starter which indeed consisted of 15 small plates of various vegetables with bread provided also. They were very nice and not too filling at all.
The lamb shoulder was lovely and after it was placed on the table, all the meat was cut away from the bones and placed on our plates. It was accompanied by cous cous and vegetables, and the obvious bread!!! The attention to detail was great as when our plates were nearing empty, the lady who was looking after us came across and cut the remainder of the meat away from the bones and put this on our plates also. We didnt even have to ask for anything and it was just a really nice touch. All in all a very nice evening and a great experience. I recommend Al Fassia and those of you who wish to try it, book beforehand to avoid disappointment. And if you wish to try the lamb shoulder then ask for this also when making the booking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Upmarket but worth it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Previous reviews on Al Fassia were all positive so we decided to give it a try. Reservations were advised, and were disappointed that we could get a table for the particular evening we wanted. An alternative for the lunchtime was on offer so reluctantly we took it. The shoulder of lamb with cous cous was the recommended choice and it turned to be delicious. The atmosphere of the place itself was buzzing even at that time of day all of which added to a authentic style if somewhat pricey cuisine.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.