We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djebel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Djebel to your Saves list
Riad Djebel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Peaceful Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great place to rest your head after a day of sun and touring! Calm, cool and welcoming! Right in the Medina, central to everything.  No need to look any further, this is the place for you!  Walk to the markets, central square, and all that Marrkech has to offer.  Clean, and accommodating! Very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
218
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

What a gorgeous place!!!!! Love it! After a hot day walking in the busy Medina it was perfect to go back to the peacefulness of our Riad. What a cool, cozy and very lovely place!. Enjoying the serene and beautiful courtyard with banana and orange trees listening to the birds singing!!! just wonderful! The room was excellent full of nice details, very comfortable ,fresh, and spotlessly clean. The riad is perfectly located in the heart of the Medina ,walking distance to all the landmarks and the famous town square of Marrakech, Jemaa l-Fna. Great location! Breakfast in the pretty terrace was just delicious!!!!
Miguel, Sylvan and Said beautiful, charming and warm people and very helpful! Made us feel at home. Always making sure that we were comfortable, very attentive to our needs. Even escorting us to places to see or get our gifts.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you go to Marrakech, this place is a must.
What a lovely and clean place!
A place decorated with such a taste that you do not want to leave. A place where you find peace.
One of the most important things when I travel is a "Good bed" You need to have a good rest in order to function the next day and this bed was the best in Morocco.
The staff were incredible, they not only treat you well but also take the time to show you around so you feel safe.
Breakfast was wonderful! great bred and home made typical treats.
Thanks to the staff for the beautiful days in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We booked this last minute and even though there are excellent reviews on TA and the hotel website showed a lovely looking place, you never quite know until you arrive. This riad is way above what any review or pretty pictures can tell you. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and so, so helpful. They even walked us to the main square, pointing out landmarks, so that we would know the way (maps are pretty useless in the old part of Marrakech) and to a local restaurant. We had the ground floor room which opened out onto the open area but as it is such a small place, we hardly saw anyone else, and it felt like our own personal lounge. The room was comfortable, the breakfasts were so good we didn't need to eat lunch. Airport transfers arranged by them were quick and painless, and they would have arranged other trips had we wanted. It was an oasis of calm in a very manic city. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I went with a friend in may, and it was truly lovely. There are only a couple of other guests, which really makes it feel like you're at home. They give great insider recommendations, even with small details like, you might want to avoid that street because the taxi drivers can be annoying... It was fun sharing which purchases we had made in the souks, our teapots were gorgeous, but my mint tea unfortunately was not of good quality ( glad it wasn't the other way around:) ). They booked great restaurants for us, a nice hammam, and a great cooking course. The cooking course was in a much bigger riad and made it quite clear for us we'd picked one of the better riads. If you're going to force negative ones out of me... Yes it's a bit hard to find, but to tell you the truth we never got lost ( probably because we wisely never accepted help to find it from locals, kids will tell you the road is closed, take you a long way, and ask for money). The riad makes up for this by offering a cab drive for 15e to and from the airport (cabs might not actually know where it is) and guide you to the souks with helpful hints and their mobile in case of problems...

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Riad Djebel is an oasis of calm amid the tumult of the Marrakesh Medina. It is cool, comfortable, clean and stylish. The staff spare no effort to cosset you and go out of their way to ensure your safety and well being. For instance the first time we ventured out of the Riad they insisted on providing us with a marked up map and an escort to point out landmarks and tips to recognize the way back (nothing is easier in the Medina than getting lost and so called "guides" often take you the wrong way leaving you stranded). They provide comprehensive references on essential places to visit and safe places for westerners to eat. If you want good home cooked Moroccan food they can provide that too. Overall an excellent stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Riad located in the heart of old medina with the local neighborhoods. I actually prefer to feel the real medina more than staying in busiest nosiest touristy hotel area near the Place Jemaa El Fna. However, it was a hassle to find the location of Riad if you are the 1st time visitor of the medina of Marrakech as me. Better arrange airport transport in advance or call riad staff for pick up from the nearest taxi stop or put taxi driver on the phone in order to avoid getting lost and rip off by taxi driver and street boys. Taxi fare should not be more than 90 Dirham from Menara Airport. Once you arrive, staff will give you a clear direction with map and an explanation of the precautions during your stay in Marrakech. I had no problem to find the riad again even as a female traveler at night.

It is a decent, clean and fabulous Moroccan deco small riad which is absolutely good in value. Every time after running around in the boiling temperature, we were welcome by friendly smiles. Staff are super friendly and initiative to help with care that is much warmer than robotic service in stars hotels. It was a touching moment when I lost track of my friend in medina and thanks for Mustapha that ran everywhere to find her by all possible means in his non-working hours. I was really worried but I did not expect such an effort and heartily help!

By the way, Said’s cook is much better than a lot of restaurants in Marrakech and the south :D

Room Tip: Middle room of second floor but other rooms are also decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Djebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djebel

Address: 190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Djebel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Djebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Djebel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.