We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality went above and beyond. Amazing people. Phenomenal riad.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bamaga to your Saves list
Riad Bamaga
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hospitality went above and beyond. Amazing people. Phenomenal riad.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Booked this road after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed. Colette was phenomenal. Even before we arrived she answered numerous emails about everything from location of rooms to organising a transfer from the airport to organising day tours and trips with local tour operators.

Colette's warmth and enthusiasm made our trip. From meeting us at the parking and helping us with our bags to providing us with a detailed hand drawn map to navigate the souks, she catered to our every need.

The rooms were beautifully furnished with local handicrafts and was spacious enough to spread out in. The only small niggle was a musty smell coming from the drains of the bathroom. The staff at the riad were quick to address this and all was well for the remainder of our trip.

Riad Bamaga is conveniently located at one of the entrances to the souks. Took a very enjoyable 15 mins of meandering to reach the central square.

We enjoyed very tasty filling breakfasts every morning. Would like to make a special mention of the home cooked dinners the riad provides. Although not cheap, they gave us a true taste of authentic Moroccan cuisine. Ate there twice and both times came away completely happy with the quality.

Would also recommend using Colette's affiliated tour operatives. They were very professional, extremely friendly and much cheaper than the ones I found on any of the websites.

All in all, a fantastic Riad, with an extraordinarily hospitable owners. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    27
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
52
171
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Colette and Jean were first class hosts, and made us feel very much at home. They gave us a very helpful introduction to the city, with tips, maps that were better than any guide book. Breakfast was great and the rooms were so comfortable - not to mention the first class shower! The riad is just 15 minutes away from the main square passing through the souq. They also cater for coeliacs. Brilliant place, cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: We had a groundfloor room and at first we were a bit apprehensive, but it turned out to be fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We loved this wonderful riad! Stayed there for three days in November 2011. Collette was so helpful (we had problems with our rented car and she helped a lot negotiating with Avis because we didn't speak French and they didn't speak English!)! The room was beautifully decorated and very cosy! The location of riad is very good - in the center of medina. I think it was the best hotel during our trip in morocco. I would recommend this riad to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Colette and Jean-Jacques made us feel right at home from the moment we arrived. We definitely recommend organizing the airport transfer with Colette (€15 ea way), well worth it. We stayed in the Bab Doukkala room (second floor) which was very nice. The rooms are very spacious. They provided a lock for us so we could lock our door. They held our luggage for us for 3 days while we were in the desert. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Don't expect high-speed wireless internet, but this is normal. They do have a computer you can use but it's slow.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We chose Riad Bamaga after reading the previous reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived until we left we had fantastic hospitality. Colette was extremely helpful in
recommendations and making booking for us. It was a real haven to come back to after the chaos of the Medina. We had a room on the ground floor which was very clean and spacious, it was also extremely peaceful. We would highly recommend the Riad to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipton under Wychwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

From the moment we were met at the airport by a taxi organised by the Riad we felt that our stay would be a good one. To our surprise and delight we were met by our hosts where the taxi had to stop. This was in part an expression of their hospitality and in part a necessity because the Riad is hidden away in a maze of little streets accessible only on foot. Colette & Jean-Jaques proved to be generous hosts. They do all they can to give their guests a memorable welcome, like a refreshing cup of mint tea on arrival, sipped while Colette explains what there is to see and how to get there. The atmosphere in the Riad is one of calm and relaxation. Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the roof tops is always something to look forward to, served by the ever smiling Josif for whom nothing is too much trouble. Our room was big and comfortable, nicely furnished and always clean and well looked after. Like many Riads it had no outer windows, but it opens to a beautiful open inner courtyard (covered for the winter whilst we were there) that gives seclusion no hotel can equal. We really looked forward to our stay, and the Riad Bamaga exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in the wonderful riad bamaga. On our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff, peppermint tea and the lovely owner Collette. As a family who have lived in Marrakech for years, Collette sat with us and passed on some invaluable advice and a very easy to follow map into the heart of the medina which at first can seem intimidating for a first timer but we were put at our ease and felt well informed . We thoroughly enjoyed the riad , service and ambiance and couldn't recommend this riad highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bamaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga

Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Riad Bamaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bamaga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.