We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, still laughing at all the other poor reviewers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Soltan Riad & Spa

Save Saved
You added Palais Soltan Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palais Soltan Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Mohamed VI, Zone | Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #359 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Nice, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place, still laughing at all the other poor reviewers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the start of March and were absolutely amazed by the whole trip. This was my first holiday in ten years and we can't wait to go back.
Whilst it's not the sort of traditional holiday most (UK) people are looking for I couldn't fault it.
The staff upon arrival were friendly and offered us wonderful tea and biscuits whilst helping us through a speedy process.
We did notice the "BED" logo and heard the music which was really good. I used to DJ and there was a decent playlist playing off an ipod most of the day if you were by the pool.
Although we're not hardened clubbers and didn't go to Pacha (literally across the road) the place had a great atmosphere if you were sitting by the pool. Otherwise it was a little quiet but it was before the start of the summer season.
We never saw a cloud in the sky in 12 days. Enjoyed 23-29*C every day for 12 and hoped to visit as many places as we could in our trip.
Staff in the hotel were amazingly helpful, polite and could not help you enough.
The mini-bus to and from the Medina TWICE every day is great too. We often walked in or out of the city and took the bus the other trip.
Breakfast was great, a very French affair and I would advise to have this included in your rate. We were happy to go room only though and trek to the millions of places that serve food of varying degrees all over the city. You MUST try Msamen/samen/crepe... a local speciality leavened bread like a sweet paratha which you can have honey/nutella/the usual suspects on. Add a coffee and it's still about 40 cents/less than a quid. Truly brilliant. Great authentic food. It was a shame the hotel didn't do this, but as you will have read from the usual suspects giving it bad reviews they're only happy with their Kellogs mini cereal boxes, toast and a full english each day. You'll meet loads of them in the restaurants around town having "authentic Moroccan" Pizza and chips whilst loving the "atmos" makes me wet myself still thinking of them.
Everybody we met stayed for a few days and sat by the pool mostly.
If you want cocktails etc then this is the place to go, but it's not much more expensive than anywhere else serving alcohol. You are in a Muslim country, and as such should respect their ways and cultural indifferences. Lots of locals come here to indulge in a little debauchery (mainly just having a drink) but they were all lovely too. Really chilled and looking to have a good time. In 12 days we met 1 not so nice local chap in the Medina who was miffed when we didn't want to attend his brother's shop. But that happens everywhere a LOT!
A polite "la-shukran" or "demain" gets you out of most scrapes.
Only one thing to be wary of, if you go to the tanneries it smells a bit and at the end you may get an over-inflated bag or pair of slippers. You've been warned :)
Grab a look around and check out the woodwork crafts in the souks and really haggle and get some good banter going. They love their football so if you do, mention it! Prices can drop massively! if you want 2, 3 4 or 5 of something they think they've hit the jackpot but you should pay for 5 what he wanted you to pay for 2. Or at least that was our experience.
The hotel's spa is downstairs and well worth a visit if you're only there for a few days. But it is the same sort of price you'd pay back at home for a massage, but it was good. We treated ourselves before we went home.

All in all, I read the (bad) reviews on here by people who clearly don't know what they're talking about. Everybody wants a 5* experience and at around €40 a night etc then you cannot expect to get the same level of everything as you do in town for €200.
I'd love to give most people who've rated this at 1 or 2 *s a slap and give them a reality check. They probably sat drinking their box wine by the pool for 3 days, never even stepped across the road to the brilliant little modern shopping mall for a coffee, and moaned and grumbled about every pissing thing. Most likely being top of the list that the sun was "too hot" or that they didn't like "people speaking French"...

Get a grip all you muppets out there dogging a place that offers;- sun, sand, pool, cocktails, service beyond anything I've seen in the UK (unless paying a 15% surcharge for it) and a warmth from people that I haven't seen in years.

Truly enchanting this little place.
I've tried to be honest in my appraisal of this stunning little place as I am in the service industry, although I work as a chef, I could appreciate the place as a whole and it was great.

A coupe of aspects is that things are sometimes expensive, but get off your backside and go and have a look across the road at the "al mazaar" shopping centre as it's got everything you may need. Including a huge supermarket offering great wee deals on almost anything.

We grew to love Marrakech, and cannot wait for our return. It was truly brilliant!
You will love it too, especially if you stay in the Palais Soltan Riad & Spa ;-)

Room Tip: We stayed 12 nights are were upgraded to a suite which was truly delightful. Even the standard room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

I’d like to thank you for taking the time to give us your comments regarding your stay at Palais Soltan on Tripadvisor. We are so happy to know how much you have appreciated the hotel service and stuff’s attention.

All your notes will be an added value to improve our services in order to satisfy all your expectations and Hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in our hotel

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    8
    10
    20
See reviews for
16
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is not a hotel or really a riad but a day / night club called BED. Arriving at 5 in the evening after a delayed journey I was rather mystified when we were picked up by a van with a club logo on it. We were greeted by lovely mint tea, helpful staff and some pumping tunes coming from the roof terrace. The music as advised by the receptionist was switched off between 6-7pm, to be switched on again at 8pm coming from the downstairs restaurant / club remaining on until at least 1am. Cocktails were expensive, menu was incredibly limited and there was not much local food although Moroccan wine is very good. If you're 20 something and visiting Morocco for the club life then this would be brilliant as down the road is Pacha - however, if you are 30 something and actually want to see 'Marrakech' then I would suggest giving this 2 star accomodation a miss and staying in the Medina itself as we did after night 1.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for Taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. Certainly we are disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Palais Soltan.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel staff and would like to say that our hotel has always been recognized 5 stars.
Related to the restoration, we respect your opinion and
be assured that the necessary measures have been implemented to improve the quality of services mentioned. Regarding drinks, the prices are the same as those of the hotels in the same category and we take great to the quality of service.
We wish to inform our guests that the pool - restaurant - lounge bar is a style for all ages (see professional photos on Tripadvisor)

Again, we thank you for your comments and hope to regain your confidence in a future stay.

In anticipation of your visit, please believe in expressing our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel isn't a 5 star but more like a 3 or 4, be aware there is a tax each night, $6. We arrive about ten and they got our room ready within 15 minutes and were very welcoming. The hotel's views aren't very nice, sort of in a shopping or hotel development area but once on the roof you get a beautiful view of the atlas mountains. The canopy beds and loungers around the pool are nice, and prices for food and drink alright, especially considering it's within the hotel: about .50 cents for soda, $4 a beer, $10 cocktails and $10 for sandwich/salads which were very good. There's free shuttles twice a day to the medina (about 15 min drive) at 930 and 3 so you can easily see everything and they pick you up at 12 noon or 8pm. If you don't make those shuttles, they'll bring you for $2.50 a person to where ever you need and pick you up for another $2.50. Get the hotel to pick you up and drop you off if you can, much cheaper than the rates the taxis try to charge, $15 flat rate this. The reception provided a great 'Top Ten' guide for us to use and helped recommend restaurants and sites to see. The excursions are reasonably priced in comparison to what outside vendors charge, we did the camel ride for $25/person for an hour, though they would have gone longer we just got too hot. The room was large, a little dated and no windows but still very nice. We had birds chirping loudly outside but they stopped at night, though would begin about 7am. Breakfast went until 11 so didn't have to wake up early for it and was good, basic croissants, fruit, deli meats, eggs and coffee and oj. The pool is basic but nice and again the lounging areas fine with towels, beach bags, and hats provided, ambient music playing and never was at a lost to find a spot to lay out. The drivers, receptionists, and waiters were all very nice and I would go back.

Room Tip: Room 39 had birds chirping loudly that could wake us up around 7 but not a problem in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

The whole team joins me in thanking you for your comment left on this site! We will do everything we can to make your next stay a renewed delight!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Let's start with the good bits.... We arrived at 10 in the morning , lovely greeting from the staff , biscuits and tea . Room ready in 30 mins , so far so good . Room very nice , traditional Moroccan , not 5 star , 3 star . Small pool on roof with lots of very tired trendy beach loungers and chairs , whole area very tatty , seen much better days . Pool and bar staff very nice , food very poor , only tried it once , bottle of decent Moroccan rose wine £17 , cold beer £4 . Music starts at 9.30 in morning , sort of Afropean Muzak , fairly inoffensive but they crank it up all day until it is very loud by 6 in eve . Breakfast on roof was simple but very nice , best fresh OJ I've ever had . Hotel is in middle of building site , not their fault but area seems to have run out of money ... Carrefour shopping arcade 5 min walk across wasteland , perfectly safe though , locals very pleasant . If
you visit this hotel expecting a 3 star hotel you will not be disappointed . It is a long way from 5 stars... You must go to the Club Cesar hotel next to Carrefour for Sunday Brunch , fantastic plentiful food for £23 , best we had all holiday . Next door is the beautiful Al Fassia hotel with equally excellent traditional food , be sure to book .

wasteland , perfectly safe though , locals all very pleasant . If you visit this hotel expecting a 3star you will not be disappointed , do not expect

Room Tip: If you bring the kids take them to the Virgin restaurant in Carrefour centre , loads of live footbal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for Taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. Certainly we are disappointed that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Palais Soltan.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel staff and the decor of your room and would like to say that our standing has always been recognized 5 stars.
Related to the restoration, we respect your opinion and be assured that the necessary measures have been implemented to improve the quality of services mentioned. Regarding drinks, the prices are the same as those of the hotels in the same category and we take great to the quality of service.
We wish to inform our guests that the pool - restaurant - lounge bar has been completely renovated, is a style for all ages (see professional photos on Tripadvisor)
Again, we thank you for your comments and hope to regain your confidence in a future stay.

In anticipation of your visit, please believe in expressing our best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Not quite a 5 star hotel as described. Our room was adequate and kept nice and clean, however the bathroom was a bit grubby and rough round the edges. Hotel receptionist was quite rude, her english was very limited, so I would suggest planning your trip in advance instead of asking her for some advise or suggestions of where to visit. The location of the hotel was not ideal, it is located on a main road around 10 minutes away from the Medina, the hotel coud provide a shuttle at 25 dirams per person per trip. There is not much near by with regards to restaurants and the hotel restaurant - Apostrophe! has a really limited menu .. and what ever you do dont ask for coffee! after 3 attempts we eventually got a decent coffee! (how can you mess up a coffee!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to send us your comments and are saddened to know that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Palais Soltan. In addition, we remind you that our hotel provides the guests two daily free shuttle at fixed times for transfer from the hotel to the city center and on reservation for the rest of the day as well as for the transfer to the airport.
Relative to the location of the Palais Soltan, we respect your opinion and want to bring to your attention that our hotel is part of the new tourist area of Agdal, located near the Al Mazar Mall with views overlooking the mountains Atlas and surrounded by hotels, renowned restaurants, golf course and movie theaters. Regarding cleanliness, we confirm that we require in this regard and we are always highly rated by our customers. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced the level of service and would offer you lunch and our coffee house during your next stay in compensation for the inconvenience.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here last week for 5 nights. We had a fantastic stay, despite our luggage being delayed for 3 days thanks to easy jet. Reception staff couldn’t of been more helpful, ringing the airport every day to chase our bags. The riad was beautiful and very clean. Our room was beautiful also with a huge four poster bed and lovely bathroom. The room top terrace was really lovely with plenty of areas for sunbathing. The music which was played wasn’t an issue at all. It wasn’t that loud, maybe a little repetitive at times however this didn’t affect our stay at all. There is a supermarket just behind the riad where you can pick up drinks if you don’t want to pay for those at the hotel. There is a free shuttle service which runs from the hotel to the medina twice a day, once in the morning and also in the afternoon. There is plenty of time to explore the old city before the bus picks you up again. If you choose to walk back to the hotel which we did on several occasions, it is aprox a 45 minute walk. If you want to go into the old city at any other time the hotel charge 25 dirham per person for a one way journey which is a couple of pounds. We paid to have a massage at the hotel which was excellent. There are loads to choose from and they are very reasonably priced. Overall we had a fantastic stay at this hotel being made welcome from the moment we stepped foot into the hotel. We would definitely return and recommend this riad to anyone thinking of staying in Marrakech :)))

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Palais Soltan. We work entirely for the satisfaction of our guests and this is a real reward that your stay was a success and we will consider your comments to improve the quality of our service.
All our team of the hotel Palais Soltan hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at the Palais Soltan for the first 2 nights of our holiday in Marrakech, and then moved into a Riad near the Medina for the remaining 2 nights which for us was great. I really loved it here as it was very authentic, with beautiful furniture. The room had a lot of character and a gorgeous four poster bed which I really liked. The bathroom was gorgeous and had a massive bath which was nice as the other Riad only had a shower. The downside is that in the room it was quite noisy as I think we were near the kitchen. The staff were friendly too. The rooftop pool area is very nice, and they play some quite cool house music, but the drinks are very expensive and not that nice.

Also, the surroundings of the Riad isn't particularly picturesque which wasn't very important to us, but there is a small shopping centre with a huge supermarket just behind the Riad.

The Riad was quite far out from the Medina but there is a free shuttle bus twice a day that takes you into the Medina and they collected us a few hours later. This was good to ease us into the chaos that is the Medina, as its quite a tiring experience.

The reason why I initially chose the Palais Soltan is because the nightclub Pacha is literally just next door, and as we wanted to check it out it was nice to have a very short walk home. Within the establishment where the nightclub is there are a couple of bars and a restaurant called Crystal which is where we went for a meal on the first night. I have to say that Crystal was such a lovely surprise! It is honestly the best restaurant I've ever been to; the food was great, the service was impeccable, there were live singers with disney-like voices, the interior and exterior was just stunning! For myself and my partner it was the best part of our holiday and we probably wouldn't have gone there if we weren't staying at the Palais Soltan.

Overall, for the price I thought it was quite a nice little Riad, and would suit someone who likes a really authentic feel.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room that's not on the ground floor, as I think it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
The whole team joins me in thanking you for your comment left on our site!
We are delighted that you could appreciate the context of our hotel Palais Soltan and especially our rooms and the pool restaurant lounge on the roof top terrace.
I would like to apolgise on behalf of the hotel and its team about the noise and we inform you that we will do the necessary to correct the problem of sound insulation of the room concerned.
We will do everything we can to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Thank you again for this assessment and feedback and hope to see you soon at the Palais Soltan.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palais Soltan Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Soltan Riad & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed VI, Zone | Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#145 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Soltan Riad & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Palais Soltan Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Soltan Riad Hotel Marrakech
Palais Soltan Riad And Spa
Palais Soltan Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.