We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristic trap - poor quality food - to be avoided” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Al Fassia

Al Fassia
55 Boulevard Zerktouni | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
24434060
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Touristic trap - poor quality food - to be avoided”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am very often in Marrakech as I have a holiday home there, but it was the first time I went to eat in the mytic Al Fassia. I was very disappointed. The service was mediocre, tables low and cramped. But the worst was the food. We ordered a chicken tajine with pumpkin and a chicken tajine with almonds and oignons. The tajine were served surprisingly rapidly. But actually we discovered that the chicken was just heated up, far too dry and the sauce was only added over the chicken. Normally the chicken should have been cooked with the ingredients. Both Tajines had the same insipid oignons, mine had some mashed pumpkin added and my sister had some not even grilled almonds added. Tasteless meal smacking of industrial and touristic preparation. Very disappointing. Not to be recommended. We will not return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    680
    474
    173
    62
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Superb food and service, excellent menu and good value for money, worth the trip out from central Marrakech.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, small chairs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was one of our top two restaurants in Marrakech, the menu is one of the rare a la carte menus in the city, and we were grateful to have something tyoically Moroccan that wasn't the usual salads-pastilla-tagine. It's definitely got a different vibe to the other restaurants - whether it's because its run by women I couldn't say but it was full to bursting and for good reason. Go!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD, GREAT EVENING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a wonderful dinner here last week. The pumpkin tagine, chicken and couscous, plus chicken kabobs were outstanding. We also liked the atmosphere too. We all felt this was the best meal of our trip!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We were lucky to get a table”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were in a group of nine and phoned up earlier to reserve a table. Unfortunately it was full so we decided to head to Gueliz and hope for the best. A friend of ours had recommended the restaurant for dinner and mentioned it was run by ladies only... which is a bit of a controversy in itself.

Good fortune as we walked passed the restaurant purely coincidently my cousin Remi decided to double check if they had some space. YES! since we were early, and possibly they had a cancellation we managed to get in...

all 9 of us sat around a small round table on low(ish) puffs - that was nice as we were able to talk to everyone without shouting compared to the larger tables we are used to where you only talk to your neighbors.

I ordred the Tanjia - slow cooked lamb which was to die for - Remi ordered a Couscous Royale and the others ordered Tajines of various flavours.

We are a particularly picky bunch when it comes to food... every single person was in taste heaven.

The food was amazing and the service was second to none. We were looked after so well.

I took some photos so you can have a look. Definitely visit Al Fassia - and book in advance!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Fassia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Al Fassia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Fassia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.