We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Came here for lunch. Tried their starter - an assortment of seasoned vegetables (MAD 80) and meatball tagine (MAD 110). Both were impressive but portions were very big! They also serve very tasty bread, which was unlimited. You can ask for as many as you want. Prices were more than reasonable. Service was absolutely fantastic - the waitress even took a picture for us! Table was a bit low but chairs were very comfy.
NB: They want everyone at the table to order a main or you have to leave, so make sure everyone is hungry before coming to this restaurant!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    527
    352
    126
    51
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Grumpy staff, delicious food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Since this restaurant was around the corner from our hotel we decided to pay it a visit.
We did not make a reservation and that is where the trouble started. The main lady, who only spoke French, clearly was not amused by guests just popping in. While ordering, she almost forced us to choose a certain appetizer (selection of salads: DELICIOUS!) and only wanted to sell wine by the bottle.

Main course was as good as any tajine/couscous at Dh 130.

Good choice if you're hungry and in the neighbourhood, but there are more hospitable restaurants in the Nouvelle Ville.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very good service, excelent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Although we have reserved a table for 8:30pm and arrived at 9:30pm, the lady at the front desk received us with a big smile and accommodated us promptly in a very good table. With the exception of one waitress, the staff was very kind. We have ordered the salad -- 15 small dishes, some of them very tasty and others not that much. The main course was excellent; in fact the couscous with caramelized onions was superb. The lamb with almonds tagine my wife ordered was also great. We have been to very good restaurants in Morocco and the taste of the dishes was incredible in comparison to what we had. The desert was also great (huge portion) but not extraordinary. With wine included, we paid app. 70 EUR. It may be touristy, but surely not a trap. Highly recommended. Don't forget to reserve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic Morrocan restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Got the name of this place from our hamman guy. It's a beautiful little restaurant often frequented by the locals. The food was exquisite and the atmosphere good. The tajines were the best we've had and the pidpeon pie is recommended.
However, the staff only speak French, which isn't a bad thing, but can make ordering a little more difficult. We were then also given the wrong dish. Which was drlicious as well.

Overall a must-have-been for Marrakech.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice local restaurant!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Everything in this restaurant is perfect: from the staff to the food!
Prices are a little too high but you forget them thanks to the rest :)
Very highly recommanded!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.