We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect and quiet place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djebel

Save Saved
You added Riad Djebel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Djebel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pefect and quiet place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very nice and clean riad just and easy 10 minutes away from the main square. Sylvain is a very friendly host, who would do anything to help you, and would even walk you to the square or to the busstation. He really makes you feel like a special guest, which is also reflected in the beatifully served breakfast. If you like dinner can also be served (highly recommended!). Sylvain's helper (abdul ali) is also the sweetest!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
213
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We received a welcome email shortly after booking and Sylvian was quite responsive to email in the weeks leading up to the trip. They arranged for pickup from the airport and train station and our arrival was (relatively--only due to hiccups on our part) seamless.

You don't need a guide or tour to navigate life inside the walls--Miguel showed us to the square (approx 10 min walk), spent several minutes going over a map with us and it was quite easy to get around once we got our bearings. We were able to walk to see all of the sites, with the exception of the Jardins to which we took a taxi. The riad is located down a couple of alleys but we found it without trouble and never felt unsafe coming back at night (2 female travelers).

Nothing but kind words to say about the hospitality and quality of the accommodations. Also recommend having at least one dinner here--the chicken tajine was better than the restaurants and cheaper! Note, there is no view of the medina from the rooftop as some of the reviews seem to indicate; the roof is amazing but the walls are high and in peering over you see a sea of satellite dishes. Not a downside, just don't expect to be people watching from the roof. The rooms themselves also do not have windows (but do have A/C). Wireless is pretty strong, better in the downstairs common area than in the room or on the roof we found.


Ask to see the photos from before the renovations, what they did with the place was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

excellent door to door service. the hospitality was fabulous but unfussy. really good value in comparison to other places we looked at. we really liked the location and very easy to find once we got our bearings on the first day. we really loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are nice. we had a suite which had a lovely bathroom with a bath big enough for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Riad Djebel for four nights. We got in quite late the first night, a taxi driver picked us up at the airport and we were greeted by Mustapha. He was really nice and made us delicious egg crepes because we were starving. The place is really beautiful. Our room was on the first floor and it was so serene and relaxing after a day out in Marrakech, which is such a contrast. Marisa (a friend of Sylvain, owner) showed us around and walked us to the main square and made sure we knew the ropes of Marrakech before we went our own ways. She's was so helpful and fun to talk with day in and day out. Her and Mustapha helped plan a day trip to Imlil, a city surrounded by five Berbere villages. We hiked to a waterfall, stopped by a Berbere market, and even got a dromedary (camel with one hump) ride on the way back. Our trip was a fun adventure with the help of everyone at Riad Djebel. We would recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at riad djebel for one night with my husband.. Our transfer from the station was organized by the owner Sylvian... We were greeted with a warm welcome... The riad is charming, stylish and clean. Sylvian was so helpful in everything we asked. He walked with us to the main square, so we could find our way back to the riad easily.... It is a pity that we coul not stay longer.. We certainly recommend riad djebel....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergamo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Riad Djebel 3 nights and we were very satisfied of everything. The accomodation is excellent and the staff is very nice and friendly.
The breakfast is very good.
They also have a wonderful terrace to enjoy the sun.
I definitely suggest it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything about this Riad was fantastic. The staff was so helpful and accomodating, the rooms were unique and charming, the food was fantastic, and the price was very reasonable.

Breakfast on the rooftop every morning was a fantastic way to start each day - amazing and fresh breads, oj, yogurt and mint tea.

The riad arranged all our transfers to / from the airport and trainstations flawlessly. Door to door service at it's best.

The Riad has a few 'green' conservation elements which was a lovely surprise.

The Riad is a bit away from the main square however the walk was easy and a great way to see a bit more of the city away from the tourist center

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor have a bit more light, rooms on the first floor are a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Djebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djebel

Address: 190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Djebel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Djebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Djebel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.