We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!! Would recommend to anyone!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Soltan Riad & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palais Soltan Riad & Spa to your Saves list
Palais Soltan Riad & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Mohamed VI, Zone | Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #371 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay!! Would recommend to anyone!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed here last week for 5 nights. We had a fantastic stay, despite our luggage being delayed for 3 days thanks to easy jet. Reception staff couldn’t of been more helpful, ringing the airport every day to chase our bags. The riad was beautiful and very clean. Our room was beautiful also with a huge four poster bed and lovely bathroom. The room top terrace was really lovely with plenty of areas for sunbathing. The music which was played wasn’t an issue at all. It wasn’t that loud, maybe a little repetitive at times however this didn’t affect our stay at all. There is a supermarket just behind the riad where you can pick up drinks if you don’t want to pay for those at the hotel. There is a free shuttle service which runs from the hotel to the medina twice a day, once in the morning and also in the afternoon. There is plenty of time to explore the old city before the bus picks you up again. If you choose to walk back to the hotel which we did on several occasions, it is aprox a 45 minute walk. If you want to go into the old city at any other time the hotel charge 25 dirham per person for a one way journey which is a couple of pounds. We paid to have a massage at the hotel which was excellent. There are loads to choose from and they are very reasonably priced. Overall we had a fantastic stay at this hotel being made welcome from the moment we stepped foot into the hotel. We would definitely return and recommend this riad to anyone thinking of staying in Marrakech :)))

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Palais Soltan. We work entirely for the satisfaction of our guests and this is a real reward that your stay was a success and we will consider your comments to improve the quality of our service.
All our team of the hotel Palais Soltan hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    8
    10
    20
See reviews for
16
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at the Palais Soltan for the first 2 nights of our holiday in Marrakech, and then moved into a Riad near the Medina for the remaining 2 nights which for us was great. I really loved it here as it was very authentic, with beautiful furniture. The room had a lot of character and a gorgeous four poster bed which I really liked. The bathroom was gorgeous and had a massive bath which was nice as the other Riad only had a shower. The downside is that in the room it was quite noisy as I think we were near the kitchen. The staff were friendly too. The rooftop pool area is very nice, and they play some quite cool house music, but the drinks are very expensive and not that nice.

Also, the surroundings of the Riad isn't particularly picturesque which wasn't very important to us, but there is a small shopping centre with a huge supermarket just behind the Riad.

The Riad was quite far out from the Medina but there is a free shuttle bus twice a day that takes you into the Medina and they collected us a few hours later. This was good to ease us into the chaos that is the Medina, as its quite a tiring experience.

The reason why I initially chose the Palais Soltan is because the nightclub Pacha is literally just next door, and as we wanted to check it out it was nice to have a very short walk home. Within the establishment where the nightclub is there are a couple of bars and a restaurant called Crystal which is where we went for a meal on the first night. I have to say that Crystal was such a lovely surprise! It is honestly the best restaurant I've ever been to; the food was great, the service was impeccable, there were live singers with disney-like voices, the interior and exterior was just stunning! For myself and my partner it was the best part of our holiday and we probably wouldn't have gone there if we weren't staying at the Palais Soltan.

Overall, for the price I thought it was quite a nice little Riad, and would suit someone who likes a really authentic feel.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for a room that's not on the ground floor, as I think it would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel.
The whole team joins me in thanking you for your comment left on our site!
We are delighted that you could appreciate the context of our hotel Palais Soltan and especially our rooms and the pool restaurant lounge on the roof top terrace.
I would like to apolgise on behalf of the hotel and its team about the noise and we inform you that we will do the necessary to correct the problem of sound insulation of the room concerned.
We will do everything we can to make your next stay more enjoyable.
Thank you again for this assessment and feedback and hope to see you soon at the Palais Soltan.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

Our holiday was ruined when we arrived at this hotel only to find that they were having the pool refurbished. It was a construction site! They put us in a room that was clearly chosen because it was easier for them to get too/service. The most was ridiculous starting early in the morning and not finishing until 10pm. They had NO drinks in stock, the service was slow and useless. I was devastated, I love morocco but this hotel was a shambles. Please, don't stay here :'-(

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Madam,
We respect your opinion and are saddened to know that you have not spent a delightful stay. We want to bring to your attention that our hotel is appreciated by the majority of our guests, and his classification by the tourist authorities is 5 stars, the equipment of our rooms meet the standards of 5 stars and we are known by our bedding, bathrooms and our decoration combining modernity and tradition. Regarding the food and beverage, our 3 restaurants and lounge bar offers menus with a wide selection, the minibars in the rooms are filled on customers' request. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced despite a team responsible for ensuring the ongoing success of your stay. We remain at your disposal.
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, R?on de Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

There is a club right next to the hotel which is really noisy at night; the sonorisation is so bad that you often cannot fall asleep.Another major drawback: the hotel is quite far from the city center ,so you have to pay around 10 euro by taxi (no alternative means of transport)for a ride to the city center (medina) and back. Breakfast is poor ,too. The staff, however, is pretty nice but this doesn't make it much better :) Otherwise, you'll have a great time in Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palais s, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the Palais Soltan staff and thank you to send us your room number by email so we can correct the problem of sound insulation.
for breakfast, we want to reassure our guests stating that the breakfast buffet offers daily fresh pastries, croissants, Muffin Chocolate, bun grapes, home tarts , fruit salad, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, tomato and mozzarella, fried potatoes, a variety of sausages, pancakes, variety of cheeses, cereals, fruit,butter, jam, honey, tea, coffee, milk, juice over a wide range of Moroccan pastries.
We also have a free shuttle twice a day at fixed times or on reservation for the rest of the day for a price of 25.00 EUR per person and transfer.
Once again please do accept our apologies and hope to regain your confidence in a future stay.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Marakech is a paradise in earth i really like ittt.
it was a good experience, first i was hesitating to book in Palais soltan riad and spa bbut once there i really enjoyed the service and the staff were very kind and helpful.
it was just amazing, and i will book in the same hotel next time.
the rooms are big enough for 2-3persons, i really like the smell and it was really clean.
Breakfast was fresh and very delicious.
swimingpool was clean.
no disturb, no loud voice so we slept like babies.
the price is really a good deal.

Thank you to let us enjoy our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding Palais Soltan Riad & Spa. We are so happy to know how much you have appreciated the hotel service and stuff’s attention and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and rooftop pool terrace with restaurant and lounge bar. Hoping to have the opportunity to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We had a brilliant time at this hotel, the staff are really friendly & couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is lovely inside with traditional pieces everywhere and the room we stayed in was perfect with a gorgeous four poster bed & a huge bath. The roof top bar is brilliant & a perfect place to chill out after the madness of the Medina! We loved the music they played....a experience which will never be forgotton by the four of us. Fantastic

Room Tip: The suites are lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear guests,

The whole team joins me in thanking you for your comment left on this site! We will do everything we can to make your next stay a renewed delight!

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent the penultimate week of August 2011 the Palais Soltan in Marrakech. We’d like to thank all the staff there (especially young Mohammed) for their warm hospitality and unending helpfulness during the course of our stay. It was a holiday we will never forget, largely down to this perfect hotel.

THE PALAIS

Without wanting to sound too much like an estate agent, the building is set out in a beautiful Riad style with elaborate décor throughout. So clean (there wasn’t a day where we didn’t see the floors being washed and up-keep in general going on). The courtyard dining area is really something else – and every other part of the hotel is different. In short – it had a balance of character and cleanliness that far surpassed anywhere we’d stayed before.

Our room was beautiful – a huge 4-poster bed, a large bathroom and everything else we’d ever look for … most importantly, given the 45 degree heat – the air conditioning was perfect – there’s nothing like walking into a cool, stone-floored room after a day of baking. Fridge, TV (which we didn’t use – why would we?!), plenty of cupboard space etc and a safe (again – we didn’t use, simply because we felt like all our possessions would be perfectly safe and looked after).

THE PISCINE

Absolutely gorgeous – the atmosphere and layout of the Piscine was something we looked forward to every day; in the morning, calm and relaxing – just the sound of the birds and splashes in the pool (which again – was impeccably clean); and in the afternoon – late evening, music – a mixture of dance and French/Arabic music – really atmospheric, even if for one of us, it wasn’t the sort of music we particularly like.

At night, the DJ would arrive – what a talented bloke – really knew what he was doing and what was a relaxing pool by day, turned into a roof-top, pool-side club. Yes, the bar is pricey, but so it should be … in a country where alcohol is seldom drunk, it is only right that they charge foreigners European rates; it’s their prerogative and we can’t complain.

We’ve seen a few complaints about the music on this site. Do get over it. It serves to add to the atmosphere, and at night people not staying at the hotel would pay to get in to a place we could roam at our leisure. We even met another British couple on one of the trips, who were staying at a Riad in the Medina, without a pool, who the next day walked a mile and a half just to spend a day at our hotel’s pool!

THE LOCATION

About 10 minutes drive from the Medina – that’s no more than 40 Dirham (around £3) by yellow taxi and free, twice a day using the Palais Soltan’s shuttle bus. Marrakech is a beautiful, vibrant city – just an amazing experience; however it was nice to be able to relax and be a little distance away from the hustle and bustle; that being said, there is everything you need … a gorgeous restaurant to the left of the Palais as you leave (Chrystal), Pacha nightclub (we didn’t bother) and the Almazar shopping complex 3 or 4 minutes walk away, where you can stock up on any provisions (prices are fantastic).

Again – for those complaining about the distance – first off, it makes little or no difference to your stay and secondly, why book it? Look at the map – it is exactly where it says it is.

THE FOOD

Try the Tagines – especially the lamb – they are fantastic. Breakfast is what we’d describe as Moroccan-continental; if you’re looking for a Full English – what are you doing in Morocco. There’s plenty of choice, coffee, mint tea and freshly squeezed fruit juice on tap and it is served over several hours. Perfectly lovely.

OUTINGS

We booked two day trips during our visit, one to the Ourika Valley in the high Atlas Mountains, and one to the beautiful town of Ouarzazate, the gateway to the desert. On reflection, we are so glad that we booked these trips via the hotel, as in comparison to other packages, they were much, MUCH cheaper – no more than 40 Euros per person for what were very long, exciting trips out, and ones that we’ll never forget.

Special mention to the guides who took us and stayed out with us all day; we actually visited during Ramadan, and were humbled by their dedication to their fast, despite the long drive, long walks and tough climbs, not to mention the blistering heat. Truly incredible.

FLEXIBILITY AT DEPARTURE

On our last day, our flight didn’t leave until the evening. The hotel staff were happy for us to keep our room until 6pm (check-out time is usually 12) and so we had another full day in the sun … common sense from their perspective and just so accommodating – thank you so much.


Once again – we’d like to thank ALL the staff at the Palais Soltan for their warmth, their helpfulness, kindness and for making our stay in Marrakech so perfect. We were honoured to be guests in your beautiful country and even more so to be welcomed as we were into your home. Insha’Allah, we will return very soon. Needless to stay, we will hope to stay in the same place.

Room Tip: Ground floor - lovely and quiet ... don't worry about lack of windows, that's sort of the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibtissam k, Responsable commercial at Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Google Translation
Madame, Monsieur,

Merci d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire ce commentaire si sympathique, il a fait le tour de l'hôtel et nous en sommes tous particulièrement fier.

Au plaisir de vous accueillir
L'équipe Palais Soltan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palais Soltan Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palais Soltan Riad & Spa

Address: Boulevard Mohamed VI, Zone | Touristique Agdal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palais Soltan Riad & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Palais Soltan Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palais Soltan Riad Hotel Marrakech
Palais Soltan Riad And Spa
Palais Soltan Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Soltan Riad & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.