We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djebel

Save Saved
You added Riad Djebel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Djebel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I can highly recommend Riad Djebel, the owner Sylvain and his team are first class. They arranged restuarant bookings and assisted us in finding our way around Marrakech on arrival. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. I would recommend if booking to ask Sylvain to arrange airport transfers as this will make life on arrival easy and stress free. We ate at the Riad on the first night and along with the daily breakfast the food was very good. There are many Riad's in Marrakech each offering something different for a wide range of prices, Sylvian's is very good for the price but what stood out for us was the staff who make it one of the best in our eyes. Thank you for a wonderful stay and looking after us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
213
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Can really recommend the Riad Djebel as a lovely, peaceful place to stay in the frenetic medina of Marrakech. Sylvain was an excellent host, showing us the way to the main square, making restaurant bookings etc. A big thank you to him and the other staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Riad is beautiful. But you knew that from all the other reviews on here. A real oasis of calm in the madness that is the Medina! There are possibly many other beautiful Riads in the Medina so why choose this one?

Most important is that the staff here are awesome. Sylvain was truly indispensable, helping us to acclimatise to the Medina, escorting us to Jemma El Fna square, arranging our trip to the Berber Museum and the mountains and making restaurant reservations for us.

Our Berber guide in the mountains Khalid said 'Sylvain is straight man, not ziggy zaggy man' which is an important consideration for a Berber man. It's true, trust Sylvain he will always provide excellent service at a very decent price, probably one of the few people in Marrakesh who won't overcharge you. Make use of the taxi service from and to the Airport that Sylvain offers - it is top quality and believe me if you have never been to the Medina before you will need it!

The Medina is intense but Sylvains calm and authoritative approach will soon have you making the most of your stay. A big mention for the food as well. Food in the Riad Djebel was the best in Marrakesh and we tried some top restaurants. Only bettered by the food we had in the mountains that our Berber guide Khalid's mum served up as he took us into his home for lunch. Get out of the Medina for at least one day or it will drive you mad, and I can't recommend the trip to the Ourika Valley with Khalid (who is also the curator of the Berber Museum) highly enough. A wonderful charming man, with a wonderful family who gave my wife and I and a third party member a fascinating day.

Breakfast on the roof terrace each morning in the Riad Djebel, served by friendly and smiling staff started the day off perfectly.

Trust me you need backup in Marrakesh, Sylvain and his team provide the best there is.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1. Was a very nicely decorated and clean room with a brilliant shower, and little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Arriving at night in the middle of the Medina, one is instantly greeted by the hustle and bustle of Moroccon night life with people bugging and tugging at our harversack. Our friendly host Miguel, brought us into the little alley and led us into a door in one of the walls and we arrived into an oasis, a total retreat away from the busy-ness of the streets just metres away.
The ambience of the Riad is relaxing and indescribably beautiful. Traditional Morrocon dinner is serve and I must say that the food provided by the Riad is the best we had, even better than the famous La Founduk just minutes from the Riad.
The rooms are immaculate, only a few rooms, but cosy enough for us to get to know our neighbours. It felt like a home away from home, at times we just wanted to stay inside the Riad and not explore the city because it was too comfortable and relaxing. You could take a bask at the roof terrace and listen to the children playing in the day or gaze at the stars by night, pick a book to read at the lobby area or just relax and soak in the tranquility. Once you are at peace with your self, you can head out to the busy streets and the staff will be more than happy to guide you and provide useful advice.
The staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs. For their service alone, I would give 5 stars (out of 5). It was truly personal and you can feel the sincerity of the staff, from the lady who cleans the room to Mustapha who answered to our needs. Breakfast is Morrocan style and the staff made an effort to tweak our breakfast over the 3 mornings to ensure that we did not have the same food.
All in all, we had such a wonderful experience of Morocco and we did not want to return back to London.
I definitely recommend this Riad to anyone who wants to experience something different from the standard hotels and who want to be in the middle of the true Moroccan life yet have a peaceful place to retreat back into.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

As soon as we arrived, one of the staff explained about Marrakech very well with delicious mint tea and cookies, and even took us to Jamaa el Fna. Interior of the riad is brightly decorated with trees and traditional doors. Breakfast at the terrace was fantastic and have some nice conversation with other guests. We had stayed here for 2 nights. One of the two owners, Miguel, came up to the terrace both mornings, and gave us advices for walking in the Medina. IIt is on one of narrow streets in the medina. You would have trouble finding out and going back to this riad. To get lost is, however, one of the most fun things to do in Marrakech. Overall, Wunderbar!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Excellent Riad, peaceful, lovely decor, great service, fantastic breakfast on the terrace, extremely helpful staff. If I had just one small quibble I would say the dark, small alleyway leading to the riad is a little daunting and can house the odd unpleasant character. Otherwise, perfect!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I chose to stay at this Riad based on the reviews on here and it didn't disappoint. It is unbelievably clean and the service was amazing. Miguel was very friendly and took us to the main square on our first day as the maze of streets is impossible to navigate for a first-timer, but once you make the first trip you'll recognise certain landmarks and it becomes easy after that.

I wisely chose to organise the taxi through the Riad rather than stress about trusting the taxi driver to find the Riad, it is down a dark alley but is COMPLETELY safe to walk down, even at night so don't be too perturbed when you first get there.

Miguel also recommended the trip to mountain town of Imli which I would also highly recommend (do not be put off by the price of this tour, it is worth it).

Overall, I'd highly recommend this Riad, it's worth it for the service alone but the high standard of rooms makes it more than worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
Airport Transpo...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dar Akal
Dar Akal
#26 of 1,041 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#16 of 1,041 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#40 of 1,041 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#13 of 1,041 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Romantic, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Vanilla sma
Riad Vanilla sma
#25 of 1,041 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Room Service, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#41 of 1,041 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Djebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djebel

Address: 190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Djebel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Djebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Djebel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.