We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay in Marrakech!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noor Charana

Save Saved
You added Riad Noor Charana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Noor Charana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place to Stay in Marrakech!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The approach to Riad al-Noor is a bit difficulty. I don't think you could find it if you were arriving at night or didn't arrange to have the hotel staff meet you out front. But in the midst of the bustling Medina, it was amazing to walk into the clean, white quite of the this beautiful Riad. Moha, our host, and the rest of the staff could not have been kinder. We had some special meal needs (vegetarian, low-carb) that they worked with us to meet. Our rooms were just lovely.

We ended up spending more time at the riad than we anticipated because some of our party got a bit sick during our stay. Moha was great about going to get us medicine and providing us with some snacks during the day.

We highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
thank you for having enjoyed our house, and its true that moha is doing a great job , always quiet and at your disposal . a bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    56
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
116
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It is a great place to stay in Marrakech if you are on a budget!!! The rooms are really nice. There is every morning breakfast on the terrace between 8am and 10.30am (different kind of bread, pancakes, jam, honey, fruit, coffee, tea, yogurt, orange juice and cake. I have chosen this riad because of the price. There is a PC with internet connection in the courtyard/ lobby. No wi-fi in the room. When I've arrived I've met the owner Rene-Jean and he's a very friendly guy. He upgraded my room from single to double. Thanks Rene-Jean.
I highly recommend this place.
Thanks for reading my review.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noorcharana, Directeur général at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
hello mr andy, dzięki for such a lovely appreciation,i am glad you liked your room and our philosophy "the silence". please come back we will spoil you again.
cordially
rene-jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Well located, clean and with friendly staff. I would stay again. Breakfast in the terraza was a bonus. My only observation is that they don't have wi-fi wille all the other places we've been to in Morocco had

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
thank you for your review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was definitely not long enough! The riad is just a short walk from the hustle and bustle of the souks but you wouldn't believe it when you step inside. It was so relaxing, with breakfast served on the rooftop in the wonderful sun (although there was the option to sit downstairs or under a cover if it's too hot or raining). The food was DELICIOUS and they even made gluten free corn bread for me which was a wonderful surprise and definitely not one that I expected given how reasonably the riad was priced and that the breakfast was complimetary. The rooms were immaculate and the manager and the two helpers where there whenever we needed them and were happy to answer all of our questions plus more!

The taxi driver the manager offered to organise was also very convenient, especially since it was our first time in Marrakech.

Overall it was one of the most relaxing, best value for money and beautiful hotels I've ever seen. Nothing bad to say about it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
its always a pleasure to read and and feel such appreciation,i and my team at the riad of silence do everything possible in our simple but cozy and quiet home to make you feel special. thank you for noticing it. a bientot in our next location.
riadsilence@yahoo.fr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

It was our first time in Marrakech, and on entering the riad we were immediately impressed by the quiet, restful atmosphere for somewhere located in the busy streets, five minutes away from the Djemaa El'Fna square. Service was impeccable, such as mint tea on arrival, and when we asked for a recommended tour company for day trips, the manager walked us to their offices 15 minutes away so we didnt get lost. The owner was away on business, but the place was still run by the staff to high standard.
The breakfasts are taken on the roof terrace, and are a wonderful selection of home made pastries, pancakes, yogurts etc. They certainly lived up to our (high) expectations on reading these reviews before going.
Our bedroom was full of character, very clean, a bit smallish - but bear in mind that we were staying there on a special discounted deal for 4 nights, so understandably the other guests got the other rooms, which were all quite spacious.
We even returned to Noor Charana for another night on our way back to the UK. This place was incredible value in low season (Jan 2013), but I suspect that once the European tourist market picks up again this place could be (quite justifiably) well out of our price bracket.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, General Manager at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
thank you for your review.we hope to see you again in our home, even if we wont offer such low price all year around. cordially
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had such a memorable and enjoyable stay at Riad Noor Charana. First of all, the attention to detail was simply outstanding - from the delicious and hearty breakfast to the beautifully embroidered towels.

Secondly, the riad itself was very calming and relaxing, particularly after the hectic and noisy streets of Marrakech. It was true to its name and a lovely place just to kick back, take it easy and unwind

The excellent, hearty breakfast really set us up for the day. In some guesthouses, breakfasts can be an afterthought and very meagre. Not here! Most of the delicious food such as the breads and jams and cakes were home made. This is exactly what I mean about the riad's attention to detail. We were always very full and happy afterwards.

I really have to recommend the evening meal (which must be booked in advance). It was quite unlike anything we'd eaten in Morocco and I can categorically state that it was the best meal we'd had on our entire trip. I really encourage you to book the meal which is cooked by the lovely ladies who work in the riad - after all, you can't beat home cooking!

I can't finish my review without mentioning the host Rene Jean was absolutely charming and kind. He had lots of useful tips and recommendations so that we could make the most of our stay.

Considering the very high quality of this riad, the price was an absolute bargain. I can't recommend staying here highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, Directeur général at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
hello and thank you for such a wonderful review. i am so touched by your appreciation and i and the team from the riad of silence,hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our future new location. rene-jean moha naima and radia. riadsilence@yahoo.fr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My first impression of the surrounding area led me to believe i had made the wrong choice in hotels, but WOW, WAS I SURE WRONG! cleanliness is a pet peeve of mine and EVERYTHING was imaculate from the first step into my room to the employees thanking me for my stay.there wasn't much to say about the included breakfast as it was close to a continental breakfast at any hotel stateside but the optional dinners you could order were SUPERB, this hotel draws you in, wether it be the luxurious furniture, fixtures, and service, the staff that was truly pleasent, or just the ambient smells and overall "royal" feeling the Riad gives you. The VALUE is definitely here.If travels bring me to Morocco again the Riad will be the first place a call to reserve a room.the staff spoke english very well so the weren't any language barriers when it came to them assessing my needs. Overall great communication between the staff and customer.Room size was more than adequate . i really cant say enough about a wonderful my week was but i can say that it wont be forgotten

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gany57, Directeur général at Riad Noor Charana, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
hello thank you , for such a flattering review, i just want to correct some possible misunderstanding, we are a house welcoming guests for a price between 30 and 45 euros with breakfast, i cant help to list for our future guests what we serve for breakfast: a choice of coffee tea or hot cooca, plus three home made jams a red bee honey,french butter, freshly squeezed OJ or pomegranate juice or grape, a different kind of morroccon bread every day, a home made cake, fresh fruits and a different type of pancake or beignet every day plus a home made local yogurt...
i am very happy you enjoyed our homemade local cuisine , its made to order fresh and delicious if not fancy, have a very happynew year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Noor Charana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noor Charana

Address: Houmat Ben Sahl | Derb el kebir n°31, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#122 Casino Hotel in Marrakech
#127 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Noor Charana 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Riad Noor Charana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noor Charana Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Noor Charana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.