We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djebel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Djebel to your Saves list
Riad Djebel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An oasis in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As with many riads in the Medina, this one was in a rather grotty area. But inside it's lovely and so quiet you wouldn't know you were in Marrakech. Francoise was very welcoming and helpful as were all the staff, especially the young chap. The room (1) wasn't fancy but it was clean and tidy with a safe and a reasonable shower. Breakfast on the terrace was traditional and very nice. It's about 3-4 mins from where the taxi drops you off at El Moukef and the guy with the barrow will want at least a 20MAD tip. He doesn't do Euros. Wifi in the room got to 2 bars. You can pay in MAD or Euros.

This riad (garden) is a leisurely 20 min walk to "La Place" or 40 mins if you get lost (which you will!) but they give you a good map which is a great help. But you will still get lost. Other places give you a phone which you can use if you get desperate. There is also a mobile app which is good. But you will still get lost. Beware that anyone offering to help you find your way will want 25MAD minimum.

The Foundok restaurant that they recommend is nearby and pretty good.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
220
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a beautiful small Riad about 10 minutes walk from the main square. There are only around five guest rooms in the Riad and they all look very nice. We had a lovely room with sofa and table as well as a large bathroom. The Riad has a lovely roof terrace where breakfast and meals are served. It is also lovely to relax on the terrace after a day out in the Souk. The owners and staff are wonderful and cannot help you enough. They organised our airport transfers and were also willing to organise any trips we were interested in. I would definitely recommend and hope to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This riad is very beautiful, perfectly located in the medina, about a 10 minute walk from the square. We stayed on August 7- August 10th, while visiting Marrakech for the first time. The hosts, Miguel and Mustafa was very friendly and welcoming, helping us with everything we needed. Mustafa met us right at the taxi, and walked us to the riad, carrying our luggage right up to the room. Even after we checked out, they held our luggage for us while were took an excursion to the Sahara for two nights. Coffee and tea are complimentary, and the breakfast (included in the price), was served on a beautiful terrace, overlooking the medina. Our room was comfortable, great bed with soft sheets and pillows, big bathroom, safe, and strong air conditioner. There are beautiful plants in the courtyard of the riad, with a pool, tables and couches. We highly recommend this riad to anyone looking for an oasis from the frenetic energy of Marrakch while being close to everything, its a wonderful choice! This riad felt like being in paradise, and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed in Riad Djebel for seven nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The owners Sylvain and Miguel were extremely friendly and helpful, as were all the staff who worked in the riad.

Breakfast was served on the roof terrace whenever in the morning we appeared and dinner/drinks were available and of an excellent quality if requested.

The interior is extremely well presented, clean and comfortable. As other reviewers have commented the interior of the riad is also very peaceful - which is welcome after a day in the souks!

Riad Djebel is only a short walk from the main square. The medina streets en route are evocative; you really feel that you are getting the authentic Marrakechi experience.

I would recommend this riad to anyone planning to stay in Marrakech and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

we have just returned from a weeks stay here..what a lovely place to stay.The owners and the staff couldnt do enough for us..room was stylish,lovely cotton beding . the comunal areas were really peacefull and they had a nice sun terrace to catch some rays or big unbrellas if you want shade .breakfast was great really nice youget .we did a few trips when there..they organised everything ..Taxis..Trains..Trips...my husband was ill for a day and.they even took me to the pharmacie thank you.. we would recomend this as a fantastic place to stay..a big thank you mareza (hope i have spelt that wright)who looked after us for the first few day ,when the owners were away..This place is a little oasis in a crazy city ...LOVED IT

Room Tip: we had one of the smaller rooms but it was still really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the perfect riad for a couple looking for a romantic, quiet haven away from the crazy streets of marrakech with decor that is stylish and minimal but still maintaining a cosy and natural feel. Miguel, the owner, and Mustafa were great hosts always making sure that we were well looked after and giving good advice on the area, providing us with an excellent detailed map of the city (with Riad Djebel branding!) The breakfast was always fantastic and of great quality with fresh breads, yoghurt, eggs, cheese, jams and honey. The terrace is beautiful for breakfast in the morning and to relax in the evening. The riad is located on a quiet back street away from the bustle but is easy to find once you've been taken there once and you can get dropped off nearby in a taxi at night (ask for El Moukef Square and walk down 5mins)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Miguel, Valeria, Mustafa and the rest of the staff at Riad Djebel made me feel like a Moroccan princess! My room was huge, exotic, comfortable and quiet. There was fresh bottled water or mint tea waiting for me each time I returned from a hectic day in the souks! Valeria went out of her way to show me how to get in and out of the medina and to find the riad (not an easy task). The riad is so quiet - all I heard were birds chirping, and occasionally background music playing during the early evening. The common areas are charming and comfortable - don't forget to take a nap on the rooftop patio!

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for a room with a tub - it's a deep soaking tub - heaven after a long day o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Djebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djebel

Address: 190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Djebel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Djebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Djebel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.