We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad, top-quality service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djebel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Djebel to your Saves list
Riad Djebel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Riad, top-quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I chose to stay at this Riad based on the reviews on here and it didn't disappoint. It is unbelievably clean and the service was amazing. Miguel was very friendly and took us to the main square on our first day as the maze of streets is impossible to navigate for a first-timer, but once you make the first trip you'll recognise certain landmarks and it becomes easy after that.

I wisely chose to organise the taxi through the Riad rather than stress about trusting the taxi driver to find the Riad, it is down a dark alley but is COMPLETELY safe to walk down, even at night so don't be too perturbed when you first get there.

Miguel also recommended the trip to mountain town of Imli which I would also highly recommend (do not be put off by the price of this tour, it is worth it).

Overall, I'd highly recommend this Riad, it's worth it for the service alone but the high standard of rooms makes it more than worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
220
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Situated in the Medina, close to museums, the Medersa, the souks and the central square. Rooms are spacious, well designed with good furniture, excellent private bathroom and wonderful roof terrace and downstairs dining room to share with other guests. The hosts, Sylvain and Miguel along with their very professional, kind and attentive staff provides an excellent service 24/7 and help with all kinds of questions that may arise, such as local life and trading, museums, markets, concerts, transportation and trips in and out of Marrakech and where to exchange money. Excellent traditional Moroccan diners are served at a fair price, among the best we tried during our 10 days stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I travelled Morocco for a number of weeks staying everywhere in Riads for their beauty and great hospitality. This one was the BEST! Miguel was amazing. Helped us book our Sahara adventure and making sure we got a good deal with a good company, gave us great tips on where to eat and what to see. you could not fault the hospitality. Mustafa is also amazing and was there to help with anything we needed. We arrived by train and didn't arrange to meet Miguel to show us to the Riad which made it a little hard to find because the Marrakech medina is a beautiful maze, so i would say take up the offer to meet miguel somewhere rather than roam the medina maze with all your suitcases, you might get lost. The rooms are PERFECTLY CLEAN and LARGE and beautifully set out and designed. Comfortable beds and new linen. I would definitely stay in at Riad Djebel again next time we're in Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed three nights at this riad and it proved to be a secure and quiet retreat. There is always someone 'on duty' to open the outside door and ensure it is securely closed after you have either arrived or departed.

Do make sure you use the 15 euro pick-up option from the airport. It is bit more expensive than you'd pay if you negotiated the taxi down but its no hassle AND you will be able to find the riad. As with most riads finding it for the first time is difficult (near impossible) as a new arrival in Marrakesh. Once you are there the French owners were extremely helpful giving us detailed maps and walking with us to the square on our first visit.

We ate in the first night and the chicken tagine was excellent - as indeed were the first and final courses. At a little under 40 euros including a bottle of wine and water for the 2 of us it offered good value for money.

Marrakech is overwhelming when you first arrive. This riad is about 10 or 15 minutes from Jemma el Fna which is the heart of Marrakesh. The path is a little daunting at first but once you become familiar with certain landmarks it is okay. Do 'look out' though when you are in the crowded alleys. One youngster about 14-15 years old tried to pick pocket me. Fortunately my valuables were in a zipped pocket and he didn't succeed. On another occasion when we were returning to the riad after a meal a young man of about 18-20, stripped to the waist and obviously either drunk or drugged, was smashing windows with a motor cycle crash helmet whilst brandishing a knife in his other hand!! Marrakesh is an interesting place but you do need to be aware at all times and prepared to haggle over everything!

The riad itself was very clean and tidy and the wifi worked extremely well. There was seating around the courtyard if you wish to sit outside your room. A simple breakfast was served on the rooftop. There was AC in the room if needed but as it rained quite a bit whilst we were there at the end of October we didn't need it.

Overall a safe haven in a manic city.

Room Tip: All five of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Everything about Riad Djebel was perfect, from the airport pickup through to Mustafa taking us back up to get a taxi at the end of the stay. Both Miguel and Mustafa could not do enough to make our stay perfect. We had a little difficulty with a tour company, but Miguel ensured that they knew where the Riad was, and arranged an early breakfast just for us as we had an early start.

The Riad itself is beautiful. We stayed in two different rooms as we stayed over two different time periods (tour in between), and both were stunning. Big comfy beds and huge bathrooms. And the terrace with views to the Atlas was the perfect place for breakfast, and afternoon beers.

Room Tip: We stayed in both Room 5 and Room 4. Room 5 is on the ground floor, so my wife and I preferred Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austrilia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed four days at this riad and it proved to be a secure and quiet retreat. The owners were extremely helpful and made sure I could find my way back to the riad on the first day. They picked me up from the airport and had a meal ready for me on the night I arrived. I appreciated this as Marrakech can be a little overwhelming when you first arrive. The riad was very clean and tidy and the wifi worked extremely well. There was seating around the courtyard if you wish to sit outside your room. A simple breakfast was served on the rooftop and there was also seating up there to enjoy the cool breeze in the evening. There was AC in the room if needed. The riad was about 10 or 15 minutes from Jemma el Fna. The path is a little daunting at first but once you become familiar with certain landmarks it is okay. The owners will fill you in on the 'dos' and 'don'ts' around Marrakech. Enjoy, as it is a fascinating city.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor offer a little more privacy as the room on the ground floor is where ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

When travelling to Marrakech certainly consider Riad Djebel as place to stay! One of the best riads we stayed in, perfectly clean and modern rooms. As Marrakech has the most hectic medina this can really overwhelm you (negatively), but this is where the personal touch of Mustafa and Said makes your stay special. Explaining the medina, walk with you the first time to the big square and talk about some local habits makes you really comfortable, this is a big plus!
One small remark would be the alley you have to pass to reach the riad, but we would definitely recommend Djebel!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Djebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djebel

Address: 190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Djebel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Djebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Djebel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.