We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience and break from busy souks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cooking Workshops at La Maison Arabe

Cooking Workshops at La Maison Arabe
1, Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
+ 212 524 38 70 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 529 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world-renowned cooking workshops at La Maison Arabe are open to hotel guests and those staying elsewhere in Marrakech. At the half-day classes, one learns the secrets of Moroccan cuisine, considered the most refined on the African continent. The workshops are run by a dada (traditional Moroccan chef), a translator (French/English), and include a visit to a nearby spice market and communal bread oven. After the workshop, during which every participant has worked alongside the dada at his or her own workstation, one dines on the delicious meal that's been prepared. The cooking workshops at La Maison Arabe have been praised by the leading international travel and food press, including The New York Times Sunday Travel Section, Travel + Leisure, Condé Nast Traveler, Saveurs, and Virtuoso Life.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stroller parking
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great experience and break from busy souks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We did the afternoon cooking class. The food was excellent. they gave us a gift bag at end with a complimentary tagine pot - great end to a busy week in Marrakech

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    42
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Cooking doesn't get tougher than this (actually it's just good fun, Masterchef fans)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Pros: Modern facilities, great location, excellent host, mini tagine to take away, eat what you make, no pressure to buy things from spice shop
Cons: A little fast-paced at times, be prepared to eat with your group, pricier than others (but worth it I think)

Moroccan cooking, at its best, is divine. So to be let into the secrets of how it's done - though, honestly, it's all fairly simple stuff - is great fun.
I'd wanted to do a cookery class for a while and spent ages assessing different courses via Tripadvisor and other sources. I settled on La Maison Arabe and I'm so glad that I did as it was good fun and the facilities were top notch too.
You eat what you make, so you'll need to put your heart into it for a decent lunch! You'll also eat with the rest of your group, so if you're not a conversational type then this might not be the thing for you. But I think it's a nice way to chat to others while away.
As educational as the class is, it can get a bit fast paced from time to time. If you fall behind there'll be some help to get you back on track though. The host spoke perfet English to help everything along, including historical food references and functional cooking tips. The "dada" (cook) spoke little to no English, but her gesturing and actions were all that was needed.
On our course we made bread (the dada did all the hard stuff though), cooked a chicken tagine and made some side salads (hot and cold). There was also a desert - but that was assembled by the kitchen to serve.
Between bread making and cooking there's a visit to the spice shop (a private shop, not a market stall) for a tea-making experience, and later a visit to the communal bakery (no daytime fire during Ramadan, of course).
It's a full experience that'd be good for friends, couples or groups. Not one for kids though.
Take a bit of extra cash along and browse the wine list at lunch. It's hard to come by the red and white stuff in Morocco for the most part, so it felt like an extra treat on top of the cooking treat.
I'd happily do it again, assuming it was a different set of courses on the menu.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fun food adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Four aussie ladies visited La Maison Arabe last week (Sep 2012) to participate in one of the best cooking workshops we have experienced that became one of our favourite afternoons in Marrakesh. The half day cooking workshop was conducted by the expert, enthusiastic and patient chef Mohammad whose english was impeccable and knowledge of Morioccan cuisine and culture was extensive. He was ably assisted by the very capable Moroccan bread cook. I am sure we amused her with some of our techniques!! We cooked an aubergine dish, a grilled green pepper salad, prepared and cooked a chicken tajine with olives and visited the hotel's retail outlet to learn how to make mint tea and to identify some exotic spices. Not only did we get to eat our own delicious creations, but we were also treated to a delicious dessert. At the end of our feast we received some recipes and a little gift. A highly recommended and rewarding experience. Wahdiah Hopper

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was an amazing few hours and excellent value for money. I urge anyone with a slight interest in cooking, Moroccan cuisine or new experiences to try this. The riad itself is an amazing place and we were warmly welcomed with water by the pool and as a group of about 10, told a brief & interesting history of Morocco. The cookery class itself was great fun and easy to follow (you don't need to be a good cook!). We all had a go at making bread, then our own individual salads and tajine. The two instructors were energetic, helpful and entertaining! The course included a visit to the local bakery to see how the bread is baked, as well as to the hotel spice shop, where we got to see & smell more spices than I knew existed. We were also shown the authentic way Moroccan mint tea, as well as sampling it during a nice rest. Once the cooking was done, we sat down to eat & thoroughly enjoy what we had produced! We were given the recipes to take away, as well as a small tajine which is functional as well as decorational. The only slight downside was getting a taxi afterwards. Although the hotel was helpful in getting us a taxi, the drivers were very hard to bargain with & wanted a much higher price than it should be (maybe because they knew we had just come out of one of the luxury riads and/or maybe there is a cartel going on?) However, this didn't spoil what was a wonderful experience and a must do during a visit to Marrakech!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Cooking School”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I visited Marrakesh this summer and we really enjoyed our unique experience at La Maison Arabe. We began our afternoon with some coffee and discussed the basics of Moroccan style cooking with our cooking guide, Mohammed. Then we ventured into the kitchen and began preparing an excellent lemon tagine. The chef was encouraging and easy to understand. I would highly recomment this school. Cindy & Steves Rodriguez

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooking Workshops at La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cooking Workshops at La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cooking Workshops at La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.