We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #279 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $54
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great view and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The location and view were great. The food was fantastic - one of the best tagines we had on the whole trip. The only downside was that it took about an hour to arrive, which for lunch is a bit too long.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    87
    138
    108
    75
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saigon
1 review
“Expensive beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Well. It's beautiful. I went for dinner alone. Wanted to watch some belly dancing before eating. But I was here early at 730 and the dance starts at 930. I looked at the menu and saw a small bottle of Special beer for 65 dhs! That's close to 8 USD. I decided to leave. Beer is not worth that much. Especially with no entertainment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere but service not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This restaurant looks lovely from the outside and inside the atmosphere is wonderful - authentic music and décor etc. The service was slow and we did not get what we ordered. We couldn't fault the food though so if you are willing to be patient then it is enjoyable!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Misleading happy hour”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We chose this restaurant for happy hour because of its beautiful ambiance and its promise of two drinks for the price of one. The upper terrace was beautiful. Unfortunately service was both rude and slow. They were also out of the happy hour beer and despite having other beers on the menu did not offer any at the happy hour price. Finally we settled on a glass of Moroccan house wine. After enjoying our glass of wine we asked the waiter to bring the second. He said no. The happy hour apparently was two for one and that meant half a glass counted as one glass of wine and our full 0.2l glass counted as two. We complained and eventually after a manager showed up we received a second glass albight reluctantly. We cannot speak to the food of this establishment but if you do go keep in mind the Happy hour is not what they promise.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, Co. USA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, and fun Belly Dancers. Plus there's Beer !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It was just around the corner from our Riad Samsli, and when Hind mentioned they served beer and wine we decided it was time...we enjoyed several Moroccan Salads, which came in sortable sized portions, so I wouldn't go there again, however their pizza was quite nice, and I'm originally from Chicago !
This isn't for the backpacker trying to enjoy Marrakech on nine Euros a day mind you, but if you're comfortable I feel like you can enjoy a nice meal here.
Check it out, but try not to stare at the belly dancers...
Ciao, Salida1048

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.