We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Service, takes all the stress out of a holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bamaga Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Bamaga Hotel to your Saves list
Riad Bamaga Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #123 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top Service, takes all the stress out of a holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent 2 nights here as a couple. As a first time visitor to Marrakech, I felt the hospitality and comfort of this Riad played a major part in making this a perfect holiday.

The main thing that sets them apart from most places I have stayed, is the personal service you receive from Colette. She is very welcoming, fluent in English and French, and goes the extra mile to make sure you make the most of your holiday. She was quick to respond to emails, very helpful with questions. She arranged a taxi from the airport to a point as close to the riad as possible (The taxi driver Hassan, was very friendly, and was very keen to point out our surroundings, and introduce to Marrakech as he drove us) She then met us at the pick up point and led us through the confusing streets to the Riad.

When we arrived at the Riad, she gave us a brief tour, anticipated that we would want to visit the Square that night, and so gave us a very clear hand drawn map, detailed instructions and essential advice on how to conduct yourself in Marrakech, to make the most of it. She explained that the next morning she would be available to give more advice and suggestions on how to make the most of our short stay the next morning. We then had a meal on the beautiful terrace served by the very helpful, friendly and hardworking Youssef.

The next morning, Colette did indeed have a great number of suggestions to make, and the maps to go along with it! She managed to create a very efficient rough plan for all the activities that we wanted to do given the opening times and the best times to visit certain attractions (including her own and our own suggestions) She also booked restaurants, taxis and excursions at a very reasonable rate for us. This basically took all the stress out of planning for us, and we were able to just enjoy the holiday!

The room we stayed in was beautiful, romantic and clean! It was fully equipped with hairdryer, safe, dressing gowns, slippers and soap. The terrace and atrium were stunning, and perfect places to come back to when we were weary with walking! Breakfast each morning was delicious (I miss it!) pancakes, grapes, tea, orange juice, a range of jams , croissants, bread and cake. It is also upstairs on the terrace, which made the most impressive backdrop and wake up to the day!

The streets that we walked through to get to the main square were safe, and very often we would bump into the same very charming and playful kids, who also recognised us!It took us only 10-15mins, and the walk is truely "a feast for the eyes!" so before you know it, you are there.

Our highlights were the square at night, the photography museum, Foundouk restaurant and the jardin majorelle. Murano's swimming pool is a nice cool down, but definitely not an essential part of the holiday.

In summary, Colete and her team go to great efforts to ensure that you have a great time. The Riad is beautiful comfortable, and tries to stay true to Morrocan culture. We hope to come back to Marrakech many times, and will definitely look to Colette's Riad as our first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at this exceptional Riad for four nights with two other couples. The hospitality shown by Colette , Jean-Jaques and their team ensured that we were able to enjoy the hectic life in the Medina with the knowledge that we could return to the tranquillity of the Riad, the roof terrace and the personal service always provided.
The rooms were excellent, very comfortable and clean with a close attention to traditional Moroccan décor throughout. The help and advice provided by Colette was invaluable especially when finding your way around the Souks without the help of a willing volunteer who would always look for financial reward when reaching your destination. These young impromptu guides should be avoided or ignored.
We were collected from the airport by taxi, arranged by Colette (do not try and make your own way, without help you will be lost in the labyrinth) and although we arrived at the hotel late in the evening, we were met by Youssef and a relaxing meal on the terrace. This set a trend for our stay, the day would start with breakfast on the terrace and then finish with late drinks on the terrace. Nothing was too much trouble for Youssef, nadia or aïcha.
Colette was always available to give advice as to how to obtain the best from your stay. Especially when eating in the Jamaa el Fna square (areas 1 or 32 ! ), she is always willing to suggest and book restaurants ( try the Ksar ) and organise the local Easy Spa (not to be missed !)
I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone planning to visit Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Venables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed for four nights with 2 other couples, practcally had the place to ourselves, the weekend went well from start to finish, mostly thanks to the Riad and its wonderful staff.

Colette organised transfers to and from the airport, if this had not happened we would still be looking for the Riad to this day!
We arrived at the Riad at somewhere around midnight, Youseff met us and quickly showed us to our rooms to allow us to quickly get to the roof terrace for an early insight into the lovely Morrocan cooking (and a couple of Morocan beers). Too much food, ut nothing was a problem to Youseff even though we didn't hit the sack until 02-30 ish.

Colette provided us with valuable information on where to go, what to see, how to find our way around and most importantly how to find our way back to the Riad! the rooms were comfortable, the terrace was relaxing, the showers were hot.

nothing negative to report upon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this wonderful Riad. Colette and her staff were just fantastic. To return to the Riad and be greeted every time as if you were an old friend is so lovely. She was so helpful nothing was too much trouble. She had drawn a wonderful map so we didn't get lost returning to the Riad and finding our way around Marrakech. It made such a huge difference to our stay. Her recommendations for lunches and evening dinners were just perfect we had the most beautiful meals. Breakfast was excellent, orange juice, youghurt, Moroccan pancake, boiled eggs, breads,cake and plenty of coffee.
Our room was so great, very large, comfortable bed, lots of storage space, huge bathroom with terrific shower, free safe and wifi. The communal areas were all so comfortable and welcoming. It has a lovely roof terrace with very comfortable seating and a great view of the town.
I cannot praise this place enough, the attention to every detail was most impressive.
I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winelover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Riad and Marrakech lived up to everything we expected and more.

The amazingly friendly and welcoming staff and Colette really made this stay special and saved many hours of wandering aimlessly round the Souks with the fantastic map provided on arrival.

We usually like to get our bearings when we arrive somewhere new by finding our way to our accommodation on our own steam, I think it comes from the old backpacking days! Whatever you do though don’t on this occasion, make sure you splash out the e15 for an airport transfer. We’d still have been looking now if we hadn’t. The transfer took us to the nearest car park and Colette met us there, led us the short distance to the hotel and topped us up with Mint tea. Despite the fact that we were early the staff kindly had our room ready on no time and we were able to check in.

We ate there on the first night. The meal was beautiful as is the roof terrace where we ate. Fabulous to be up there for the sunset and truly atmospheric with the call to prayer sounding from the nearby mosque. All served by the lovely Yusef who took good care of us.

We actually stayed in 2 rooms, we had a ground floor room for 2 days on arrival and then went trekking in the Atlas. On return we had a room on the first floor. Both were fantastic, spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated, the ground floor one was ample in size (I would have been quite happy to stay in that throughout), but the first floor room was even better; larger still with a double bed, table and chairs and large bathroom.

We took some of Colette's recommendations for the Spa, cookery school and restaurants and all were fantastic. She also made us bookings for each.

Our only regret - that our French wasn’t better so that we could say more to Jean Jacques than ‘Bonjour, Ca va?’

Breakfast was lovely. traditional Moroccan patties, homemade courgette and carrot jam and croissants and coffee. If you do one thing eat at Ksar Es Saoussan, if you can’t find it persevere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayh_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Being very unsure as what to expect in Marrakesh, this Riad is an absolute gem. The owners and staff could not do enough for you, arranging transfer, meal on arrival and any trips to surrounding areas or highlights. Riad had everything and more, fantastic breakfast and although we only had one meal on the evening we arrived it was superb. Would highly recommend anyone to go and sample the hospitality. Excellent hand drawn map saved hours of negotiating the Souks.

Room Tip: all rooms of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

This is a lovely little riad with friendly, helpful staff.

The roof terrace is very peaceful and it was a delight to eat breakfast up there every morning.

We stayed in the cheapest room but it was still a decent size and very clean and comfortable.

The owners recommended places for us to visit and even provided a hand-drawn map detailing how to get to the main attractions from the riad, which proved to be more useful than the standard tourist maps. Collette’s English was excellent, making our stay there that much easier.

I would definitely recommend that you arrange for an airport transfer via Collette as the medina can be difficult to navigate if you have not been to Marrakech before. When we arrived at the riad on our first night we were served an authentic (and massive!) Morrocan meal, which was delicious.

We stayed in Marrakech for 4 days and nights, which was the ideal amount of time as we managed to see everything we wanted to, but any longer and the heat would have been too much for us to bear (being from England we’re not used to such temperatures!).

I must admit that by the forth morning I would have appreciated something different on offer for breakfast - perhaps a selection of cereals. This would be my only criticism of the riad.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#46 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#15 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#25 of 1,149 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bamaga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bamaga Hotel

Address: 86, derb Sidi Bouamar | Riad Lâarouss, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Bamaga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Bamaga is right in the heart of the medina of Marrakech in a traditional setting. Enjoy personalized service and comfortable rooms. The rooms are individually decorated in a Moroccan style and typical colors. They feature a private bathroom, air conditioning, minibar and broadband WiFi. The manager is always available to response your request . Tasty local dishes are available: you can enjoy them on the terrace, in the elegant patio or in the dining room. The roof terrace is ideal for relaxing in the evening. it offers panoramic views of the Atlas Mountains. The (Médina) district is an ideal choice for travelers who are interested in these topics: shopping, markets and souks. It is the favorite area travelers visiting Marrakech, according to comments independent customers. We speak your language ! This offers the worthy of a four star services. Riad: 5 bedrooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Bamaga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Bamaga Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing