We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service, excelent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good service, excelent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Although we have reserved a table for 8:30pm and arrived at 9:30pm, the lady at the front desk received us with a big smile and accommodated us promptly in a very good table. With the exception of one waitress, the staff was very kind. We have ordered the salad -- 15 small dishes, some of them very tasty and others not that much. The main course was excellent; in fact the couscous with caramelized onions was superb. The lamb with almonds tagine my wife ordered was also great. We have been to very good restaurants in Morocco and the taste of the dishes was incredible in comparison to what we had. The desert was also great (huge portion) but not extraordinary. With wine included, we paid app. 70 EUR. It may be touristy, but surely not a trap. Highly recommended. Don't forget to reserve.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    684
    480
    173
    62
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Authentic Morrocan restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Got the name of this place from our hamman guy. It's a beautiful little restaurant often frequented by the locals. The food was exquisite and the atmosphere good. The tajines were the best we've had and the pidpeon pie is recommended.
However, the staff only speak French, which isn't a bad thing, but can make ordering a little more difficult. We were then also given the wrong dish. Which was drlicious as well.

Overall a must-have-been for Marrakech.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice local restaurant!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Everything in this restaurant is perfect: from the staff to the food!
Prices are a little too high but you forget them thanks to the rest :)
Very highly recommanded!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Morroccon food with a female touch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were at al Fassia at lunch in November and were welcomed by one of the two sister owners, a majestic personality who certainly was the Queen of the place. Management by walking around, smiling, joking, chating, laughing, constantly aware of the wellbeing of her clients. She was here, there & everywhere. So we had high hopes concerning the food. We were absolutely not disappointed, All 3 courses were well prepared, looked delicious and tasted even better, a joy for the eye and for the palate .The interior was beautiful, the personal skilled and all of them female. And over all them reigned the Queen who of course also managed the bill. Wonderful to be in the good hands of powerful women who knows what is all about. We did not ate more that day. The bill? 70 euro including a good Moroccon red wine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tourist trap?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

i hesitated To rate it between "poor" and "terrible". First sight is a cold and unfriendly staff, also nervous and over busy. They put me on a table in front of the entrance door. I had a lamb tajine (120dhm), or should i say a lamb-bone tajine served in not more than 4 minutes..... (?) Which was nevertheless absolutely delicious. Pastries as dessert were industrial and untastefull. Avoid this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.