We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djebel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Djebel to your Saves list
Riad Djebel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 1,115 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Riad Djebel for four nights. We got in quite late the first night, a taxi driver picked us up at the airport and we were greeted by Mustapha. He was really nice and made us delicious egg crepes because we were starving. The place is really beautiful. Our room was on the first floor and it was so serene and relaxing after a day out in Marrakech, which is such a contrast. Marisa (a friend of Sylvain, owner) showed us around and walked us to the main square and made sure we knew the ropes of Marrakech before we went our own ways. She's was so helpful and fun to talk with day in and day out. Her and Mustapha helped plan a day trip to Imlil, a city surrounded by five Berbere villages. We hiked to a waterfall, stopped by a Berbere market, and even got a dromedary (camel with one hump) ride on the way back. Our trip was a fun adventure with the help of everyone at Riad Djebel. We would recommend this place to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
225
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at riad djebel for one night with my husband.. Our transfer from the station was organized by the owner Sylvian... We were greeted with a warm welcome... The riad is charming, stylish and clean. Sylvian was so helpful in everything we asked. He walked with us to the main square, so we could find our way back to the riad easily.... It is a pity that we coul not stay longer.. We certainly recommend riad djebel....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergamo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Riad Djebel 3 nights and we were very satisfied of everything. The accomodation is excellent and the staff is very nice and friendly.
The breakfast is very good.
They also have a wonderful terrace to enjoy the sun.
I definitely suggest it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything about this Riad was fantastic. The staff was so helpful and accomodating, the rooms were unique and charming, the food was fantastic, and the price was very reasonable.

Breakfast on the rooftop every morning was a fantastic way to start each day - amazing and fresh breads, oj, yogurt and mint tea.

The riad arranged all our transfers to / from the airport and trainstations flawlessly. Door to door service at it's best.

The Riad has a few 'green' conservation elements which was a lovely surprise.

The Riad is a bit away from the main square however the walk was easy and a great way to see a bit more of the city away from the tourist center

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor have a bit more light, rooms on the first floor are a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I can highly recommend Riad Djebel, the owner Sylvain and his team are first class. They arranged restuarant bookings and assisted us in finding our way around Marrakech on arrival. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I would recommend if booking to ask Sylvain to arrange airport transfers as this will make life on arrival easy and stress free. We ate at the Riad on the first night and along with the daily breakfast the food was very good. There are many Riad's in Marrakech each offering something different for a wide range of prices, Sylvian's is very good for the price but what stood out for us was the staff who make it one of the best in our eyes. Thank you for a wonderful stay and looking after us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Can really recommend the Riad Djebel as a lovely, peaceful place to stay in the frenetic medina of Marrakech. Sylvain was an excellent host, showing us the way to the main square, making restaurant bookings etc. A big thank you to him and the other staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Riad is beautiful. But you knew that from all the other reviews on here. A real oasis of calm in the madness that is the Medina! There are possibly many other beautiful Riads in the Medina so why choose this one?

Most important is that the staff here are awesome. Sylvain was truly indispensable, helping us to acclimatise to the Medina, escorting us to Jemma El Fna square, arranging our trip to the Berber Museum and the mountains and making restaurant reservations for us.

Our Berber guide in the mountains Khalid said 'Sylvain is straight man, not ziggy zaggy man' which is an important consideration for a Berber man. It's true, trust Sylvain he will always provide excellent service at a very decent price, probably one of the few people in Marrakesh who won't overcharge you. Make use of the taxi service from and to the Airport that Sylvain offers - it is top quality and believe me if you have never been to the Medina before you will need it!

The Medina is intense but Sylvains calm and authoritative approach will soon have you making the most of your stay. A big mention for the food as well. Food in the Riad Djebel was the best in Marrakesh and we tried some top restaurants. Only bettered by the food we had in the mountains that our Berber guide Khalid's mum served up as he took us into his home for lunch. Get out of the Medina for at least one day or it will drive you mad, and I can't recommend the trip to the Ourika Valley with Khalid (who is also the curator of the Berber Museum) highly enough. A wonderful charming man, with a wonderful family who gave my wife and I and a third party member a fascinating day.

Breakfast on the roof terrace each morning in the Riad Djebel, served by friendly and smiling staff started the day off perfectly.

Trust me you need backup in Marrakesh, Sylvain and his team provide the best there is.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1. Was a very nicely decorated and clean room with a brilliant shower, and little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Djebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djebel

Address: 190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Djebel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Djebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Djebel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.