We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive and peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noor Charana

Save Saved
You added Riad Noor Charana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Noor Charana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impressive and peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The riad is located just 10 minutes from the main square of Jema El-Fna. Staff was service minded and attentive, and made us feel welcome at once. I would say that the best thing about this riad was that it is centrally located, but at the same time it is very quiet and peaceful. I had some of my best sleep in my life at that riad - beds were comfortable and not any noise or sound to be heard when going to bed. Quite amazing concidering its location smack in the midst of the Marrekech medina. Also, the breakfast is cooked and prepared each morning, so make sure you are hungry and have room for fresh out of the oven bread - truly amazing. If I ever go back to Marrakech, I will be staying at this riad!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, ex manager -stopped activity 1/7/13 at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
thank you for your review.after working hard to get tripadvisor excellent rating, we had to stop the activity in june 2013. the owner has changed the management so i cant tell new customers what to expect..good luck all
cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
116
20
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Upon arriving in Marrakech, we didn't know where to go (this is one thing that could definitely be improved on the website - just the little map on there isn't really enough.) We told the slightly confused taxi driver where we would like to go, and after driving across the Djemaa el Fna, and then up the busy side street, thought to ourselves, we must be utterly lost as the photos and reviews we saw just couldn't match this side of town. Finally, a store keeper point us to a little alleyway saying that was the Derb (street) we were looking for. Finally we found the door, knocked and were let inside, and were blown away by how quiet and calm the interior of the riad was, compared to the busy-ness of the street just a 100m away.

Service was great, our double room had a beautiful little bathroom and looked into the courtyard. The AC worked very well, and was quite a treat at 4pm after walking around for most of the day. The location of the riad is also great, as it is just a short walk to the main Djemaa el Fna, and is pretty much already on the edge of the markets (albeit the not as touristy ones.) Staff was very hospitable, and breakfast (typical Moroccan style, nothing fancy) was tasty nonetheless.

Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, ex business manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
i am glad you enjoyed what used to be our pride.the team of the riad of silence and its philosophy have moved to another location, the riad shall be running under another team and policy,so i cant say if it will retain its reputation of silence unique service and very reasonable rates.
thank you
riadsilence@yahoo.fr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights. It was a lovely, peaceful place which was much needed after the crazy bustle of the medina. Fantastic breakfast on the terrace and Mohab made us feel very welcome and gave us invaluable advice and a handy map. The riad itself is also very beautiful and so clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
hello
thank you so much for your appreciation, may we have the pleasure to see you in our next location, stay in touch on riadsilence@yahoo.fr
cordially René-jean and his team moha etc..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Single female traveler, first time to N. Africa. Spent 4 nights at this AMAZING gem. Simplistic accommodations in a prime location. Staff is STELLAR!! Food delightful!! The souks were just steps away and so was the square. I was in the heart of the Medina, and could ask for nothing else. Oh and that mint tea, YUMM!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
thank you for your review, i am very pleased to see our work recognized and appreciated. i shall continue as long as possible. my managing lease is finishing june 30 in noor charana, but i will offer the riad of silence policy and services elsewhere pretty soon. if you are interested ask us on riadsilence@yahoo.fr
cordially
GM rene-jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 nights at this Riad, it is located right in the heart of Marrakesh, 10 Minutes from the main Square (which is full of life) and only a few minutes walk from the Souks. Even though it is in the middle of hustle and bustle of Marrakesh it is nice and quiet in the Riad and the great thick walls keep the building cool from the penetrating sun :) breakfast on the terrace was gorgeous with cinnamon flavoured coffee will keep you going throughout the day
Beautiful mint tea and biscuits on arrival were very special after the flight and the heat. The Bed was also nice and comfortable, I usually do not sleep well when I am not in my own bed, but I had no problems in this Riad and slept wonderfully. The staff were great and extremely helpful with directions and recommendations, and always cheerful and smiling :).
Well recommended for the Marrakesh experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
i am very happy you enjoyed our service and attention to details in a lovely house. my lease is finishing june 30 , the riad noor charana will be running under different management, and i and my dear assistants will move to another location , where we shall continue to offer the riad of silence concept and attentions. ask us on riadsilence@yahoo.fr
take care and come back to kech , we have a unique and wonderful city with more secret places.
a bientot
rene-jean astier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecco, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

An excellent riad, run by extremely kind staff. The entrance of the riad is located in a dark, narrow alley, so that it could be easily missed when first getting to the hotel. My room's door had no lock, neither other rooms' doors I suspect, which is something rather odd. The inner patio and the terrace - where breakfast is served - are amazingly beautiful and quiet. Jama'a al Fna square is at 10 min walk across Medina, and the souq area is really very close. I would highly recommend Noor Charana to travellers that look for unexpensive, quiet, guest friendly hotel in Marrakech's medina

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
thank you for your appreciation. i and my entire team's unique goal is to offer a very peaceful house where all aspects of service are "we hope!" of the highest level in accordance with our value. we are a simple house with charming rooms with a rather tempting and delicious big home-made breakfast and discret service . thank you for taking the time to acknowleadge our efforts.
rené-jean astier , moha , naima & radia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A fabulously comfortable and excellently decorated Riad. From the mint tea on arrival with a Medina map and advice, right through to an early breakfast on our final day, Rene was an excellent host. The bed was comfortable, breakfast was plentiful and varied and the Riad is only 10 minutes walk to the main square which is very easy to find. Fantastic value, can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
thank you for your appreciation. i and my entire team's unique goal is to offer a very peaceful house where all aspects of service are "we hope!" of the highest level in accordance with our value. we are a simple house with charming rooms with a rather tempting and delicious big home-made breakfast and discret service . thank you for taking the time to acknowleadge our efforts.
rené-jean astier , moha , naima & radia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Noor Charana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noor Charana

Address: Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#88 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Noor Charana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Riad Noor Charana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noor Charana Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noor Charana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.