We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable but stylish riad with excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Tresor

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Tresor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Tresor
77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“An affordable but stylish riad with excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Our 6 night stay at Hotel du Tresor in May was a brilliant experience. We stayed in the cosy En Double room (bunk beds) which offered a budget price compared to other riads we looked at. The room was small (but we expected as much) and the ground floor location meant it was a little noisy at times but nothing major.

The location of the hotel is fantastic - just a few minutes from the main square yet the hotel is so peaceful, you forget just how close you are to everything. We arranged airport transfer and our driver was nice (although a little late) and helped us with our bags. When we first got to the hotel we were worried about walking back at night as it's down a few back streets, but we never felt unsafe once.

The staff were really chilled and helpful with any questions we asked, especially Amine who was very welcoming. On our last day, we were allowed to check out at whatever time we wanted as the room hadn't been booked that night. They also let us use the computer to print off our boarding passes. The interior of the riad is lovely with the rooftop terrace being the highlight. We spent a lot of time up there lounging in the sun or shade. There was wifi which was handy although the signal was very up and down.

Breakfast offered a good choice and you had the option to eat it outside or inside if you wanted to dodge the wasps. There was a different cake each morning and one day they had the most amazing coconut cake, it was definitely one of the best things I ate during my trip.

The only minor downside to the hotel was the pool not really being suitable for use like we'd hoped. A big orange tree blocking the sunlight makes the pool cold, even at the hottest part of the day. However, we managed to find another pool we could use nearby so this was no problem. Also as others pointed out, we noticed an unpleasant smell from the drains of the bathroom on our last couple days.

Overall, this little riad has almost everything you could ask for and there is a room to meet everyones price range. The hotel really made our stay in Marrakech and if I ever came back I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    51
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
69
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Deep in the centre of Marrakech and its bustling medina, hidden away is the ultra chic Hotel Du Tresor managed by Amine and his team. A generous mix of modern design classics and morrocan style, my girlfriends and I booked a week in Morocco and Marrakesh and my stay in Hotel Du Tresor was the highlight of my week. I felt like I was playing out my own version of Sex and the City 2! Three girlies stayed for two nights in the Sable room, a double bed in the mezzanine and a sleeping area on the ground floor of the room, Although small, the room was very quaint and clean. The en-suite bathroom could have had some ventilation built in as it smelt a little damp after we all showered, but I gather this is one of the pitfalls of a riad. Enjoy fresh bread, jam, boiled eggs, fruit, cake and fresh orange juice for breakfast (included in price of stay) on the terrace and chill out in the evening on the day beds with a glass of wine. The staff are all very helpful with advice on where to go, how to get there and what to do. The riad is 2 mins walk to the main square, the souk and taxis. Amine very kindly arranged to meet us at a central point in the medina and guide us back to the hotel on our first visit to Marrakech. If you are not confident to navigate your way through the windy back streets, then this is a good option. The accommodation was cheap (160 euros for 2 nights) and I would recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

This is my second year in a row staying at Hotel du Tresor and I am increasingly amazed at the great value in such a stylish setting. I have been to Marrakech several times and stayed in soul-less chains and have also checked out other riads online. Nothing comes close to this place. You will either pay out of your nose or be at the mercy of staff who are completely uninterested in your needs. Hotel du Tresor has everything - super staff, charming rooms and a great location (if you want the full experience of Marrakech - otherwise, stay in a chain hotels with a pool outside of the Medina).
My only gripe this time was that the bathrooms do smell slightly moldy and it's not easy to air out the rooms if you want privacy - a typical issue in the design of a riad - as all rooms open up to the interior courtyard. However - it was hardly an issue as we spent most of our time out in the souks shopping or enjoying a cold beer on the roof terrace, which was just fab.
Really - I don't think you can find a better place to stay in Marrakech at the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

Really nice riad very close to the main square. Perfect location for sightseeing and the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, but very peaceful once you get inside.

Amine and the rest of the staff that run the place were really friendly and even when we cancelled when we were orignially due to go (due to volcanic ash) they were really nice about it. Also when we lost our card in a cash point they even offered to lend us some cash until we could get it back the following day! Also arranged an airport transfer for us which although relatively expensive was well worth it - particularly if its your first time in Marrakech!

Rooms are nicely decorated and full of character. For the price its good value and I would stay there again if we ever go back.

Only minor down side was that there is a lovely orange tree in the courtyard which although looks nice attracts lots of noisy birds early in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We loved our 3 night stay at the Hotel du Tresor. It's tucked away close to the Djemaa el Fna but easy to find on foot. We arrived in the evening and took the bus from the airport to the main square, then it's only a short walk to the hotel (just email them for simple directions). The riad is beautiful - each room is individually designed with great Moroccan/Arab and modern styles blending perfectly to create really stylish and charming rooms, which were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Breakfast was good and plentiful and the rooftop is the perfect chill-out place. Best of all were the staff, particularly Amine, whose hospitality was second-to-none. Nothing was too much trouble and Amine and Mustafa helped make our stay really special as we were there to celebrate a birthday. If you want to stay in a reasonably priced, small riad in the old town you can no do better than here!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Hotel du Tresor is absolutely beautiful. We loved the decor and the style and ambience. The gorgeous roof terrace, perfect for relaxing on, and the courtyard with the plunge pool and orange tree, there was great attention to detail in the decoration and design.

Our room was also very well decorated, and beautiful to look at, but as it was on the ground floor in the corner there was very little natural light and the room smelt of damp. To be fair to the riad owners they may well of moved us to one of the rooms on the first floor (which looked a lot more airy) but as we were only there for a couple of nights we didn't ask.

There was also quite a bit of noise in the morning, from the staff shouting to each other and the breakfast was pretty poor.

Saying this, the hotel was gorgeous, with a great location, and very good value for money. I just think they could make a few small changes to make all the aspects of the riad live up to how good it is to look at.

I would definitely still recommend it, just make sure you ask for a room on the first floor!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed at Hotel du Tresor for 2 nights at the beginning of our Moroccan week long holiday. The hotel is lovely and so peaceful - just exactly what you need to escape from the bustling, crazy streets of the Marrakesh Medina. We stayed in the Mizrachi room - it was beautifully decorated and there was plenty of room for both of us. The only draw back was that the room was quite stuffy but you couldn't leave the windows open as the door to the street was fairly nearby and open all day. I would definitely stay at this lovely Riad again but I would ask for a room on the second floor - we had a nose around and some of the rooms are really pretty. Amin who ran the place was so helpful and drew us some great maps and told us all about the buses to Essaouira. I would definitely go back to Tresor just for the peace of the place - the roof terrace is stunning!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tresor

Address: 77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little hotel open since the 50s, just a few minutes away from Place Jemaa El Fna. This peaceful riad has been transformed by its Italian owner, its traditional style restored and enhanced by a keen selection of various objects originating most often from other historical hotels of the town. Respect for the old with a sense of the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tresor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Tresor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.