We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad in a very good location and excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamaga

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bamaga to your Saves list
Riad Bamaga
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 1,115 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad in a very good location and excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Colette the owner is without doubt the best host I have ever had the opportunity to meet. Always helpful and always welcoming. I just wish everywhere I stayed had a 'Colette'! Simon also needs a mention as he was always extremely polite and helpful. Even made us a nice mint tea before we left. The Riad itself is beautiful, clean and comfortable. Good location although I imagine would be hard to find if you're an adventuring type and want to arrive by bus etc. If I ever return to Marrakech I will without doubt return to Riad Bamaga.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    28
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
178
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

It was my first trip to Marrakech (or Morocco for that matter) and Colette and team made it very easy and comfortable for me. She welcomed us at the carpark where the airport pickup dropped us and showed us the way to the wonderful riad nearby. The riad itself was clean and a peaceful, and beautiful sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of city. Colette gave great pointers on how to get around the city and what to see. Fantastic. She also helped us to arrange day trips to Essaouira and the Berber villages. I couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommended Riad.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in Riad Bamaga in December 2013 and our week there was an unmitigated pleasure. Situated in the Medina, the riad is walking distance from the main square of Jemaa el Fna, the Ben Yousseff Mosque and Medersa, El Badi Palace and Agdal Gardens, as well as the Majorelle Gardens. The five bedroom riad is in a traditional Marrach house, built around a small courtyard. It is stylishly decorated and furnished with beautiful Moroccan antiques. It is spotlessly clean and comfortable. The welcoming owners and managers, Colette and Jean-Jacques, and their staff provided us with everything we could possibly want, including car and driver to meet us at the airport and their help and guidance in helping us plan our sightseeing was much appreciated. A special joy was breakfasting on the roof-top garden, looking towards the Koutoubia Mosque silhouetted against the Atlas Mountains. This is also a perfect spot to relax in the afternoon under the awning before setting out for the night's entertainment in Jemaa el Fna. A tip:: dinner cooked by Chef Simon is much the best food in Marrakech.:

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The property is beautiful with a lovely roof-top terrace. It was peaceful, close to the souks & Jemaa El Fna and provided real value for money. I would recommend it to anyone looking to go to Marrakech. It caters perfectly for more upmarket clients as well as those on a budget - as the standard and cleanliness is very high. The staff are extremely attentive and friendly and the owner Collette is very helpful when it comes to providing clear maps and local advice as regards places to visit or what to expect (for first time visitors).

Collette was also very helpful in recommending the airport transfer (€15 one way) - although this is probably more expensive than getting a normal taxi, it made you feel safe in a new place to be taken directly to the door of the Riad, which you would not find otherwise, had you taken a normal taxi, which would have dropped you off about 300m away (with lots of side roads to follow).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Most fantastic riad, an oasis of beauty and calm in the heart of Marrakech Medina.
The riad itself is perfectly located in a quiet and peaceful street in the heart of the Medina, minutes from the souks and Djeema El Fna square. The riad is beautifully decorated in an authentic traditional Moroccan way with tons of tasteful touches. The hosts and staff are the loveliest people, always there to help and arrange transfers, give useful advice on what to do and where to go (and how to get there - which can be a challenge in the Medina) and most importantly drew very informative maps! Thank you Jean-Jacques for the "steps" maps!

We were a group of 6 adults coming from 2 continents, some younger than others, with 3 vegetarians and 3 serious food allergies. Arranging this trip was a feat in itself, but I must say, I got a lot of help from Colette, the owner of Riad Bamaga. She was extremely helpful with all our queries and provided a great deal of information about Marrakech. We felt we were good old friends even before arriving in Marocco.
We were there for 7 nights and had 3 gorgeous rooms, BAB EL KHEMIS, BAB JDID and BAB AGUEDAL. The rooms were incredible, they were cool and airy (they have air conditioners), the beds were super comfortable and everything was stylishly decorated. The breakfasts and dinners were delicious; the food was far superior to the food in local restaurants! The food was served on the roof terrace which is absolutely gorgeous with plenty of seating choices and is a lovely place to sit in the morning and evening. Riad Bamaga is excellent value for the money for such a luxurious place with amazing facilities and greatest hosts. What more could you ask for?!
Colette, Jean-Jacques, Simon and the entire team please accept a huge THANK YOU from all of us, for your friendship and for your help in making our Morocco adventure a most memorable and wonderful vacation. We miss you and hope to see you in not too distant future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large, air conditioned with large en-suite bathrooms and gorgeously decorated Moro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A fantastic place to stay, relax and be looked after. From the moment of booking and the offer of airport transfer and meal on arrival to the mint tea and personal 'Au Revoir' at the end of our 7 day stay - it was wonderful! You will be welcomed and well looked after by Colette and her warm and friendly staff. Great advice about Marrakech and activities beyond the city. Colette gets the balance just right between advice and letting you explore. A really peaceful Riad to escape the Medina bustle when you need to - relax in your room, on the terrace or in the courtyard. Gorgeous breakfast. Thanks so much for a super holiday - we hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first visit to Marrakech and we were delighted with our choice. Before we had arrived Colette was most helpful and promptly answered any queries. We were so pleased to have a taxi arranged to collect us at the airport. Raid Bamaga is in a great location, close to the souks but if you want to go further , there are taxis a couple of minutes away. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, the food was all delicious, we loved our dinners on the roof! This being our first trip to Marrakech we were so grateful to Colette for her advice on where to go and her maps which ensured we never got lost! This is a really lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bamaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga

Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bamaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bamaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.