We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Tresor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel du Tresor to your Saves list
Hotel du Tresor
77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here one night back in May, liked it so much that we booked it for when we were coming back through Marrakech later on our trip. Great breakfast, lovely rooftop terrace, the pool is a godsend on hot days. When our plans changed and we wanted to arrive in Marrakech a day earlier they were able to accommodate us and picked us up at the train station when we arrived around midnight. Very helpful staff, gave us a price discount since we stayed 3 nights there. Rooms were very cute. Only downside of our room is that our friends in the room next to us didn't have a bathroom attached so they had to come into ours to use the bathroom, but I don't think they book those rooms to people who don't know each other.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    55
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
73
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Right, so here's our review of this fantastic little Riad in Marrakech!! We were a party of 7 ladies on my alternative hen party (alternative meaning I wanted something classy!!) and we found Hotel du Tresor. I was going to book one of the Riad's within the top 10 in trip advisor but realised that a/ expensive b/ wasn't near the square where all the magic happens!

Amine was my point of contact and he's fantastic, we emailed backwards and forwards so many times that by the end I felt like I knew the team very well, even though we'd never met!!

First of all they arranged to pick us up from the airport (its only 10-15mins away) - upon arrival, we exchanged our money for Dirhams - I recommend taking some time and finding the BEST "to buy" rate in the airport - you can do it in the Souks - but it's pretty much the same.

Upon arrival - they arranged for Mint Tea and traditional Moroccan snacks by the chill pool - amazing! They then showed us ALL the amazing rooms - each individually and tastefully decorated. I stayed in Suite Bleu - its the only room on it's own on the "top floor" recommended for it's romantic decor, it's rolling bath tub and powerful shower!

That evening they arranged traditional Moroccan music and dinner for 20euros - I would so recommend!!! The music was great entertainment and the food by the in-house chef - Amina was the most delicious out of all the meals tasted in Marrakech!

We were allowed to bring our own alcohol which we chilled in the fridges and spent most of the time exploring Marrakech and sun bathing on the terrace.

There's so much to say about this Riad but not enough space - it's around 2-3minutes from the main square - so QUIET - it's unbelievable that's its just around the corner from the main square and souks.

We went to Les Bains hamman - which I'm not sure I'd recommend (see my review on this) as they overcharged by £100 and didn't even get an apology when I queried this.

We recommend Rose bar at Pascha as a night out - was great fun and finally - you can do pretty much everything by foot from this Riad - it was the perfect stay.

Thankyou so much to Amine and the team - they couldn't do enough for us and I felt like a princess in Marrakech :)

Room Tip: Suite Bleu is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here with a friend. Stayed in the Mohammed V room, It was located very close to the Jemma el fna square and we felt very safe walking to and from the square (less than 5 min walk) The hotel was quiet, had no problems sleeping. We were picked up from the airport by a taxi firm that the hotel had arranged, and someone met us at the taxi to take us to the hotel. The breakfast was good, the aircon worked, the place was clean, the pool was cool (needed in that heat) the staff so friendly. One member of staff even walked us into the square when we were looking for a certain place. As I said in the title - no complaints!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We loved staying at this riad. It is located very close to Djemaa el-Fna square. We opted to be picked up at the train station and guided to the hotel - highly recommended upon first arrival. Amine and his staff were the perfect hosts - nothing was too much trouble. Our bag was lost in transit and they made every effort to locate it. The room was compact, but more than adequate. We had hot water. The whole pace was kept spotlessly clean. After hours in the medina there was nothing better than to retreat back to this tranquil riad. As architects, we particularly liked the style - the courtyard and rooms seemed less garish than others we had seen and renovation works well complement the original building. Thankyou!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have less privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel is more wecoming everytime we stay in Marrakech. Brilliant position and wonderful views. The staff is very welcoming and nothing is a problem when requested. We will definately be visiting again and telling all our friends. The decor is also a MUST see.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This Riad was amazing. Great individual rooms. No hot water but well worth it. The roof terrace was amazing and the staff was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

This had the best courtyard and location of any of the places we stayed in Morocco. Our room was tiny and slightly awkward since the bathroom door doesn't really close, but all in all we were 100% happy with this stay. Thanks to the owners & staff! (Also, excellent roof terrace and breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tresor

Address: 77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little hotel open since the 50s, just a few minutes away from Place Jemaa El Fna. This peaceful riad has been transformed by its Italian owner, its traditional style restored and enhanced by a keen selection of various objects originating most often from other historical hotels of the town. Respect for the old with a sense of the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tresor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Tresor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.