We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Tresor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel du Tresor to your Saves list
Hotel du Tresor
77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

2 of us stayed at the hotel in October 2013. We found the twin room, although rather small, was clean and completely adequate for our trip. The staff are welcoming and informative, the hotel has a good breakfast which you can enjoy on the fantastic terrace, also a great place to spend some time when escaping for some peace and quiet from the hectic souks. We mainly chose this hotel for the location, which was just what we wanted, easy to get to the square or souks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    60
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
76
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, australia.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

i have had the ultimate pleasure of staying at both hotel du tresor and their maison du tresor also. both decorated in the same style of eclectic art and object/furniture/fabric collection without feeling cluttered and dusty. each item is hand picked and beautifully displayed, a real feast for the eyes.....especially for those who love interior design and fine collecting. the staff are excellent, clear communicators, professional and ever ready to help where possible. delicious breakfasts. the properties are spotlessly clean, both have small pools for those hot marrakech days, magnificent roof top nooks to rest in, lots of fresh white walls and rooms that are special little hideaways. very very comfortable. i will return again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed in Sept 13 with two friends. Positive: Staff were friendly, polite, accommodating and helpful. Very near the Medina so we could walk back from a break whenever we got tired from shopping :-). Negative: Not too happy with the room - small, congested and smelled funny.

Room Tip: Place is not accessible by vehicle. Need to contact hotel when you are there, so that they can meet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently.

Positives: Great location, great roof terrace area, very refreshing plunge pool, rooms decorated with great mix of colours, very clean, reasonable price

Negatives: Advertised drinks menu not available, no breakfast made available on last morning when we had to leave at 8am. On our last night, we had to be up early the next morning and were kept awake till ~2am by the two guys running the place. I don't know if the owner was around but this was pretty poor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulkington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is beautifully decorated and very clean. It is located near the main square (Jemaa el Fnaa) therefore no need to get a taxi. Lots of places to eat and shop. The staff are sooo friendly such as Brahim, Mustapha and Amine who made my stay very pleasant. As I was travelling alone one of the staff (Mustapha) took me to one of the excursions (Ourika Valley) on his day off! And he helped me and two other girls from the hotel make couscous. Breakfast consists of bread, yogurt, cheeses, various spreads and sometimes pancakes as well as freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee. Rooms are cleaned on a daily basis. The bed was very comfortable and it is nice and quiet at night times despite being so close to the main square.

Room Tip: I chose the Van Gogh designed room which was on the bottom floor and a very nice little room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Well, I´ve said it all in the title!!
Very well situated near the famous square - Jemaa el Fna.
Very interesting decor with a mix of traditional Moroccan and European pomp.
Compared to other riads in Marrakech I think Hotel du Tresor is very reasonably priced.
And the staff a very friendly and helpful.
So all in all a great little riad to stay in Marrakech.
I will try and come again, and will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in a twin share room. Whilst cosy the other rooms with double beds looked great. Serene calm oasis close to the major square and all the action. Has won awards in 2013 from trip advisor. It does have narrow steep staircase so not good for elderly. Mustapha and admin were really helpful

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tresor

Address: 77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#118 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#154 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little hotel open since the 50s, just a few minutes away from Place Jemaa El Fna. This peaceful riad has been transformed by its Italian owner, its traditional style restored and enhanced by a keen selection of various objects originating most often from other historical hotels of the town. Respect for the old with a sense of the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tresor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Tresor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.