We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Marrakesh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noor Charana

Save Saved
You added Riad Noor Charana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Noor Charana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Marrakesh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Riad. We were on a bit of a budget but this was certainly the best place we stayed in Morocco in our 2 week trip. the rooms were very cool and the whole place was emaculate. It's central location was ideal but allowed us a bit of peace and quiet when we had enough of the hustle and bustle of the city. The roof terrace is a nice place to relax and with a bit of shade when we wanted it. Dinner on the terrace is recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
116
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

This is a lovely riad, beautifully decorated and in a great location near to the main sites of Marrakech. The owner and manager were unbelievably helpful; we had not planned anything for our 10 day holiday and the owner (Rene Jean) spent ages with us giving us suggestions for places to go, places to stay and helped us sort out transport as well. The breakfast is also really good and served on a beautiful roof terrace which is a great place to spend an evening relaxing. I cannot recommend this riad enough, great value for money as well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I'm surprised at the negative elements in a couple of reviews posted just before mine. This stay was at the end of a few weeks travelling in Morocco and it was a lovely finish to the trip: definitely the best place I stayed. Noisy? No: the streets in the area are certainly that, but this riad is tucked down a small street and is an oasis of tranquility, with a sense of calm as soon as one walks in the door. Look at photos on their website and you'll get an idea of what it's like, which is mainly plain walls, quite smart in a European way rather than the heavy decoration of many Moroccan places. Mint tea and home-made cakes on arrival (and some in the room). The room was not very big , but comfortable; the bed was big , and extremely comfortable. There was an electric radiator in the room and a heater in the shower room, but we needed neither. Breakfast was excellent as was the one dinner we had there (you need to order this in the morning): three different cold starters inc a yummy pepper-based one; a tagine of lamb and quince (wow!); strawberry fool to finish; v palatable wine was extra to the 180 dh for the meal. A log fire was lit for us when we ate; not a very good fire (more wood, Moha!) but it wasn't needed for warmth. All in all, an excellent stay; we would go back there and certainly recommend to friends and family.

The map supplied for finding the riad was not wonderful (tho it's marked on some of the city maps you can buy).. To get there from the Djemaa el Fna head for Derb Debachi, the street leading off from the NE corner of the square, between the Cafe de France and Cafe Montreal (on your right) and the mosqe on the corner. Keep straight on at the crossroads you soon reach (not marked on the map supplied) past a little square with collonades on the left to a junctio with (currently) a Coke machine on the right and Maroc Telecom sign on left: Rue Ben Salah. Turn left down the third street opposite the wall with numbered spaces painted on it. Take the second entrance on your left through a wrought iron gate. Riad is immediately on your right. A taxi from Airport to Djemaa el Fna is 50dh. The shuttle bus is 20dh. There are currently about 11 dh to the Euro.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010 via mobile

The location of the riad is so central to the main square. Rooms were beautifully presented. The food and service were also superb. I would definitely recommend Riad Nor Charana to family and friends for a memorable Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

We spent 3 days here and the place is very pretty but damp and cold. We were told there would be wifi and that the room had a bathroom. There was no wifi and the bathroom was in the corridor. We asked for a warmer room but they said they couldnt help. Sorry but must agree with the Rough Guide when it says that riads are bad value, you get twice as much for your money in a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Actually a good place to stay in Marrakech. Absolutely clean and charming riad, just 5 minutes walk from the central square. Week points: as it is located in medina, it's quiet noisy and you hardly get your peace before midnight. There is also very bad sound isolation in the house - you hear almost everything your neighbors do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

A great inexpensive place to stay in the heart of the medina. the staff were really helpful, 'Moha' especially. He met us from the pre arranged taxi and was extremely helpful throughout our stay. If you want to eat 'fresh' tasty moroccan food, arrange a meal in the Riad. Breakfast was superb, relaxed and filling. The bedrooms were simply
furnished yet tasteful. We were a party of 4 who stayed for 3 nights and we would highly recommend it. The only problem you may find is that all the rooms are booked up. Get it booked!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noor Charana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noor Charana

Address: Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Noor Charana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Noor Charana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noor Charana Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noor Charana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.