We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Bamaga to your Saves list
Riad Bamaga
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 1,064 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during Ramadan and it was just like being at home. The riad is beautifully presented and the staff, especially Simohamed our evening companion, were fantastic! Aziz was very welcoming and helped us with orientating ourselves around the medina and sorting out parking for our car. We enjoyed watching football with the boys on our second night, streamed on my laptop. We learnt a lot about football that night! There are only 5 rooms and the riad was empty most of the time we were there so we were very spoilt. The breakfast and dinner were more than we expected. Michael T was right - the tagine is the best we have had while we have been travelling Morocco. Make sure you have at least one meal at "home". Well worth the stay and will highly recommend this wonderful riad to anyone and everyone. Why do people bother staying in big hotels when they can experience true Moroccan hospitality?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    24
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
164
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in Marrakesh for 4 nights, and were really pleased we chose Riad Bamaga. The staff were all very helpful, and gave us useful advice and recommendations and hand-drawn maps which made it a lot easier to get around. The Riad is in a great location - about 15 minutes walk from the square through lots of interesting streets and souks. We were in a ground floor room which I was worried would be noisy, but it was really peaceful and quiet, and decorated in a lovely style. There is a great roof terrace with plenty of shade which we used to get out of the heat. Breakfast is served up there and we had a meal in the Riad one night which was lovely. We went on a day trip to the Atlas Mountains with a company recommended by the Riad which was quite expensive but really worth doing. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable - if we visit Marrakesh again, we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

after my first time staying there in November there was no question of returning to this nice and cozy Riad again. Now "belonging to the family" was a nice gesture. The staff this time with the very kind and helpful Abdelaziz and of course Simon, who offered us every service we liked to. We were helped with advanced purchasing of our bus tickets to Essaouira (7€) and a rental car (40€/day) which was handed over to us easily at the little parking at the entrance of the street. Not to mention the hints from Colette (the owner) for not getting lost in Marrakech jungle and find good restaurants. Returning from the city means coming home here, perfect ambience (I remember Jean-Jacques listening to classical music once we came back, a real and fantastic sound experience inside these walls).
The Riad is 15-20min walking distance from the Djemaa El-Fna square, but the walk through the Souks is one of the most colourful, tasty, verbal and visual experiences one can make. In German words: der Weg ist das Ziel, every meter is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Getting lost in old Marrakech is a rite of passage for visitors to the city. No, you can't look like you know where you going; yes, someone *will* offer to help you—for a reasonable fee, and without guarantee you'll get where you were going so much as where they want you go. But that's part of the Marrakech experience. Get lost in the souks, find your way to the Jemaa el Fna, and sample some great food, or just soak in the scene. It's chaotic, but then you confidently wind your way back through the covered streets of the souks to Rue Riad La Rousse, and find the small alley that leads to a heavy wooden door. Three knocks and you're breathing easy in a charming, hospitable home away from home.

First impressions first: Riad Bamaga is a stunningly pretty space, from the babbling fountain in the center courtyard, to the thoughtfully decorated and comfortable rooms. It's the easiest thing to set your bags down, head upstairs to the rooftop terrace, and gratefully accept your first of many cups of mint tea from Aziz or Simo. Not only does the staff welcome you to the riad, they also make sure you know how to get to the must-see sites in the city. We stayed there for only two nights on either end of a desert tour with Morocco Excursions (also reviewed), and Aziz made sure we were taken care of from start to finish. We even had to change our arrival and departure date for the second day, and it was completely painless. We couldn't be happier with the service, or the kind hospitality with which it was rendered.

Oh, and the food. On the evening of our second stay—our last in Morocco—we chose to have dinner at the Riad, following the advice of many of the reviews here. GOOD ADVICE. Touring Morocco is a constant parade of tagines, but the one we got at Riad Bamaga was a standout meal. After dinner, Simo joined us and another group of guests for some dice and good conversation.

So a great big "choukrane" and "merci beaucoup" to Riad Bamaga. When we return to Marrakech, there's no question where we'll stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

My mum and I have just visited Marrakech for the first time and loved our stay at Riad Bamaga! The riad was decorated in a lovely way and offered real sanctuary from the bustling streets. We had evening meals a couple of nights there and the food was wonderful. Thank you to Colette, Simo and all of the other staff who helped to make our stay so fantastic with their superb service! We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My friend and I visited Marrakech from the 15th- 18th of March and stayed in riad bamaga.

Colette, the owner, was very helpful and gave us all sorts of tips on how to get the most out of our short stay. She arranged a camel ride for us and also went to the bus station to pick up our bus tickets in advance for our onward travel as she said it would be going out of our way and would take away from the precious time we had to explore the city, which we were extremely grateful for.

The riad itself is gorgeous. Very clean and tastefully decorated with an amazing roof terrace!! It was extremely peaceful with its water fountain and chirping birds. It's hard to imagine that this riad is less than 5 minutes walk from the noise, smells, and just general craziness of Marrakech city life.

Simon, a polite and friendly member of Colette's staff, arranged a lovely continental breakfast for us each morning on the roof terrace with delicious freshly squeezed orange juice. The only thing that annoyed us was that there was a big crowd of Germans there at the same time as us, who effectively monopolised the comfy sofas under the marquee on the terrace every morning so unfortunately we never had use of it, which would have been nice.

Also, we had used google maps to locate the Riad before we booked it but the location on google maps is WRONG. We were very confused when we got the riad (at night) and wanted to explore only to find that we were in a completely different location. The riad when searched on google maps is south of the main square, Place Jemaa El Fna. However, in actuality, it is north of the square and not as close as we thought. If you look up the Riad's official website, you'll discover the correct location.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this Riad. It's very reasonably priced and the staff are lovely and very approachable. Colette is also happy to go above and beyond to ensure her guests get the most out of such a fascinating city.

We have both said we would love to return to Marrakech one day, just maybe next time with a larger group, or with a male friend or boyfriend. Being young, fair haired and fair skinned women in our 20s traveling alone, we did experience a bit of hassle from the locals and the walk through the alleys back to the riad at night always felt a bit dodgy.

It really is a fabulous, colourful and vibrant city inhabited by friendly people (for the most part anyway)... It's a real assault on all the senses!! It's ideal for those seeking a bit of culture and those who want to experience a different holiday than your run-of-the-mill, all inclusive beach breaks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My friend and I visited Marrakech for the first time and stayed at Riad Bamaga because of the good reviews it had on trip advisor-we were not disappointed!!
Collette and her team worked hard to ensure we got the most out of our stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bamaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga

Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,064 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riad Bamaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bamaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.