We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel and a peaceful place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Djebel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Djebel to your Saves list
Riad Djebel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
“A jewel and a peaceful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you go to Marrakech, this place is a must.
What a lovely and clean place!
A place decorated with such a taste that you do not want to leave. A place where you find peace.
One of the most important things when I travel is a "Good bed" You need to have a good rest in order to function the next day and this bed was the best in Morocco.
The staff were incredible, they not only treat you well but also take the time to show you around so you feel safe.
Breakfast was wonderful! great bred and home made typical treats.
Thanks to the staff for the beautiful days in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
217
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We booked this last minute and even though there are excellent reviews on TA and the hotel website showed a lovely looking place, you never quite know until you arrive. This riad is way above what any review or pretty pictures can tell you. The staff were knowledgeable, friendly and so, so helpful. They even walked us to the main square, pointing out landmarks, so that we would know the way (maps are pretty useless in the old part of Marrakech) and to a local restaurant. We had the ground floor room which opened out onto the open area but as it is such a small place, we hardly saw anyone else, and it felt like our own personal lounge. The room was comfortable, the breakfasts were so good we didn't need to eat lunch. Airport transfers arranged by them were quick and painless, and they would have arranged other trips had we wanted. It was an oasis of calm in a very manic city. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I went with a friend in may, and it was truly lovely. There are only a couple of other guests, which really makes it feel like you're at home. They give great insider recommendations, even with small details like, you might want to avoid that street because the taxi drivers can be annoying... It was fun sharing which purchases we had made in the souks, our teapots were gorgeous, but my mint tea unfortunately was not of good quality ( glad it wasn't the other way around:) ). They booked great restaurants for us, a nice hammam, and a great cooking course. The cooking course was in a much bigger riad and made it quite clear for us we'd picked one of the better riads. If you're going to force negative ones out of me... Yes it's a bit hard to find, but to tell you the truth we never got lost ( probably because we wisely never accepted help to find it from locals, kids will tell you the road is closed, take you a long way, and ask for money). The riad makes up for this by offering a cab drive for 15e to and from the airport (cabs might not actually know where it is) and guide you to the souks with helpful hints and their mobile in case of problems...

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Riad Djebel is an oasis of calm amid the tumult of the Marrakesh Medina. It is cool, comfortable, clean and stylish. The staff spare no effort to cosset you and go out of their way to ensure your safety and well being. For instance the first time we ventured out of the Riad they insisted on providing us with a marked up map and an escort to point out landmarks and tips to recognize the way back (nothing is easier in the Medina than getting lost and so called "guides" often take you the wrong way leaving you stranded). They provide comprehensive references on essential places to visit and safe places for westerners to eat. If you want good home cooked Moroccan food they can provide that too. Overall an excellent stay and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Riad located in the heart of old medina with the local neighborhoods. I actually prefer to feel the real medina more than staying in busiest nosiest touristy hotel area near the Place Jemaa El Fna. However, it was a hassle to find the location of Riad if you are the 1st time visitor of the medina of Marrakech as me. Better arrange airport transport in advance or call riad staff for pick up from the nearest taxi stop or put taxi driver on the phone in order to avoid getting lost and rip off by taxi driver and street boys. Taxi fare should not be more than 90 Dirham from Menara Airport. Once you arrive, staff will give you a clear direction with map and an explanation of the precautions during your stay in Marrakech. I had no problem to find the riad again even as a female traveler at night.

It is a decent, clean and fabulous Moroccan deco small riad which is absolutely good in value. Every time after running around in the boiling temperature, we were welcome by friendly smiles. Staff are super friendly and initiative to help with care that is much warmer than robotic service in stars hotels. It was a touching moment when I lost track of my friend in medina and thanks for Mustapha that ran everywhere to find her by all possible means in his non-working hours. I was really worried but I did not expect such an effort and heartily help!

By the way, Said’s cook is much better than a lot of restaurants in Marrakech and the south :D

Room Tip: Middle room of second floor but other rooms are also decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montepulciano, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

It was my frist stay in Marrakech and this riad was best choice.
Beautifull rooms, courtyard with huge banana trees, quite and calm, that what you need after the whole day in Medina.
Everytime I stepped through the entrance door Ive instantly felt calm, relaxed and peacfull.
Staff is very attentive, helpfull and kind.
I found it easy to come in and out from Riad and never got lost, thanks to the great directions we received at the check in.
First evening we arranged dinner at the riad and it was a very good choice after all day travelling.
Next time Im coming to Marrakech I`m gonna stay in Riad Djebel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We arranged an airport transfer to the Riad. And we were very glad we did! No hassle with the taxi driver. The taxi driver brought us to the Medina where a luggage carrier was waiting for us to take us to the Riad. Just a few hundred meters from the place where we were dropped.

Hamid, the caretaker for the weekends, was waiting for us and gave us information about Marrakech. A few minutes later Miquel, the owner arrived. A nice man who told us what we could and shouldn’t do in Marrakech. After this he said, ok that's 10 Dirham with a smile. With this he warned us with a joke that outside the Riad almost everybody wants money for any kind of service they offer. For instance, showing us our way to the square.

Later we were shown our room. A very nice decorated large room (room number 5) with just a perfect bed, a nice couch and a good size bathroom with a shower. Because it was our first evening in Marrakech we decided to have dinner in the Riad. We had beef tagine, a Marrakech specialty, at the rooftop terrace. The Moroccan salad as a starter was just perfect. The tagine nice but we were not impressed. Miquel was a little bit disappointed, but sorry that is just the way we experienced it.

What did impress us was the hospitality and outstanding service from Miquel, Hamid and Mustafa. And not to mention the ladies who prepared our breakfast and cleaned our room.
Breakfast after 08.00 AM was on the rooftop terrace. Before 08.00 AM downstairs. The thing we like most about Riad Djebel is the personal approach. They know who you are and what you like. For instance, the second morning we had breakfast, they remembered what we had the previous day.

The first time we went to explore the medina, Miquel went with us to show us the way. A walk to the main square takes about 10 minutes.

We felt at home in this Riad. Because of a visit to a town called Essaouira we checked out a few days later. After a few days in Essaouira we went back to Marrakech and because we had enjoyed out stay we returned to Riad Djebel for the last days of our holiday. Because room number 5 was already booked, we made a reservation for room number 3. A big room with a couch you could turn into an extra bed. This time we also had a bathtub.

Riad Djebel is truly a home away from home. Because we checked out early, Miquel was not at the Riad when we left. But he called us the say goodbye. If we go to Marrakech again, we would definitely stay in this Riad again!

Tip: Definitly go to Le bains blue. A little bit expensive (550 Dirham for 45 min Hamam and a 60 min massage) But very good, clean and with private couples rooms. Restaurant Le Foundouk (have dinner at the rooftop terrace) just a 5 minute walk from the Riad and restaurant Pepenero are great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Djebel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Djebel

Address: 190 derb Skaya, Issebtiynne, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Djebel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Djebel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Djebel Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Djebel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.