We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Tresor

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Tresor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Tresor
77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay in the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hotel du Tresor is a superb place to spend your holiday in Marrakech. All the rooms are little gems and are well fitted for a family with teenagers. We stayed four nights in Marrakech and every time we came back to the hotel, we found it nice, quiet and a good place to recover from the crowded medina and the souq. The children loved the swimming pool, which is a very nice-to-have at 40+ degrees. Breakfast at the roof top was well endowed, with fresh orange juice and fresh-made Moroccan pancakes, cake and bread etc. We would recommend everybody who loves a Moroccan experience to book this hotel.

Rob, Rosemarie, Sander and Coco

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    51
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
68
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

There are many places to choose from where you could stay in Marrakech and to be honest, Hotel du Tresor was worth the visit. For sure its not a luxury, but the style is interesting as all room are different. Most of them are on the small side, but indeed there is everything you might need. Breakfast is basic but you don't feel sorry if you miss it. The roof top terrace is perfect for a beer and relaxing during the day. Location is very good if you wanna stay within the Medina. Amine and the other staff where very helpful with organizing trips and advice what to do in and around marrakech. Abdullah, the driver was gorgeous, but keep in mind that a trip to Aït-Ben-Haddou will take about 4 hours driving oneway passing through Atlas mountains. The kasbah is worth it, but we thought it would be 3 hours driving time all in. So think twice if you wanna stay in a car for a whole day.
Would return for sure if I gonna travel again to Marrakech!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

Spent 6 nights here in June at the Bleu Suite.
PROS: 1) 4 minute walk along alleys to Djemaa el Fna, 2) helpful and cheerful staff (Mustapha, Amine, etc. Among many things they did for us, we made an early breakfast request for a trip to Essaouira on very short notice and they made breakfast for the 2 of us 1 hour earlier than normal) 3) great value for location 4) free WiFi 5) pretty European/Moroccan decor 6) air-conditioning
CONS: 1) our suite had very little storage -- shoppers beware 2) interiors look professionally styled (looks good and photographs well) but lots of little things broken here and there (chairs, etc.), could use a little TLC 3) cash ONLY 4)pool is tiny (more of a design element)
OVERALL: Good value, great location, v. nice staff -- Recommended for leisure travelers who are not major shoppers

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

This hotel is very close to Djemaa El-Fna square, yet it is quietly tucked away from all the noise and traffic. Our room (the Bleu Suite) was very nice, although a little on the small side. The bathroom was huge, which seemed like wasted space as the bedroom was about the same size as the bathroom. Amine was very helpful and professional. The pool isn't really a pool as it is tiny and I never saw anyone swimming or even dipping in it the 6 days we were there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Our 6 night stay at Hotel du Tresor in May was a brilliant experience. We stayed in the cosy En Double room (bunk beds) which offered a budget price compared to other riads we looked at. The room was small (but we expected as much) and the ground floor location meant it was a little noisy at times but nothing major.

The location of the hotel is fantastic - just a few minutes from the main square yet the hotel is so peaceful, you forget just how close you are to everything. We arranged airport transfer and our driver was nice (although a little late) and helped us with our bags. When we first got to the hotel we were worried about walking back at night as it's down a few back streets, but we never felt unsafe once.

The staff were really chilled and helpful with any questions we asked, especially Amine who was very welcoming. On our last day, we were allowed to check out at whatever time we wanted as the room hadn't been booked that night. They also let us use the computer to print off our boarding passes. The interior of the riad is lovely with the rooftop terrace being the highlight. We spent a lot of time up there lounging in the sun or shade. There was wifi which was handy although the signal was very up and down.

Breakfast offered a good choice and you had the option to eat it outside or inside if you wanted to dodge the wasps. There was a different cake each morning and one day they had the most amazing coconut cake, it was definitely one of the best things I ate during my trip.

The only minor downside to the hotel was the pool not really being suitable for use like we'd hoped. A big orange tree blocking the sunlight makes the pool cold, even at the hottest part of the day. However, we managed to find another pool we could use nearby so this was no problem. Also as others pointed out, we noticed an unpleasant smell from the drains of the bathroom on our last couple days.

Overall, this little riad has almost everything you could ask for and there is a room to meet everyones price range. The hotel really made our stay in Marrakech and if I ever came back I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Deep in the centre of Marrakech and its bustling medina, hidden away is the ultra chic Hotel Du Tresor managed by Amine and his team. A generous mix of modern design classics and morrocan style, my girlfriends and I booked a week in Morocco and Marrakesh and my stay in Hotel Du Tresor was the highlight of my week. I felt like I was playing out my own version of Sex and the City 2! Three girlies stayed for two nights in the Sable room, a double bed in the mezzanine and a sleeping area on the ground floor of the room, Although small, the room was very quaint and clean. The en-suite bathroom could have had some ventilation built in as it smelt a little damp after we all showered, but I gather this is one of the pitfalls of a riad. Enjoy fresh bread, jam, boiled eggs, fruit, cake and fresh orange juice for breakfast (included in price of stay) on the terrace and chill out in the evening on the day beds with a glass of wine. The staff are all very helpful with advice on where to go, how to get there and what to do. The riad is 2 mins walk to the main square, the souk and taxis. Amine very kindly arranged to meet us at a central point in the medina and guide us back to the hotel on our first visit to Marrakech. If you are not confident to navigate your way through the windy back streets, then this is a good option. The accommodation was cheap (160 euros for 2 nights) and I would recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is my second year in a row staying at Hotel du Tresor and I am increasingly amazed at the great value in such a stylish setting. I have been to Marrakech several times and stayed in soul-less chains and have also checked out other riads online. Nothing comes close to this place. You will either pay out of your nose or be at the mercy of staff who are completely uninterested in your needs. Hotel du Tresor has everything - super staff, charming rooms and a great location (if you want the full experience of Marrakech - otherwise, stay in a chain hotels with a pool outside of the Medina).
My only gripe this time was that the bathrooms do smell slightly moldy and it's not easy to air out the rooms if you want privacy - a typical issue in the design of a riad - as all rooms open up to the interior courtyard. However - it was hardly an issue as we spent most of our time out in the souks shopping or enjoying a cold beer on the roof terrace, which was just fab.
Really - I don't think you can find a better place to stay in Marrakech at the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tresor

Address: 77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little hotel open since the 50s, just a few minutes away from Place Jemaa El Fna. This peaceful riad has been transformed by its Italian owner, its traditional style restored and enhanced by a keen selection of various objects originating most often from other historical hotels of the town. Respect for the old with a sense of the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tresor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Tresor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.