We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Tresor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel du Tresor to your Saves list
Hotel du Tresor
77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel in a great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at Hotel du Tresor for a week and we would completely recommend it!! Amine and his staff are lovely, very helpful, friendly and hard working. Amine arranged all our transfers for us, which ran smoothly and were reasonably priced. The riad and our room were spotlessly clean and the staff work constantly to keep it that way. This place really stands out amongst all the other riads that you see around it. Very stylish and so pretty. The orange tree that grows up through the centre of the riad is lovely. The rooftop is definitely the best bit about this hotel. We sat up there for breakfast and in the evening to watch the sunset with a drink or two ;). We stayed over Xmas and we were served champagne with our breakfast on Xmas day and given a little gift, all little touches that added to a great stay. We would recommend this place, and we definitely intend to return ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    53
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
71
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

It's ideally located close to the main square and its rooms are very stylish; we stayed in the Hitchcock room (it's tiny, but big enough if you're only there for a couple of nights and don't have lots of luggage with you), but had a chance to have of the other rooms and they were all charming. What's good about it is that they have rooms in different price ranges, so there's something for everyone. They also have a beautiful roof tarace where you can relax and soak in city's atmosphere. And last, but not least, the hosts were unbelievably helpful, which made our life so much easier.

Room Tip: Hitchcock room is lovely, but a bit too small for a couple with lots of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very recently, I was in Marrakech and stayed six nights at the Hotel du Tresor -- actually, four at the Hotel du Tresor and two at its sister hotel, the Maison du Tresor. I enjoyed both. Both are in the medina, so staying there puts you closer to that experience. It is less than five minutes on foot to the main square. The hotels are small, but each room is very comfortable and decorated differently. The breakfast was good, and the overall service was excellent. The staff -- particularly Mustafa and Amine -- went the extra mile to make sure my stay was enjoyable. On three occasions, I had to leave on day trips before the official start of breakfast, but people got up early to make sure I could eat. When I came back from a three-day trip, I was staying at the sister hotel and had no idea how to find it in the maze that is the medina -- so a person from the hotel walked out to meet me in the square. The nightly rate was a good value, too. All in all, I highly recommend the du Tresor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

There are so many riads in Marrakech, from over the top 1001 nights follies to back packing flea pits. the The former rapidly induce good taste overload, the latter are beyond the pale. The Trésor - which I have been going to for five years - is different. It is small - as are most of the rooms - but with an enormously eclectic design, well priced and stocked with the most delightful, kind and efficient staff you could possibly hope for. Good looking too! If you want a real Marrakshi experience, with a funky twist, look no further than this treasure.

Room Tip: La Suite Bleu!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We just loved this hotel - it is less than five minutes' walk from the Djemaa el Fna and the souks and a short cab ride from the new city. We had booked the Hitchcock room and then changed to the Giancoma room but when we arrived we were given the Hitchcock room anyway. We didn't mind as it was big enough for our needs and a little bit cheaper and the owners didn't try to charge us for the more expensive room.
The room had lovely touches, furniture and artefacts sourced by the Italian owner, who stopped by once during our visit and made sure to introduce himself.
A local gastronomic tours company uses this hotel and swears by it - if you're worried about being in the hotel when a group is present best to check whether they have a tour going on when you're there. There was one scheduled to start the day after our departure which was perfect as the tour company owners were in house and able to advise us on where to eat, snack and take tea (Al Fassiah for dinner is a must-do and Cafe Epices is great for light lunches with a view).
The beauty of this hotel is that it has just enough Moroccan flavour without being a full-on assault to the senses. The bed was comfy, my main and only criticism was of the shower - the head needs replacing so it is more efficient and stops flooding the bathroom floor (which gets cleaned anyway so not a major drama).
The most amazing thing about this hotel is that every single surface gets scrubbed clean every day - I walked around the whole hotel, rooftop, terrace etc with no shoes and my feet were completely clean!
Breakfasts are plentiful - the standard Moroccan fare of crepes, bread, cheeses, yoghurt, juice and cake - a different one baked every day).
For the price, this hotel is hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011 via mobile

We are 2 single females who stayed in the Panton room. This room was great for our needs, the shower was good and the bathroom was private en-suite. Mustafa was really helpful, and offered to take us to reputable agents to book excursions, and told us the cheapest way to get to Essaouira for a day trip. Breakfast was lovely...bread, cake (different every day), pancakes, yogurt, cheese spreads and coffee/orange juice. The lady who cleans is brilliant, we came back to fresh bed linen and towels every day, and she tidied up our room, which made us feel very guilty for leaving such a mess! The location is perfect and very safe, but I would recommend filming the route the first time you go out, or you won't find your way back!! We are definately coming back here, it's the best place for us to stay, and the staff are wonderful. Tip - eat at Chez Chegrouni, it's gorgeous. Don't be intimidated by having to write down your order, it comes back as your receipt.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Super nice hotel and great location! The blue suite that we stayed had a cozy interior but the best thing was the terrace. We really recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Tresor

Address: 77 Sidi Boulokat | Riad Zitoun kdim, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming little hotel open since the 50s, just a few minutes away from Place Jemaa El Fna. This peaceful riad has been transformed by its Italian owner, its traditional style restored and enhanced by a keen selection of various objects originating most often from other historical hotels of the town. Respect for the old with a sense of the new. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Tresor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Tresor Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Tresor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.