We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening and nice surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tanjia

Le Tanjia
14, Derb J'did - Hay Essalam (Mellah) | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5243-83836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #262 of 611 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: Moroccan, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Traditional Moroccan restaurant set over 3 floors with a courtyard. Wonderful vies straight on to the Koutoubia mosque offering romantic ambiance especially at sunset. Suitable for individuals, groups and families with children as the menu also provides stone oven baked pizza and pasta. Every evening belly dancers entertain the guests around 21.30 For a short show
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening and nice surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We ate here in July 2013 during the Ramadam period. The staff were willing to seat us in the restaurant but told us that they would not be able to serve us for about half an hour because of the staff and Ramadam. The restaurant is very nice and impressive lighting and surroundings. It was regrettable that where we were sat there was an intermittent smell of drains - no idea where it came from.
The staff were efficient though not overly friendly, and it quickly filled up so appeared popular (always a good sign). There was entertainment with a belly dancer and a dancer with a tray of lighted candles on her head. Customers were 'invited' to participate (ie be dragged up) and they were more than happy for photos to be taken. I was fully expecting a collection afterwards but it didn't happen and was all part of the service.
The meal was good and none of us had any complaints. The drinks - especially the water - were ridiculously expensive and this is obviously where they make money. Overall I thought the evening was expensive (for morroccan standards of course), but the bill when I got home was about £80 for four people having 1 course and 2 drinks as well as half a bottle of wine and two bottles of water, as well as the entertainment of course

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    187
    127
    86
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ternat, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a true feast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The best meal we had in Marrakech!
The owners are very friendly, a lovely atmosphere.
We highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, little expensive but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The guy at our hotel recommended this restaurant. Really great introduction to Marrakesh for or first night here. The atmosphere is great, the decor amazing. The food was good, we had shoulder of lamb for two and it was huge meal. Light entertainment with dancers was also a plus. Worth a visit unless you are travelling on a right budget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This was an incredible restaurant. Superb Morrocan cuisine, excellent service and great entertainment. Definitely one to visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I ate here with a few friends on a very hot afternoon and it was lovely. Amazing food, great service and a beautiful view overlooking a very busy road across from the Saadian tombs. I would recommend. One quirky thing that happened. The electricity went out and I had to go to the bathroom with a candle. It all worked out and made for a great story! I have lots more Moroccan stories on my blog. lildnyc.blogspot.com

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tanjia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Tanjia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tanjia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.